V8 Petrol Landcruiser fuel consumption towing a van

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 08:29
ThreadID: 88726 Views:19503 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi Everyone, Can anybody give me some idea of fuel consumption towing a 2 tonne van with a V8 petrol 100 series Please. Any info will be most helpful. Many thanks, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

Reply By: snoopyone - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:07

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:07
Was a thread on here about this a couple of weeks ago Perhaps a search will show it
AnswerID: 463682

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:13

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:13
Thanks Snoopy, I am doing some research on other sites as well while waiting for some replies here.

FollowupID: 737521

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:16

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 09:16
Type V8 landcruiser into the search box and you will get a 100 threads
FollowupID: 737523

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 12:31

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 12:31
G/Day Bruce. !9- 25L/100km....Depending on the weight of the riight foot!.

AnswerID: 463702

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 13:33

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 13:33
Many thanks Axle, my research is telling that's the ball park. I have heard and read a lot of comments around the 22 mark and I am wondering how many get close to that and if so towing what weight of van.

I am thinking of updating to a V8 petrol Cruiser but I do not want to have any regrets, that is the reason for the question

FollowupID: 737547

Follow Up By: Member - Peter S (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:00

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:00
Hi Bruce, I posted this a few weeks ago so hope it may answer some of your questions,

Hi all, I thought that I would give a report on using the scangauge in my vehicle for my last trip, there will be 2 reports this one for fuel and next one for auto temps, so details of vehicle and caravan first.
2003 Toyota Landcruiser 100 series V8 petrol 5 speed auto, 285.75.16 BFG AT tyres, has draws loaded and usual other stuff also 50 litres of water behind front seats.
Caravan, Regent Legend 19ft duel axle pop top ATM of 1960 kg I do not over load the van and believe / hope I am a little under this weight.
So to fuel, I will state that as far as possible I stick close to the posted speed limits up 100klm,
I checked with the scangauge at the end of each day and these figures are for towing only, the scangauge is calibrated using GPS, and the fuel amounts have been checked using the GPS and fuel used and found to be as accurate as I can get.

Average towing only, 22.00
Worst 25.00 this was with a very strong head wind and hilly.
Best 19.01

I have posted this just as info, hope it helps. Pete.
FollowupID: 737550

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:25

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:25
Thanks Pete,
I picked up this post when I did a search but it is good of you to reply.
All input is good input as far as I am concerned at this point. Trying to make up my mind which way to jump.
Probably it is more likely I am hoping someone will make up my mind for me. LOL

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 737551

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:57

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 14:57
G/Day Again Bruce.. I have a 04 V8 cruiser and used to tow a tandem Windsor Van weighing in around two ton,hence the figues i mentioned.

Have sold the van,so fuel is not such a issue at the moment. but at some time will definitly get another. and to be honest i wish i had purchased the diesel. prefabley a cruiser with the 1hdFte engine. The Hp figues of the V8 Petrol is much the same, But the torque figues are way higher with the diesel. making it a far superior motor for towing, Performance and economy. I guess it comes down to how much you have to spend..lol, but in any case i would still go the diesel no matter what.... The only thing i will say is that the later petrol V8s in the 200s have the variable valve timing which has improved fuel economy to some extent.

Happy hunting

FollowupID: 737555

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 15:14

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 15:14
I have a Petrol 200 Series Bruce, I can't give you towing figures, but H'Way figure is between 12-13ltrs/100. They are a lot more economical than the 100 Series. If you go to LCOOL there are lot's of people that will give you towing figures for all models.
FollowupID: 737557

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 15:14

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 15:14
We have an 02 V8 petrol and are currently on the Northern Island towing a van that weighs 2200ks dry, so with the Rum & Tonic/ Gin & tonic mixtures aboard and all the other stuff think it would come in at 26- 2700ks and we are currently getting 4.5 ks per litre which i think works out to about 22-24 litres per 100 ks.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 737558

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 17:49

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 17:49
Thank you, one and all. This has been the sort of info I have gotten from my research elsewhere. Still haven't made up my mind as I have a 1HD FT turbo diesel and it is line ball from the comments. What I need to do next is road test one I suppose.

Once again, many thanks.
Bruce.

AnswerID: 463725

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:52

Sunday, Aug 28, 2011 at 21:52
Gooday Bruce : If you have a turbo diesel now I wouldn't change to v8 petrol , we have a 03 v8 petrol auto nice vehicle but is heavy on fuel , I think the wind drag plays a big part of fuel consumption i.e roof rack and swags up top and it will use heaps of fuel . work on a min of 25 lt/100 ks and that way you will be happy when it gets 18/20t /100
But it is nice th hear the v8 sing when you put your foot in to it , just dont look at the fuel gauge, and you wont have any patrol sitting on your tail !!!
anyway good luck with it cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 737616

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 18:58

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 18:58
Hi Nick, I hear you with regard to fuel consumption and that is the main thing stopping me from making the change. I drove a Toyota Coaster motorhome today which had been converted from a diesel, probably a 1HZ, to a Lexus V8. That thing was a sweet as can be as far as a small bus goes and the fuel consumption is in the vicinity of 7K/Litre or 14.3 litres/100K. Now for a 3 tonne plus vehicle

So while the Landcruiser V8 might be a bit thirsty there is another way I might go.
I guess it just adds to the confusion for me. That’s life.
I also hear you with regard to the V8 sound.
Thanks for your input Nick.
Regards, Bruce.

FollowupID: 737680

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:23

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:23
Hi Bruce : Some claim to get 14/100 in the v8 LC but this will be unloaded and driven nicely , couldn't see the bus doing much better !!!!!
cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 737692

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:53

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 21:53
I agree with you Nick with regard to peoples claims of exceptional economy.

However if it was anybody other than this particular fellow making those claims I would have been sceptical but this particular fellow has an extremely good reputation in our area and has been in the motor racing circles for many long years.

He teaches qualified mechanics at tech in high performance electronics as they pertain to modern engines so he is no slouch. I am therefore prepared to place more weight to his claims/advice than I would many others.
In male parlance he is a "straight shooter". Needless to say I am not convinced enough yet to jump.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 737696

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 05:46

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 05:46
Bruce
Work off 4km/ lt

In other words heavy fuel consumption
AnswerID: 463765

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:06

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:06
Hi Bucky,
I used to get that out of my 1FZ FE so it doesn't frighten me as I am a lover of LPG mate. All of the 4 LPG vehicles I have had over the years have been very reliable and very economical to run. I would probably go that way.

These Lexus motors I was telling Nick about have hardened seats and valve guides from new so they are better suited to gas than the Cruiser V8. So I am told by this mechanic who has done heaps of conversions. Just another thing in the mix to consider.

Regards, Bruce.

FollowupID: 737682

Reply By: Danger Mouse - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:20

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:20
Bruce,

I did 16,500km last year in my 04 Petrol Sahara (5sp auto - towing in 4th) with a 2880kg 23ft van around eastern australia. I averaged 26.26l/100km for the whole trip (including the non-towing bits) at about 95km/h. The best I got when towing was 23.3l/100 and the worst was 36l/100km (across the Coorong into a 70km/h headwind - Ouch!)

I hope that's helpful.

DM
AnswerID: 463827

Reply By: Danger Mouse - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:21

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:21
Bruce,

I did 16,500km last year in my 04 Petrol Sahara (5sp auto - towing in 4th) with a 2880kg 23ft van around eastern australia. I averaged 26.26l/100km for the whole trip (including the non-towing bits) at about 95km/h. The best I got when towing was 23.3l/100 and the worst was 36l/100km (across the Coorong into a 70km/h headwind - Ouch!)

I hope that's helpful.

DM
AnswerID: 463828

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 18:53

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 18:53
Hi Danger Mouse,
There is a bad echo in here isn't there.LOL

Thanks for the input, very helpful. That Coorong run can be a bit of a drag in the wrong conditions, can't it.

I'll bet that 36 litres per hundred put a serious rash in the hip pocket.

That gives me a very good insight into the V8 cruiser fuel consumption.

Once again, many thanks, Bruce.

FollowupID: 737770