compact bed roll and tent for bike riding?
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:11
asmithy
hi all,
after some advice on self inflating mats (sim), sleeping bags (sb) and tents?
i am riding from
toowoomba to tassie via dirt roads on a motorbike with some mates soon. if i take my current sim & sb i will be really overloaded as they are quite bulky.
do any of you hikers have any recommendations on what compact sleeping kit i could take to strap to the back of my bike so at the end of a hard days riding i will still be relatively comfortable & warm at night?
i have been told a black wolf mantis 2 is a great tent and reasonably priced.
is there any such thing as a built in sim and sb?
im 6 foot tall and about 110kgs for info....
any advice or guidance would be appreciated.
cheers,
smithy.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:54
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 21:54
Gday Smithy
No advise on what you want , I travel by 4x4 and have plenty of room , but enjoy your trip .
Follow Up By: asmithy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:01
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:01
thanks muzbry!
like you i normally travel by 4x4 but his time is definitely a little different!
cheers :)
Reply By: wizzer73 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07
Hi smithy
I use one of these tents when i go on a bike tour. Is pretty light and packs small.
tent
I use one of those micro sleeping bags that squish down small. They are pricey but worth it.
I normally just take a cheapy air matress because they pack up nice and small.
wizzer
Follow Up By: asmithy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:14
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:14
wizzer73,
were there spose to be links or were you stating you used the black wolf?
thanks
Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 12:20
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 12:20
Just the link to the tent. Couldn't find any links to my sleeping bag but I got it from anaconda a few years back.
btw, have you looked at the advrider
forum? heaps of info on there.
wizzer
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:02
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:02
thanks wizzer!
Reply By: Steve W5 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:07
Have a look at the Exped sleeping mats. The down ones are very warm and pack down really nicely. The synthetic ones aren't quite as warm (probably not an issue unless you're planning to be in the high country) but pack down just as small (27cm by 16cm), weight ever so slightly less, and cost a very small amount less.
I also like Exped sleeping bags. Bivouac.co.nz have the Exped Comfort 600 on sale for about $250 at the moment - that is a good buy, and it has various length options so suit your height.
I have a Black Wolf Hornet. It's good, I can't really fault it though I wish the fly were a bit easier to pitch. It packs to a reasonably small size.
Have fun!
Follow Up By: asmithy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:16
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:16
thanks steve w5.
i will
check them out first thing in the morning!
i appreciate your help.
Follow Up By: Steve W5 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:30
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 22:30
No worries - happy to help :)
Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 00:01
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 00:01
Hi, I carry a self inflating mattress in my swag and a 1 man tent rolled in a tarp and strapped across the pillion
seat of my bike . I put my sleeping bag and pillow in the top box to keep dry . I have done several camping trips on my own , one of 16,500 kms around Ozz in 05 camping in the tent 26 nights , another in 06 to
Darwin , Uluru ,
Broken Hill of 10,000 kms , again on my own camping 20 nights . I also had throwover panniers , also carried 5 L of fuel for an emergency which was not used also water and muesli bars . Have a great camping trip .
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:05
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:05
sounds like you've been around blackbird!
i appreciate your response.
im sure i will enjoy the trip!
cheers.
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 08:36
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 08:36
When walking with a back-pack I use a half size thermarest, compact sleeping bag, and a light weight bivvy bag.
Have you looked at the Hennessy Hammocks, very light weight and might be suitable for what you are trying to achieve.
Cheers...
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:11
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:11
the landy,
wow, what a wonderful thing they are!
i spent several hours today reading about them...
i have never heard of them..... but like the thought of them.
thanks for the advice.
smithy.
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 13:50
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 13:50
Smithy
You are wasting your time with cheap SIM, they will partially deflate.
Some friends have Blackwolf ones which seem to be stay up, I can't fault Thermarest brand, expensive but they keep you off the ground all night, hence
well insulated from the cold ground.
A good SIM is more important than the sleeping bag for keeping you warm at night which most people don't realise.
Sleeping Bags, up to you, I see Roman and Black Wolf have some tiny sized ones now.
Buy a sleeping bag liner, Silk ones are incredibly compact (smaller than your fist) and the warmest, about $60 I think, and are a good way of keeping your bag clean. On warm nights you sleep just in your liner.
Tents, seen some good 1 man tents which weight about 1.4kg and comfortably fit you in, I think around $180-190. They have a single half elliptical dome shaped multilink pole assembly which the tent hangs off and the fly drapes over.
I do a bit of multi day remote backpacking, so insulation, weight and compactness are important to me. Weight may not be important to you and you can probably save there with a 2 man tent from K Mart/Big W which will suit you just as
well for
well under $100
If you are still worried about size, grab a Hikers Fly, they are much cheaper again and work
well provided it isn't bucketing down. Give you more room than a tent, but don't keep you as warm nor provide complete privacy.
I'm a bit taller and lighter than you.
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:13
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:13
lots of great info mark!
thanks for your help.
all the best,
smithy.
Reply By: Rob! - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 14:08
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 14:08
asmithy
The truth is the lighter and more compact your equipment is the more expensive it's going to be. Since you're not hiking, weight is not really an issue. For SIM you can't do better than a thermarest, you can get sizes from extra long to half size ($200). A good down sleeping bag ($200-$500), silk liner ($50-$100) and good small tent ($200 - $800)
Many of the hiking shops have specials on at the moment so you should
check them out.
http://www.snowgum.com.auhttp://www.paddypallin.com.au/
and kathmandu etc
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:16
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:16
thanks for the links rob!
plenty of things for me to look at and decide on!
cheers,
smithy.
Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 15:32
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 15:32
Hi Smithy , I did not mention my mattress was a thermarest , I have had it for about 15 years , a bag liner from kathmandu and a -8 bag as I notice the cold . I use a small camping pillow with m/b jacket underneath . My tent , swag and mattress when rolled up together are 750 mm long x 250 x 350 . As you probably know Tassie can be cold as
well as the great dividing range but so can
Toowoomba . I was in Tassie in feb 03 on the bike , in the patrol 05 , as
well as working in 67 for 10 weeks after the bushfires and was cold at night . There is plenty to see , like Fosters wood chopping museum at
Latrobe , murals at
Sheffield ,
Cradle Mountain ,
Stanley ,West Coast ,
Bothwell 1st golf course in southern hemisphere ,
Bruny Island , Pt Arthur , East Coast , Elephant Pass pancakes ,
Pub in the Paddock at
Pyengana .
Follow Up By: asmithy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:23
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 21:23
again blackbird you have come up with plenty of info!
thanks, it's appreciated.
smithy.
Reply By: Sigmund - Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 09:22
Sunday, Sep 11, 2011 at 09:22
Std Thermarest has an r value of about 2.5. Exped Synmat is 4.9. Comparing full length in both, the Synmat packs down much more compactly and it gives you about 75mm thickness of cushioning when it's inflated. It's a lay down misere. (I've used both over several years or more inc camping in the snow).