Alice Springs camping

Submitted: Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:23
ThreadID: 85996 Views:2536 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Travelling thru Alice & any suggestions on the best place to camp with our camper trailer would be greatly appreciated

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:41

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:41
Hi John and Jenni

It depends what you are you looking for.

1. Caravan parks in Alice itself?

2. Free camps on the highway to and from?

3. National Parks Camps and similar when touring the MacDonnells Ranges and other sights in the region?

If point 3, touring in and around Alice Springs you can read my travelogues for 2008 at Australia So Much to See

My travelogues for 2009, which took up back to Alice Springs and further north are not completed as yet.

For free and low cost, and National Park camp grounds see Free, low cost and National Parks camping and check out Northern Territory from the index for both Free and Low Cost, and National Parks.

AnswerID: 452941

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 21:41

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 21:41
G'day Motherhen.

We have stayed at Alice before, a couple of years ago after doing the Tanami Rd, but have been warned by a resident that at the moment it's not safe to stay anywhere in town. ???
We are only staying a couple of nights & then off west to WA via Gary Junction Rd etc.

Thanks for replying

J & J

FollowupID: 725738

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:05

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:05
Hi J & J

I think the reports of not being safe are greatly exaggerated. However our preferred caravan park is out of town on Ilparpa Road. It is in a beautiful location and very safe and secure. It is rather old and amenities are not brilliant, but the price is equally as antiquated. Another old CP, Wanngardi, has been reopened nearby but is closer to the road than Temple Bar.Check out my review on Temple Bar on Badger's

It is around nine kms out of town and easy to commute daily for sightseeing and shopping. You then can continue heading west and through the West MacDonnells and take the Haasts Bluff Road to meet up with the Gary Junction route west.Gary Junction Route is a great drive, although i have not yet completed that travelogue.

Mh

FollowupID: 725742

Reply By: Col WA - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 19:01

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 19:01
Hi John & Jenni,
Just got back From the centre and Red Bank Gorge cliff top camp was the best in the West MacDonald's (IMHO) thou is a fair way out of Alice. If we had more time would loved to have stayed a day or two at Palm Valley. In Alice we stayed at G'Day Mate Caravan park and have no problems recommending it.
Col.
AnswerID: 452952

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 21:47

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 21:47
Hi Col,

We are going to Alice via Uluru, Kings Canyon & Palm Valley & heading west so will check out RBG cliff top camp.

Thanks for info

J & J
FollowupID: 725740

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:13

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:13
Sure is a lovely spot Col; Redbank Ridgetop is fabulous camping. Only eight sites on the ridgetop but they are roomy. We couldn't fit into any in the pleasant Woodlands campground at the lower level.

J&J; I have a photo and short review of Redbank Ridge - scroll down at Northern Territory Free and Low cost camps. Look here and also on WA pages for places we camped on the Gary Junction.

Mh

FollowupID: 725744

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 05:02

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 05:02
John & Jenni
When in Alice we have stayed in the Mac Donnell C'van park... it's brilliant, and we eat at the Pub, behind the servo, and general store, before the park.
The park is located on the southern side of Emily Gap, ( Just !)
(it's the 2nd park to the left)

North from Curtain Springs, on the Road to King's Canyon, there is a wayside stop, on the RHS, probably under 100 km from the turnoff, what I can remember there is a loo there as well.
Have a look over the back, in amongst the Oakes.
Beautiful !

FollowupID: 725879

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:04

Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:04
Thanks Bucky. Sounds great. Loos & great views always welcome
FollowupID: 726120

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:02

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 22:02
we stayed at the Big 4 park when we were there last year, didn't have any problems at all, the place is fenced and has a security gate at the front entrance.
AnswerID: 452983

Reply By: Millsy - The Uteshed(WA) - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 23:11

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 23:11
Had a great time at Palm valley a few days ago, Plenty of Mice and a big snake around the camp site, then up to Gem Tree then back to Alice for a night staying at the Stuart Caravan park with no problems,down to Coober Pedy and are now at Ceduna.
AnswerID: 452987

Follow Up By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 09:05

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 09:05
Gooday,
Have stayed at Wintersun on the way into town from the North, found it to be clean, good facilities and convenient good price. Have stayed there several times , twice last year in August and September.
Boroma604
FollowupID: 725759

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:10

Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:10
Thanks Millsy. Mice & snakes mmm, can't wait. Hopefully Palm Valley is worth it. Thanks for info about caravan park. Cheers J&J

FollowupID: 726121

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 12:07

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 12:07
I lived in Alice until recently and can assure you the violence and crime there is not exagerated....in fact its played down if anything so it doesnt scare the tourists away!
People dont sell properties drag kids out of schools and away from friends and leave the town they loved because of a media beat up!

In saying that if you dont become complacent, keep everything locked and out of veiw and stay well out of the CBD after dark your chances of having a good stay are fairly high.
Most peoples CV park of choice would be the Mac Range and is as secure as anywhere.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 453018

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 20:55

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 20:55
Well said Hairy : I lived in Alice for over 20 years 70,80 90;s thing hav't changed .
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 725973

Follow Up By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:13

Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 09:13
G'day Hairy, thanks for that. Will heed your advice J&J
FollowupID: 726122