recovering from cape tork trip
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 20:39
Member - warren G (VIC)
due to last years plan going astray when my mate [who lives in qld]was riding his road bike and ran into a car .1 broken rest and stuffed ankle,new plan this year cleared work scedual for 6 weeks sent apprentice with another builder and set of 2 weeks ago .spent set night at Gilgandra,next morning had a huge back pain that got so bad had to get ambo to hospital.result kidney stones spent night at hospital and decided to come
home to
check it out .got results today and all clear .now is that bad timing as never had them before and all clear now or good timing as i would not want to go through that days later at middle of the cape .so the highlight of the trip was watching the castle on win TV at the motel on the way
home .a bit dissapionted but worse things can happen .cheers warren
Reply By: Whirlwinder - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 21:02
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 21:02
Warren,
Glad to hear you are recovering
well at
home. Better than coping the stones on
Cape York.
It is a bugger when a perfectly good bush trio is cancelled because of illness. I should be on my way to
Kakadu but cancelled out due to serious illness requiring surgery.
The Cape will still be there next year as will
Kakadu.
Good luck,
Follow Up By: Member - warren G (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:01
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:01
hope all goes
well, i hurt my back working a couple af days earlier had the misses working on it,she is a bowens therapist .held the trip back a few days but i was that keen left while still sore but didn't expect what was going to happen ,what i did know was that it wasn't my normal back pain. planing will still go on and i am fortunate enough to be able to make other plans .some people unfortunately dont or cant and then when that happens it is more of a tragedy than what happened to me cheers warren
Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 21:59
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 21:59
Sorry to hear about your trip be ruined mate. I have had one bout of stones while out fishing, and I had to get myself back to the car two ks away. Not good the pain is so intense you are sure you are dieing. Make sure you drinks heaps, but the docs would have told you that.
Keep
well Pete
Follow Up By: Member - warren G (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:07
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:07
that was a good effort,i only managed to roll on the floor then roll on the bed then floor again then bed floor bed until ambo arrived.the best thing was the night nurse told me was to drink heaps of water ,it did help after a while .cheers warren
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:23
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2011 at 22:23
Warren I think it one of the hardest things I have ever done. My mates where with me, but had gone on ahead of me,as I was having bad back pain(been out del slate tiles that arvo so put it down to that). So told them I would stay and fish in the first bay, the pain got worse and worse. I would take ten steps dry reach, then take another ten steps. I do not remember how I got over the fence, but slumped down next to the car and passed out. Next thing I knew my Mate was shaking me and it was pitch black. He had been searching everywhere for me.
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 23, 2011 at 06:39
Thursday, Jun 23, 2011 at 06:39
Hi Guys. Cannot believe the pain that can emanate from kidney stones. I'm told by women that have had both that it is the nearest thing a male can experience to giving birth to a baby. I had the same symptoms as you Pete. Got
mine at about 1.00am on a Sun morning. My wife drove me to the small Milton hospital on the NSW South Coast and they wouldn't open the emrgency door for a while cause they thought I was just a drunk. Ended up being transported to
Wollongong and had the bloody things "blasted" out. I now make sure I drink at least a litre of water each day. Cheers,Bob