Fuel Filler Issue on Hilux 98

Submitted: Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 11:26
ThreadID: 87042 Views:3170 Replies:7 FollowUps:1

I am having an issue with my fuel filler on my 1998 2.7 hilux.

When i go to fill the car at the fuel station, i have a huge amount of difficulty getting the fuel in. I squeeze the trigger ever so slightly and the bowser just does the automatic shut off or whatever you want to call it.

I can stand there for a good fifteen or twenty minutes trying to fill it

If anyone could sugest anything to fix this problem as it consumes so much of my time that would be excellent.

I have attached a few images of the filler if that helps. (sorry they arent spectacular, it was hard trying to get a decent angle)

also, i forgot to get a picture of it (the camera just broke too) the inside of the filler has a 'flap' as i would call it, the nossle of the bowser goes through this.

thank you.

Reply By: Trent S - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 11:31

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 11:31
i dont know how to edit a post as im new but i wrote this
"I squeeze the trigger ever so slightly and the bowser just does the automatic shut off or whatever you want to call it"

and

the nossle of the bowser goes through this.

sorry
AnswerID: 457705

Reply By: wicket - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 11:36

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 11:36
on my hilux i have to rotate the servo handle till it is horizontal with handle closest to back of car, especially with those hi flow hoses
AnswerID: 457706

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 14:15

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 14:15
We have heaps of theses little utes and this method works the best to fill
FollowupID: 730918

Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:26

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:26
Adjust that bracket to lift the filler right up as high as it can go- even a half inch will make a difference. Also rotate it so the breather pipe is at the very top and give that a try. I also have to rotate the filler nozzle to the horizontal position and the handle back not forward- on my truck it makes a difference which way the handle faces believe it or not
AnswerID: 457708

Reply By: Member - John R (cQld) - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:48

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:48
Like the above replies, I've found it works OK when the filler handle is about the "8 o'clock" position, and the nozzle not quite as far in as it will go. I have this problem with any bowser made by Gilbarco in particular (and most seem to be). Strangely the local Wollies bowser is never any problem.

Cheers, John
AnswerID: 457710

Reply By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:52

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 12:52
Have a fleet of these vehicles, year 2000 on. They are all the same when it comes to filling them.

Like the previous posters said. Turn the the nozzle horizontal, I find it works best with the trigger facing forward. Start the flow off slow then gradually increase.

Clive.
AnswerID: 457711

Reply By: snoopyone - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 13:00

Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 13:00
My 100ser was the same would take 3/4 of a tank and then had to dribble it in for the last 20L

Pulled all the pipes off and got Toyota to check it all but never changed.
AnswerID: 457713

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jun 18, 2011 at 14:08

Saturday, Jun 18, 2011 at 14:08
Seems to be a design flaw that Mr Toyota might like to know about so they can fix it. But you would expect that the CAD/CAM design would've told them that this would happen...wouldn't you?
AnswerID: 457798