Sat Phone Hire

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 16:52
ThreadID: 8798 Views:2089 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Aaaaaagghhhh! I've just been quoted $950 for 3 months sat phone hire!! There has to be a cheaper way of staying safe!

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:05

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:05
You can buy a satphone outright for that sort of money. Try hiring an HF radio.
Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 38694

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:42

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 17:42
I paid $450 for a months use. I think you're on a winner!!!!!

Equinox
AnswerID: 38697

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:43
Do a Business search above with sat phone key word search & check out the site advertisers & tell them you found them at exploreoz you will prob get a discount. Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 38702

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:53

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 18:53
Rob,

Yep, we got a bit of a fright at the quote we rec'd recently too. Have a look in the trader section on this site. There is an Ericson sat phone for sale for $500.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
AnswerID: 38707

Follow Up By: Rob H - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:25

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:25
Thanks for spotting that Melissa. Given you know the Kimberley, is it necessary to get something like a sat phone?

I was going to drop you a note anyway today, after I spent a good hour or so indulging in your website. Nicely done, and great to read. You obviously have some great fun.

I was reading today that alot of WA is quite restrictive for bush camping, especially on beaches - no camp fires, and no digging holes for dunnies. Again, given you know the place well, how true is this, or is it only limited to certain areas?

Hopefully bump into you next year...
FollowupID: 28682

Follow Up By: Rob H - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:28

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:28
PS. Surprised it took a die hard like you 4 1/2 months to introduce Matty to camping. We had Theo, our little one, in Koolpin Gorge at 6 weeks!! I think he enjoyed it (LOL) :-)
FollowupID: 28683

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 11:48

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 11:48
Hi Rob,

No I don't think it's necessary to have a sat phone in the Kimberley unless you are really planning on getting to some very out of way places and/or travelling outside mid-year holiday period. We aren't planning on taking one with us next year.

As for bush camping in WA I don't think it's restrictive at all, certainly no more so than anywhere else. There are plenty of bush/beach camps close to Perth and around the SW region, and heaps as your head north or east where the population is more sparce and far between. Trick is to find them. If you're heading over this way sometime feel free to email me your planned route and I will help you out with any good bush campsites I know of along the way.

Must admit Matty was older than we'd expected him to be on his first camping trip. When I became pregnant all our freinds laughed and said "that'll be the end of your camping/touring for awhile" which of course was like a red rag to a bull. We were determined to prove them wrong ASAP. Trouble was Matty was born with a medical condition affecting his bowel/tummy and had emergency surgery within hours, then a stint in the neonatal intensive care unit at PMH (the childrens hospital in Perth). Finally, he was allowed back to our local hospital, then home, then he had to go back to hospital, then home to scream for another 6 weeks whilst more test were done etc etc. Once they got to the bottom of the problem it was an easy fix but by then he was about 8 weeks old and Greg & I were so rattled it took us until he was 4.5 mths old before we were game to even think about camping and venturing too far from home. Reckon that kid can't throw a curve ball eh! But he's fine now and absolutely loves camping :-)))

We're planning to leave for the Kimberley next year when the next one is only 2.5 mths old, working on the assumption that we've had our "problem" child and the next one will be plain sailing, LOL. Hope I haven't just jinxed myself!

FollowupID: 82647

Follow Up By: Rob H - Saturday, Nov 29, 2003 at 00:32

Saturday, Nov 29, 2003 at 00:32
Hi Melissa

Given Matty was ill, hope my comments weren't too insensitive. I seem to have new questions every day about the trip we're planning.

You say sat phone not necessary etc. We're up the west coast during March, then from Broome to Darwin in April. Most remote we're planning is Mitchell Plateau. Does that qualify as out of the way at wrong time of year?

Any views on whether fitting a snorkel would make sense? And camping site suggestions would be terrific. My home e-mail is robin@thehiltons.co.uk if you'd prefer to take discussion off line

FollowupID: 82706

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:40

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:40
geez.. It almost mames me to see people out there paying these hire prices for sat phones and when i offer my mates my sat phone when they go away and i just ask for them to pay for calls and the monthly rental which is $50 they tell me to stick it up my bum and i should give it to them for free........They think i am making money out of them..._____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 07:09

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 07:09
Why don't you move to Brissy ...... I'd be your mate for sure ;-}Rosco
FollowupID: 82629

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 11:51

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 11:51
Yeah, or Perth. I'll be your freind too!

FollowupID: 82648

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 12:44

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 12:44
Nyah nyah .... He's mine cos I saw him first....Rosco
FollowupID: 82658

Follow Up By: Rob H - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 15:23

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 15:23
Ahem...or Darwin - very friendly people.

And Ross - I believe I was first cos he was replying to my post... ;-)
FollowupID: 82673

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2003 at 18:15

Sunday, Nov 30, 2003 at 18:15
Yep.. It's great to have lotsa mates hehehehe..........._____________________________________________
Cant think of anything to put here just yet !

Reply By: Lyds - Sunday, Nov 30, 2003 at 17:30

Sunday, Nov 30, 2003 at 17:30
The other thing to think about is that if you buy a phone you still need to pay the monthly access fee for 18 months.

I'm not sure what the deal is if you bring your own phone.

As for whether you need one up in the Kimberley, I reckon you do. Even if it is not you that is in need or trouble, they are very handy for people to contact you. Sometimes time is of the essence and pking up a message from the next town may not be all that practical.

Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
AnswerID: 38966