Shocks

Hello everyone has been a while but I'm back Has anyone had any experience with the Tough dog 45mm adjustable shock .I currently run oldman shocks but today found they are leaking oil so time to change. Your comments would be greatly apreashated

Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 16:09

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 16:09
I am running Tough Dog Big Bore adjustable shock absorbers which I have found to be fantastic particularly on the corrugated roads. I simply dial them down to zero for the corrugated sections and leave them there. Much more pleasant travelling. With little damping though it can be a bit rock and roll if hummocks are involved so we had to watch that.

They have coped well with extreme situations and even on the worst corrugations of the Canning and Anne Beadell were sitting in the 50-60C range (compared to 157C for the OME nitro's).

Highly recommended. Cheers Mick

AnswerID: 455540

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 19:10

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 19:10
Same as Mick O,can drive the car with one finger over bad corrugations so I to recommend them. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 728473

Follow Up By: TheMightyMoose - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 20:35

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 20:35
G'day Mick
I notice that there are no Tough Dog Big Bore adjustables listed for the front for an IFS 100 series. Any recommendations?
Thanks heaps in advance.
FollowupID: 728552

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:34

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:34
What about the Tough Dog Ralph 53mm big bore? Obviously if the price doesn't scare you, I'd say Konigs. At a third of the price though, the Ralphs may be a good option.

FollowupID: 728562

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:06

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:06
Same as Mick, I have had no problems with them at all and also dial hem down on corrugations.
Neighbour had problems with his leaking when they first came out, they were replaced with no hassles at all and he has had no more problems.

Have a good one
RA.
AnswerID: 455542

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:23

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:23
I have them now. Used them in anger over Easter in the Flinders. Did a 4wd track on the property which was 80% low range across typical flinders rocky ground.

Set the shockers to the softest setting and it was fantastic. Hard to explain but much better/comfortable ride. Also set them at the hardest setting and took the Patrol for a drive around the block back in Adelaide. Almost got car sick it was that hard. Guess that shows that the different settings actually work and isn't a gimmick.
AnswerID: 455546

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:33

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:33
Gossy, there's a good article on shockers in the most recent 4x4 Action magazine that explains the ins and outs of the various types of shockers and what "big Bore" and adjustable actually means in the construction of the shock absorbers.

A good read. Cheers Mick

FollowupID: 728472

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:39

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 18:39
I'm a subscriber so I get it delivered home; haven't got it yet but in the next week or two.

I'm nervous now as I bought mine about 2 months ago and now there is a review coming out; bad timing. Hope they don't finish last !!
AnswerID: 455549

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 20:26

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 20:26
No it must be the last issue then. I can't see them coming last mate. I'd be reserving that for most OME products lol. Member Jaydub has had his on a lot longer than me and they're performing exceptionally well.

Mick

FollowupID: 728482

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:36

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:36
Yeah I vote for OME too Mick!!! :)

FollowupID: 728563

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:39

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:39
Ha Ha Ha Al. Some tough Dogs and a set of Toyo's and you'll be unstoppable pal.

Did you replace those dodgy ones?

FollowupID: 728564

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:45

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 23:45
Ha I wish!!!
Yeah replaced free of charge...

FollowupID: 728565

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 20:46

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 20:46
Whilst I cannot comment on the Tough Dogs, I agree with Mick O re the OME shocks...they just cannot handle constant corrugations and will fail early.

I went "all out" on the shocks for my current Toyota and went for these:

KONI Raid

Here is another page describing them:
Toperformance

These dampers have now been on the car for about 90k km and are as good as the day I bought them. They have spent some considerable time on corrugations and have done quite a bit of towing (not overly heavy) and have done some work up in the high country. I have left the setting on 1 (out of ?7 from memory) and never seen the need to change.

When yo look at these things in the flesh, they're monsters, with a 70 mm body size (not too sure what Tough Dog 45mm "bore" means), a shaft size of 18mm and a piston size of 42mm and they have a LOT of oil in them.

When on the Gunbarrell a couple of years ago, I was able to put my hand on the shock without getting burnt, which was impossible with the old OME's.

One happy owner, though the sticker price will shock you I feel....

Lastly, they're rebuildable for about $90 each...

Ps... There are some pics of them in my profile if you go searching...

AnswerID: 455566

Follow Up By: petesgq - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 11:48

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 11:48
I agree with Mark E.

I have had the the Koni raids for a few years now on the patrol which ways 3.2 tonne and 23 000 ks of heavy corrugations with out failure.

I have previously had other shock on other simular rigs, in the same conditions

These inculded

Pedders big bore

Old man emu

OEM

out of these the OEM (original Equip manufatcute lasted the longest). the worst of these only lasted from cooper peddy to 100ks short of Finke,

I also have koni Heavy tracks on the camper and they have done approx 35000ks off the tar still going strong. Will have them rebuilt soon even though they will still most likely keep going.

Regrads

FollowupID: 728513

Reply By: Injected - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 09:23

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2011 at 09:23
Mr i lean
Learn to spell mate, its "appreciated".!
Lol - Hello joe
Injected.
AnswerID: 456057