Sacred site, my big toe !

Submitted: Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 21:40
ThreadID: 88306 Views:3867 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Have we missed something, or am I living up to my Irish heritage ?

Why is is that a site like Combo, the area and legend of Waltzing Matilda, is not done properly ?
In saying that all National Parks are not
I was told by some politically correct kid, that they are not allowed to iterfere with nature.
The moneys poured into the Parks is astronomical, yet have poor toilets, rediculous bar-b-q facilities. Chuck in no shade factor. And all of a sudden it's second rate.

It really is time to takenstock of tbings
Gett our Natiinal Parks
Up and running with real facilitied

Reply By: Member - nick b - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 22:06

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 22:06
As I under stand that some would be happy just accessing the parks and not being locked out of them !!!!!!!
cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 461932

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 07:33

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 07:33
To add to that
Wilson's Prom, a magnificent place, spoilt in my oppinion, by the fact that all the areas where we got magnificent views from, and could park up and enjoy, on the way into Tidal River, were allowed to turn back into a "bloody great mulger."
That cannot be for the good of all.
The planes have been allowed to fully revegitate, but to what ?
an area that now has to be driven thru, and not enjoyed !
And then the whole place goes up in smoke, because of poor access and no firebrakes, or general cleared "people areas"
This is not just the Prom, but heaps of places

Sometimes Imwonder if everything we do is for the good ?
Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 461944

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:25

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:25
Gday Bucky,
Im sure some rangers think the land is there own little piece of paridise too......and if we are really good they will let us in and have a look. At a little bit of it that is. The rest is there private section.
AnswerID: 461955

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 13:51

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 13:51
On the flip side, national parks are preservation sites. Sure restricted access and blocked views are a pain but often that's what it takes to preserve the sites. We went to Hopetoun WA earlier this year and the Nat park there was completely closed. Most of the tracks have been sealed to contain the dieback that has found its way into the park. Access will be by sealed roads only I think. It was bloody irritating but it is really important that the dieback doesn't spread or the park will become a shadow of what it is now. Even if I can't see it I still want it to be there.
FollowupID: 735695

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:46

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:46
G day Hairy
That is called the little Hilter effect.

Like culling deer by poisoning them, from the Prom, and burrying them in pits
But will not let the registered shooters in for humane kills
Cheers Bucky
FollowupID: 735706

Follow Up By: ross - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 10:26

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 10:26
How the hell can you have shooting in a national park and guarantee the safety of the public?
FollowupID: 735742

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 10:51

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 10:51
"How the hell can you have shooting in a national park and guarantee the safety of the public?"

Designated shooting areas.
Designated shooting days.
Responsible shooters.

Quite simple really

How do you think the rangers shoot safely? Close the park for a week and go shooting.........easy hey?

Its not rocket science......just a bit of common sense, a little bit of organizing...... not to mention, no baits left laying around and animals suffering.
FollowupID: 735743

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 11:05

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 11:05
Gday Bill/Bucky,

Im sure they do need some areas closed off for one reason or another but I reckon some times they close off areas just to save some work too.
One Park that comes to mind is Owen Springs......They have been running cattle there for over 100years.....there is over 1700sqkm of land now designated as a National Park....there are well worn tracks linking the bores all over the joint which would make a great tourist drive, but can you drive on them now its in the hands of National Parks? No.....one road straight through the middle????
The funny thing its a loop road and your allowed pets in one end of it?????.........if you want to drive through you need to tell your dog to go around and meet you at the other end....LOL
FollowupID: 735744

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 17:51

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 17:51
Hairy
The Alpine National Park , above Licola is one that us shooters are allowes in between Nov and June each year, for the purpose of hunting Bambi.
I am one of those hunters , and love it.
In the State Parks , basically across the road, " doggers" hunt Bambi

It can work if managed properly, as we are not allowed to hunt during school holidays, and that is fair enuf.

If I have not got it 100 % correct then don't pick on me , just add comment

I love my shooting and stalking
And my 4x4 travells

Sent from my Iphone in Karumba, anda beautiful 25+ degrees

Life is real hard

Love yous all
Bucky & Lyn
FollowupID: 735773

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:15

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:15
And add the amount of feral pigs we see in park up here in QLD. I see more pigs in Nat Park than anywhere else! The pigs ruin the ground and allow weeds to take over
And add that some rangers are just lazy. Having prime parks closed for the Wet but way past the June/July school holidays is a disgrace. That is smack bang dry season and the only long school break that can work, but no. (and not because the roads are closed, in fact up CY way the Nat Park rorads are better than the PDR, but for another reason they remain closed). Cr@1p
AnswerID: 461968

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:43

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:43
Don't forget to add a myriad of noxious weeds, that if were on private property the individual owners would be heavily fined.
FollowupID: 735704

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 19:18

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 19:18
Not only heavily fined, but ordered to clean the weeds out as well.
FollowupID: 735717

Follow Up By: Mapesy (QLD) - Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:28

Monday, Aug 08, 2011 at 17:28
AGREED!!! Too many chest thumping Rangers and no "real" work done. I have a good knowledge of their modus operandi.
FollowupID: 735841

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:35

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:35
Hi Bucky,

Your right the services and facilities can be ordinary.

I dont believe some national parks should be national parks, Maybe they should be renamed State parks so that people can use them for recreational activities (4wdriving, shooting/hunting, camping and the collection of firewood).

It seems to me that some people would like us to participate in these activities

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 461977

Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:37

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:37
Sorry would not like us
FollowupID: 735710

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 18:18

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 18:18
In my opinion they are the most exclusive 4W.D. Club in Aust, paid for by the Tax payers.
You could also add Fishing Club as well.
Duke
AnswerID: 461982

Reply By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 13:09

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 13:09
have you ever asked national parks what they they are doing about the feral cat problem ;they kill more small animals than anything else;last time i asked np people they quickly went into dodge mode bye barry
AnswerID: 462037

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 19:46

Sunday, Aug 07, 2011 at 19:46
Not just feral cats,
But feral dogs, feral goats, and brumby's

But the worst of the lot are the feral 4x4 owners, who just bugger up everything

That is real cleaver
Cheers Bucky
FollowupID: 735776