Quadbikes in the desert - Some rough and ready travel captured on a GoPro video
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:40
Mick O
There were a couple of posts regarding the GoPro video cameras over the last week or so. They prompted my memory that crazed Canadian Scotty D had one of the little cameras strapped to the front of his Quad during our crossing of the
Great Sandy Desert last year. I've loaded a couple of videos up and thought I'd post them to give you an indication of just what the Quad travel is like, and also the conditions. The dunes can be pretty precipitous and there were a few times during this particular day that I was glad we had left the vehicles behind.
Might give you a taste of what the countryside west of the Canning is like. (We also had a bit of fun as
well on occasions).
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 20:09
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 20:09
Great vision Mick. Thanks heaps. The GoPro website said they had spent more on their sound capturing system than on the camera itself. Great sound on your videos, even for my deaf ears. Cheers,Bob.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:19
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:19
Yeah Bob, they seem to be a solid little unit that produce good results. The stability platform in them is pretty good as
well.
Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 23:20
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 23:20
Just had a look at the US GoPro website. The cameras are cheap for what you get... especially as US and AUD are at parity or better...
Amazing video capture with those cameras.... mind you, editing has a bit to do with it as
well... (:
Anyone want to buy me a birthday or X'mas present? lol... (:
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:18
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:18
Camera or the quad Fred? ha ha. You'll have to be an extra good boy and make sure the list of odd jobs on the fridge is not too long!
Reply By: equinox - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 00:11
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 00:11
Oh, stop it Mick :))
Good vids...I like the quads more than the camera!!!!!
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:17
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:17
I've got to get you back somehow Al. You know who to call...0011 1 599..........mate rates I'm sure. ;-)
Mick
Reply By: Member - Neville D (VIC) - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 19:00
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 19:00
Hello Mick,
Very clear video mate, very stable and clear, looks like you had a lot of fun. The last trip my misses an I had at the flinders, which we took some footage of with our new video camera, looked like we had a dose of the dt's.
Now, the quad bikes, wouldn't mind having a crack at it myself. How do you go about getting rego and insurance for the quads?
Cheers Neville