Engine life on 100 series v8 landcruiser 2006 model

Submitted: Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:00
ThreadID: 86328 Views:25126 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hi there everyone new to this group just have a question id like to ask .I live in perth but live 6 months of the year overseas in the philippines where i have my wifes family and property .I have a 2006 100 series v8 wagon with 120th ks on it.Im just about to spend about 6 grand upgrading suspension and alot of other things as well as buying a new set of 33 inch tyres im excited but a bit worried as im living overseas alot i dont want to buy a new landcruiser again and owe money on it as of my lifestyle but im just worried how many ks these engines are good for and how much it costs to buy a new engine if need be.This is my 6th landcruiser but first wagon and first petrol so id like to hear what everyone says besides you should have stayed with the turbo deisel as the petrol is more expensive to run but its 2 late now so id really like to hear what everyone things on the life of these engines .Thanku if you can help out thanks.Nic

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:39

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:39
Most Toyota petrol engines have no trouble clocking up 400000ks . Even 4 cylinder motors like the 22r have recorded over 500000k when well serviced and used on longer trips. I have a friend who covered 540000ks in a petrol Maverick with out the motor being touched. When you consider common rail injectors are $900 ea and the fuel pump is $5000. And all it takes is one crook load of fuel to wreck them you will be well in front. The Lexus V8 is one of my Fav engines.
AnswerID: 454480

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:45

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:45
Thanks Madfisher 400th ks yeah that would be nice thanks for the reply mate.
FollowupID: 727331

Reply By: Bigfish - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:47

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:47
nicholas h...Mate, she,s just run in! 400,000 easy IF the servicing is done correctly. Personally I wouldn,t go with the 33inch. Get a near metric size tyre designation. ie 285,s
AnswerID: 454482

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:51

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 19:51
Hi Bigfish thanks i bought it at 60th ks it had only been serviced 4 times i was a bit worried but have always had it in the shop every 10thks yes i was going for the 285 on a 17 inch rim yes 400th would be nice thanks for the reply Mate.
FollowupID: 727334

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:11

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:11
Nicholas,

I brought my 2004 v8 on LPG from new, it has done over 207,000 km without issues. Maintenance is crucial and timing belt changes at 150,000 intervals is about it.

AnswerID: 454484

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:14

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:14
Thanks Tony have you put it in the shop every 10th. somtimes i do a oil and filter change at ten th ks then the shop every 20th ks.Thanks Tony
FollowupID: 727341

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 18:00

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 18:00
Nicholas,

In the shop for each 10,000 service plus I do a 5000 if I travel bush a great deal in that period.

Dust is the biggest killer of any engine so snorkel and a daily aircleaner check when bush. Otherwise just the standard stuff.

FollowupID: 727474

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:36

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:36
Hi Nicholas.

AnswerID: 454490

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:50

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:50
Awesome John signing up now thanku very much
FollowupID: 727347

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 10:01

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 10:01
Nicholas
We have a 2002 petrol V8, had it since new, its done 176000ks and is currently going better now than when new.
Other that doing the timing belt at 150000ks, and the general services, we haven't had a problem with it, great truck.
As said, good for 400000ks or more.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 454539

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 10:09

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 10:09
Design life is 300,000km but they can last a lot more or less depending on usage.

AnswerID: 454540

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 18:49

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 18:49
Hi Nicholas,... I might go a bit negative here, and say i have experienced a failure with a 04 v8 petrol, ...Now everyone is going to say Service ,Service Service!!, thats the problem,... I'm not convinced!, as i have seen one stripped down after toyo 10,000ks service intervials , The Piston to bore clearance with a lot of those engines was what you would call a bit sus, and if there was piston slap happening with the motor, in reality theres no way those engines will do 400.000ks,.... On the positive note they are a beautiful smooth motor as you probably relise, good fuel economy for power, reliable as, But in my opinion only. they are a bit vunerable.!!. I still like mine, BUT!!!. in the back of my mind....lol.

Robin Miller is on the money .

AnswerID: 454608

Reply By: FawClay - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:12

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:12
Hi Nicholas h,

I have spent a lot of time researching this motor as I'm thinking of moving from my 1HDT 80 series into one of the 4.7's (2.5T tow capacity as opposed to 3.5T).

From what I can gather with these engines they are great motors and like everyone said servicing is the key. Apparently every 40,000k's the valve clearances should be done to make sure everything is in check.

FawClay
AnswerID: 454631

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 17:23

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 17:23
very time consuming and delicate job. the shims are in side the bucket., cams have to be lifted after each one is measured!

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 727607