Taking weight off caravan tyres

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:16
ThreadID: 87542 Views:2486 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Just canvassing best options for taking weight off our caravan tyres, when on long rest periods. Need to be able to still enter and move about in van safely.

By rest periods i do mean between trips.

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:28
G'day young kevmac :-))

I have a pair of height adjustable car stands, pretty cheap from repco etc.
Jack each side up till wheel just off the ground and sit on the stands via the chasis rails just behind the axle. I put 2" timber blocks under the stands.

Nice and stable, and also gives you the opportunity to work on the wheels/bearings/brakes at your leisure without having to jack up each time.

Ya gotta avoid them long rest periods for the van mate....keep them wheels turning LOL

Cheers mate.

Fred.
AnswerID: 459825

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:32

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:32
would rather the long rest periods be away from home......work rosters still make that difficult unfortunately
FollowupID: 733446

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:46

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 13:46
I reckon I could handle a long rest in Albany :-)

Got a few old Navy mates down that way.....one day.
FollowupID: 733447

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:18

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:18
A cheap and cheerful method is to get yourself some solid blocks of wood cut to a length that will support the van with the wheels just off the ground.
Remember if the van is in the open cover the tyres to stop UV rays and sunlight damage on them.
What I do is everytime that there is a spare couple of day we go fishing and the van gets a short but enjoyable run.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 459836

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:40

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:40
good idea dodger................. we actually heading out for a 3 day weekend from work to cosy corner(free spot) just 35kms out of town, but far enuf
FollowupID: 733455

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:44

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2011 at 14:44
............unfortunately Cosy is starting to get a tad too crowded these days...............guess everyone wants free
FollowupID: 733456

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2011 at 07:41

Thursday, Jul 14, 2011 at 07:41
G'day,

Sorry to butt in. I am wondering if there is a need to do this? I am aware that there is a bit of a flat spot when parked for any length but this seems to work itself out fairly quickly. Is there something more serious at play?

Not travelling enough myself either.

AnswerID: 459894