checker plate polish

Submitted: Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 13:23
ThreadID: 85992 Views:2769 Replies:7 FollowUps:1

Looking at polishing my checker plate side steps and rear bar. Can anyone recommend a polish that works and doesn’t take excessive elbow grease?

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: sweetwill - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 13:52

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 13:52
hello lyndon.
I use a liquid polish called purple, you can buy it at a truck spare parts shop it does the job realy well cheers bill.
AnswerID: 452916

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 13:53

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 13:53
Hi Lyndon.

Autosol works a treat on checker plate & doesn't leave residue like normal car polish.
A friend did his van last week & was very impressed with the finish..
Vince
AnswerID: 452917

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 15:52

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 15:52
Go to Bunnings and find steel wool in the sandpaper aisle. It comes in a number of grades in and comes cardboard box. Choose either fine or extra fine. Cut some of the roll with scissors a polish the alloy or stainless with straight dishwashing detergent. You will not believe the difference.
I have a valuable Atomic stove top coffee maker and I took someones advice and reluctantly used the steel wool. Unbelivable result and came up better than new.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 452926

Follow Up By: Pebble - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 20:00

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 20:00
I stripped the paint off an MTB I had (frame was made of aluminium). The steel wool method did work a treat for polishing it up (but not going to the extremes of anything like a top notch mirror polish which would have required a lot more effort).
That particular frame did stay nice and shiny for a long time (6061 type Al). Another much older one I did must have been a different aluminium it would dull a lot more quickly but the steel wool would get it nice and shiny again without too much effort.
FollowupID: 725720

Reply By: carlsp - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:19

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:19
Lyndon

I could tell you that I have a polish that does not need effort to polish checkerplate / Diamond plate. I could also tell you that there will be no new taxes, nuclear energy has no down side and we are the land of chosen people. Guess who I am and then vote for me.

All polishes need effort. Some more than others. The best for shine is Autosol but you cannot let it dry and just do about a servicing dish area at a time. You will need plenty of clean soft rags. I get T towels from woolies. Packets of 10 are about $10. The cheapest rags I have found.

Purple is basically the same as Autosol, cheaper and thinner. Works the same but not quite as good.

Alushine by Chemtec is the only one that I have found that you can let dry. I use this after Autosol has smoothed the checkerplate. You can then buff this one with a power tool buffer after it is dry. I have not had good results starting from scratch with this brand. The 1 litre bottle is about right for a 19 ft van with average amounts of checkerplate.

Good luck but I suspect, like me, you will end up with a blister on your polishing finger.
AnswerID: 452934

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:25

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 16:25
Mate if your that keen you can polish my Checker Plate also :-))

AnswerID: 452936

Reply By: Happy Frank - Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 20:52

Sunday, May 01, 2011 at 20:52
I have found that Purple is better than Autosol, and Mirror Finish is better than both. MF doesn't require too much elbow grease and is used in the professional transport industry to polish ally.
AnswerID: 452972

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 10:00

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 10:00
Thanks to everyone for their advise, now up to me to choose which way to go.

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 453006