Is the grass really greener on the other side of the fence ??????

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 23, 2011 at 23:44
ThreadID: 87157 Views:3785 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Well i have been working and travelling for the last 10 years up "north", i was born and raised in the lower "Great Southern" part of WA (Gnowangerup) and made my way up north starting at Tom Price, met the now wifey, 3 kids later and lived in mostly "tropicial" areas...................
And guess what, i am planning my annual leave and all we want to do is go down to Bremer Bay and spend time with the kids on the glowing white sands and catch a big salmon or some skippy and whiteing, and yes i would rather catch a nice big salmon than a barra !!!!!
I guess that is why we travel around this wonderful place, looking for that grass that we are told is "greener" .......
I kinda hope i never find it as it is a lot of fun looking for it.
Just sharing my thoughts guys,
Cheers and keep safe in your travels.
J&M&Family

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2011 at 23:52

Thursday, Jun 23, 2011 at 23:52
I live in the Great Southern buddy and I can tell you it's a little cold and wet at the moment. Nice white sand at Bremer but...it's a little damp and windy and cold! Surely you remember the cold having lived in Gnowangerup?

I'd give my lefty to be in North Qld at the moment...

Wait until January - Feb then visit Bremer!
AnswerID: 458289

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 00:23

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 00:23
so true, i remember going out to the chooks to fill the water and the hose broke, it was frozen solid, i remember working with a 30 foot scarry on a night shift and at around 3 am the frost set in and it was sandy soil and it started to turn up into little lumps of frozen blocks, you could see it for 12 months later ......
I found that the best times in Bremer was about 3 weeks in June, warm n sunny, no swell, heaps of fish and nice nights, sitting on flat rocks or at little boat, or even way out to steepy........ and fishing was a tad warmer with a liddle bit of port at ones side..
FollowupID: 731756

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:15

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:15
I know what you mean Joe - for us its Victoria - 15000km around the big block last year and couldn't find a single serious track that rises 3 or 4 thousand feet with lush river forrest at the bottom and snow at the top.

Couldn't wait to get home again.

AnswerID: 458308

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:29

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:29
Robin
If you like snow capped mountains, lush river forests and at tracks that rise at least 4000 feet then perhaps you should move to the South Island of New Zealand!
FollowupID: 731768

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:42

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 08:42
Hi Mark

Sounds nice but do they have any tracks up them like Bill Goat Bluff ,Blue rag or Mt Pinnabar and if they did could you then drive a few hours in the other direction and spend all day playing in the sand in places like the Big Dessert ?

FollowupID: 731770

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 15:32

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 15:32
Robin, did you see Vic Widman's article on tag along tours in New Zealand in Overland4x4 about three months ago? It answers your question.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 731810

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:35

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:35
Interesting Robin,
We lived and worked in Leeton for a short time and part of it was we simply wanted to see the snow, we had never seen it, the place where i worked the supervisor was about 30 and had not been to the snow since he was a small kid and it was only a few hours drive away, he was asking how it was and what it was like, man he was excited to go to it and it was in his "back yard" all his life .......
Yep we all have what we want on our door steps yet want to drive right past it......
Strange peoples aint we hahah
Joe
FollowupID: 731842

Reply By: entropy - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 09:15

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 09:15
Great post Joe - thanks for reminding us southerners that there's plenty to see and do down here too. But how's about sending some of that warmth down here buddy - it's cold !!
AnswerID: 458313

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:36

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:36
cold !!!!! it freezing up here, it was down to 11 last night.... man that is COLD ...
Hahaha
Sorry
FollowupID: 731843

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 09:57

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 09:57
Bremer Bay - what a place ! .....though, we were there in September/October for a few days in 2009 - bit cold now I'll bet - the estuary was chokka with bream then - and not too hard to catch either (just across the road form the caravan park) - I just tossed my bait trap in for 15 minutes with some fritz - white bait etc was ideal - didn't take long to get a couple of fish - wonderful.
AnswerID: 458317

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:38

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:38
if you go at this time of the year you can get spells of about 3 weeks that are simply awsome weather, no winds and warm sunny days... yes in June...
FollowupID: 731844

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 10:09

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 10:09
G'day Joe, Mel n Kids, we have been doing a similar thing, for the last 10 years or more.
And for us, most of that has also been in the North. We have slipped a bit further south than we normally would at the moment .. lol
And likewise, I don't think we'll ever stop searching to find out if the grass really is greener.. ;-) The fun is in the looking..
AnswerID: 458319

Follow Up By: Member - John L (WA) - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 11:13

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 11:13
Us oldies always wondered if we would find a place as good as home (Cowaramup down south), came over the mountain into Cooktown, looked at each other & said this would be it IF we ever HAD to leave home. Haven't HAD to leave but still off camping - Cape Leveque last week & Derby this week. Cheers Heather & John
FollowupID: 731789

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 15:30

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 15:30
John L, as a Western Australian you will like this. My choice would be Kalbarri. I've never seen another sight quite as good as when you come over the hill just before the town when coming from the south with the sun shining.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 731808

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:54

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 21:54
Hi "Tjukayirla" ..... we drifted south a few times, did Lake Cargelligo and Leeton for a winter, actually loved it, cool to see frost and snow, we came from Nyirripi up to Doomadgee, yep it gets cold there eh and yes the fun is looking for it and hope we never find it i guess...
Cheers guys

Hey "John L", love Cowaramup, it is a nice spot....
we went as far as Cow Bay last year and ran out of time, we wanted to get to cooktown, there is one thing a lot of people dont get to see is the wet season, the "bad" side of it, the whole north up there is awsome in the dry ..
We stayed at the Cow Bay hotel and got talking to the owner, he had fallen in love with the place and took over the pub, he could not stop talking about how hot it gets when raining and how it just rains and rains and rains, he did as most, thought it was great to see and feel the rain until a month passed and it was still raining and he was absolutly over it, he complained how everything was wet, could not go outside or sit outside, could not even dry anything, paint on cars get coated in mould ..... it was wetwetwetwet and then great a cyclone coming ...
We felt sorry but had to have a chuckle when we left to see his dream crumbling around him, he was over it big time eh, poor guy.
Cheers guys
FollowupID: 731845

Follow Up By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 16:08

Saturday, Jun 25, 2011 at 16:08
hi all, you do get used to the continuous rain week after week in the wet. I have seen it tain for 6 - 7 weeks non stop. I have been in Cairns now for 50 years and I worked out years ago you take holiday from Dec to May.

Damien
Love the bush

FollowupID: 731894

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 18:26

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 18:26
Thanks Joe Mel & the kids for raising an interesting topic & it is great to read the responses so far.
My wife & I have not travelled very much of this great land as of yet but we hope to rectify that a little bit of the next 5 or 6 years.

The response from Heather & John regarding Cooktown warmed my old heart a lot! Reason being that about two years ago my wife & I got "up" that far & there is something about Cooktown that made us both feel very comfortable with everything about the town. We loved it & would find it easy to live there if it were not so far away from family.

I guess there are lot of greener grass places on the other side of the fence & we each in our own way find our spot one way or the other. Cheers
AnswerID: 458355

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 18:44

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 18:44
Don't believe the reports of cold and wet Joe and Mel, and i don't know about the grass being greener either! I don't know about the south coast, but the south west has not been cold or wet. Just today glorious rain has come :). Prior to that showers have been mainly light and few and far between. Most unusual for Bridgetown, we have had only one frost and that was very light and a few weeks ago. What i remember most about Bremer is that wind straight from Antarctica which seems to howl in every afternoon.

With wet feet and loving it

AnswerID: 458357

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 22:01

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 22:01
thats why they built the pub at bremer ...... yes i remember the cold wind, i also remember camping with a tent in the park and i took an electric blanket, had the best sleep i think i have ever had hahaha
Hey i do hope you get some good rains this year for the farmers eh
Cheers guys
FollowupID: 731846

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 22:24

Friday, Jun 24, 2011 at 22:24
Thanks Joe n Mel, it is still raining here, so maybe this time the rain will penetrate a bit further into the wheat belt. Son rang a while ago, absolutely elated. He is only 50 kms away by road, a lot closer direct, but has had even less than us until today. He has water running into his dams - all were dry, including the ground water soak that has supplied the house and garden since Dad dug a well there when i was in primary school. He had already seeded crops including three leased properties and needed rain badly. Just after my last post, daughter came in and said the tank was overflowing - first time since while we were away in 2009. May winter continue.

Mh

FollowupID: 731849