Toyota Landcruiser 60 series

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 10:51
ThreadID: 87186 Views:16364 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Hello everyone,

I'm still hunting around for a reliable tow vehicle for our 16.6 ft (1500kg) van. We are looking at the older toyota landcrusers because they seem to have a good rep of being reliable, tough and plenty of parts available?

We are wanting the freedom of a 4x4 vs a road car so we can leave the van and tent it up around northern australia.

We are off to test drive a Toyota Landcruiser 60 series (1989 Toyota Landcruiser FJ62RG GXL) I haven't found much information about this model, does anyone have one? Or know much about them?

Its a 6 Cylinder manual with 270355 km on the clock. Asking around $7,990.

Thanks for any input :)

Reply By: OREJAP - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 11:40

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 11:40
Hi Blueteddy, I had a 1989 FJ 62 series GXL from new in 1989. The good points. Reliable, well made,you could buy parts for them. THE BAD...Heavy on fuel & the 3F motor is gutless especially when towing. Take the local newspaper with you when you go on a trip and cover up your h/lighs so that the cruiser doesn't see the hills coming!!! I put my 5 speed on gas because of the price of fuel....I got V8 economy but performance of a 4 cyl 2 stroke!!! I towed about the same weight you are thinking of and got 3 to 3.5 km per litre on LPG and about 5Km P/L on unleaded. I think I replaced tanks in the radiator (top & bottom never at the same time) about 8 times in the nine years I had it & had the head done twice due to the gas. The 3F is gutless enough w/out putting it on gas. My mate had a 1989 Patrol ST & it was a great vehicle to drive & left the Tojo for dead.....he never replaced the head or had any problems on gas. Both vehicles are good for resale value.
AnswerID: 458399

Reply By: blueteddy - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 11:59

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 11:59
thanks for your advice, might give that one a miss and keep looking :) Will see if we can find a patrol local to test drive.
AnswerID: 458401

Follow Up By: Mark&Sue - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 12:27

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 12:27
I had a 1989 60 series diesel ,after putting an aftermarket turbo on it became a lot more driver friendly and pretty economical, rust in roof is one of there big problems, also transfer case oil leaks.
FollowupID: 731869

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 16:50

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 16:50
Depends how fast you want to go, my uncle towed a very large tri axle van all over Australia with a 2f(11kw less then a 3f). But he was happy to sit on 80. Extractors allso help those motors as well. But they are very long lasting. I would go and check it out and test drive it, it could be a heap, or it could a be gem, but check carefully for rust and get a compression test done. But the GQ 4.2s had 125kw and 325nm of torque if memory serves me correct, so are going to go better, the EFI ones will be better on fuel and power. 129kw.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 458419

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 17:43

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 17:43
G'day blueteddy, the 60 series is the draught horse for towing, if youre happy to sit on 80 - 90 klm's theyr'e not too bad, you are pushing a brick through the air, not good aerodynamic's - if you want to do 100 - 110 klm's it will guzzle the fuel. I put a Holly 350 on mine & it makes it a lot better. Also no computers to give trouble. I bought mine with a blown up motor by choice & then I rebuilt it, new rings, bearings, I reco'd the head, didn't cost much at all, so I started of with virtually a new engine, havn't touched it for years now only regular oil 'n grease. Very basic - just how I like it, peace of mind. I carry a set of points, 6 plugs & a condenser just in case. Imagine what spares would you have to take in a new one! The factory 60 series turbo diesel with the 4 headlights was supposed to be the best cruiser made. Hope that helps, regards
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 458424

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 08:35

Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 08:35
I will second 'Dingo's recommendation of the factory turbo diesel. That is the 12h-t motor - same size and fit as the old 6 cylinder 2H diesel but built a whole lot better. The 12H-T had larger crank, extra oil ports around the cylinders and a different shaped top of piston.

I fitted one of these motors into my old 1986 ute. So tough - no computer stuff and even no glow plugs. Wow no glow plugs. It just started every time without a glow. There was a air intake glow but that would only activate if ambient temperature went below 0deg. Everything on this motor was over sized to be tougher - the fuel pump was about twice the size of the non-turbo motor.

The station wagon 62 series GX model was the only model to come out with the turbo as standard.

After market turbo fitted to standard 2H diesels are OK but have a tendancy to over heat if you push the motor past about 90km. They just don't have the internal extra oil ports or the tough motor build. Also the gear box matched up to the standard is different one to the turbo - again the turbo gearbox is oversized to handle the extra power.

If you want an older tow vehicle the GX turbo station wagon would be the best.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 731960

Follow Up By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 20:42

Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 20:42
Blueteddy ,
Third Dingo's and Serendpity's report .I purchased a 1986 factory turbo HJ61[12Ht motor and single headlight model ] in 1989 with 90,000 kms on speedo , sold it in 2001 with 600,000kms on speedo to my brother who still owns it today ,had rebuilt every part on it to factory specs in my time ,I used it for work and play and gave it a hard life but serviced it propely .Did 4 Simpson desert crossings and associated Cental Aust ,West Qld and SA areas, Canning Stock route and Kimberley, Anne Beadell highway,plus it spent at least 40% of its work life on dirt/gravel/mud roads in my work as a earthmoving contractor in the Western Riverina .Regarding towing - Legendary,on one Xmas break we were heading for home and the prime mover under the lowloader broke down , on board was a 20 tonne excavator ,hooked up a tow chain ,put cruiser into low range and away we went , took it about 12 kms to a safe area where it could be left over the break . Had a good steel bullbar [self made with air reservoir inbuilt ] , Blue Tongue compessor , Safari snorkel , Ultimate suspension and a few other bits and pieces to make life easier , even the rear diff housing came standard with extra gussetting underneath. as well as extra turbo model differences already listed . Since then I have had an 80 series factory turbo [multivalve model ],very good , and now have a 100 sereis factory turbo , IFS with 5 speed auto ,very good .All in all 60 series factory turbo --What a Beast .Happy Hunting
Mick
Poppa Bear

FollowupID: 732030

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 09:17

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 09:17
Hello bt, this cruiser was just listed on ebay, sounds ok, would not be factory turbo, but may have been upgraded, worth a call, (not sure what area you are in) hoo roo
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180688439152&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:AU:1123

AnswerID: 458741

Follow Up By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 21:17
Blueteddy
The cruiser has genuine badge on front grill in correct location , nothing on rear upper tailgate on right side , probaly been painted by the look of it , unless it had never been out of the shed . The ID plate under bonnet on the firewall will tell you it it a HJ61 or not and even if it needed some mechanical work would appear to be a reasonable buy , as long as all the previous noted genuine turbo items were still on it
Mick
Poppa Bear

FollowupID: 732337

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 21:25
G'day again bt, this guy has added that it has the good engine, at 300,000k's is nearly half it's life at 20,000 k's per year average still has 5 to 10 years left! check for service records-logbooks, but they are still ok anyway, hoo roo

AnswerID: 458816