high lift jack carrying

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 16:47
ThreadID: 85596 Views:8089 Replies:7 FollowUps:17

Related Pages

Just got a high lift jack and looking for feedback on any pit falls on carrying it.

I have a GQ so I assume it's not best to hang it off the rear tyre or the door will sag.

Has anyone had any gutter strength issues with putting it up on the roofrack bars? Got the Canning next year so the corrugations will x2 the weight up on the roof.

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:14

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:14
G'day Gossy, They are bloody heavy, arent they ?. I havent done the Canning,
but I gave up carrying a high lift a long time ago. Much prefer a good trolley job.
Not a lot lighter, but more adaptable & a damn site safer..easier to carry too.
The high lift has limited jacking points unless specially fitted & just love to fall
over given half a chance. Your choice ,of course, & no doubt supporters will have
a contrary view. Too much metal for too little advantage in my book.
cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 451153

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:42

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:42
Hi Gossy,
yes they are a heavy bit of gear and used right they will get you out of most situations with the right recovery gear to go with it.
I've mounted mine on my bullbar. I don't want racks, I don't have a rear wheel carrier and was not going to to have it inside with us.
So with a couple of 4mm thick x 75x100mm brackets with Nylon lock nuts it was mounted on the bar.

Now, before people jump up & down about it being legal, It is.

I've traveled some rough forest roads without a problem, also snatched and been snatched with it budging. I've wrap an Ocky strap around the lifting mechanism to stop it rattling.
As a side benefit the windscreen doesn't get as covered in bugs as it use too.

Anyway, here's another alternative. Enjoy you trip and safe travels.

AnswerID: 451156

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:45

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 17:45
That is suppose to read 'Without it Budging"
Dolht!
FollowupID: 723759

Follow Up By: Member - Corrugate75 - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:20

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:20
This is what I love about this website, always another idea but someone who has researched it better than I would.
Thanks for this one, I think I'll borrow it!
Corrugate
FollowupID: 723761

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:48

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:48
Definitely NOT like THIS then eh?

FollowupID: 723767

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 00:15

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 00:15
Sorry Jon, but I just can't see how that could be legal, it is obviously above the bonnet height and affects the drivers view,

If you want to prove yourself right take a side photo and post it,

On another point it is just dangerous in the event of an accident . it could easily break off and become a leathal projectile.

Bruce

FollowupID: 723798

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 00:23

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 00:23
While it doesn't protrude forward of the Bull bar I think it could easily be argued that mounting a hiLift on top would fall into clause 2 from the RTA guide (It is illegal to have any sharpe or rugged edge or corner on a Bull Bar which could cause injury........) Additionally there must be some obstruction to the view of the road as in clause 3 & your top diagram.
If it fits in behind the bar as per Phils mount below it would probably be ideal or I've also seen some nice rear bars too that incorperate the Jack hence transferring the weight off the steer wheels.
Cheers Craig.................
FollowupID: 723799

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 06:59

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 06:59
Hi Bruce,
Bonnet high has nothing to do with it, it's field of view.
In the first diagram, where the distance is 11 meters, mine measures 9.8 meters. I have string lined this and measured the other angles.
Funny, I have taken it to the RTA and they have approved it, BUT they will not give written authorization, I was even told that I could get an enginees certificate for it, but they still will not give written approval. Hmm. How many guys these days have their driving lights mounted on the top brackets of their bars? I asked this of the RTA officer, No reply.

Hi Craig,
"(It is illegal to have any sharp or rugged edge or corner on a Bull Bar which could cause injury........)
Unlike fishing rod holders that sit forward of the most forward point of the bullbar.
In NSW fishing rod holder ARE Illegal. Also there a lot of vehicles that have the winches that protrude forward of the bull bar.

I have also sent pictures to my insurance company who don't have a problem with it. If it meets the RTA regulations it is legal.

To be honest guys, There are a lot more things out there on vehicles that I would be more concerned about. Vehicles that are towing well above their Gross mass, vehicles with roof cages that are over loaded(two spare wheels, gas bottles and the likes) and their loads not tied down secure, the list goes on.

I have meet all the requirements, I can't do anymore.

Cheers Guys.

FollowupID: 723807

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:08

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:08
Mine is mounted on the bullbar because I like to bring some weight forward and not have all the weight at the back or up high. It weighs 10kgs and I've attached it simply with two wheel studs and nuts, so these double as spare parts. If your vehicle is suitable for this setup then go for it.

Many vehicles (such as oldbaz's) aren't suitable for highlift jacks, so I can see why a trolley jack is preferred for a tyre change. But my highlift serves more purposes - a very versatile tool that is my only beadbreaker these days, and can debog a vehicle, raise the chassis so you can repair suspension (chock tyres under the chassis or towbar). Its made safe by dedicated highlift jack points front and rear and on our Tvan.
AnswerID: 451159

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:38

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:38
Geez Phil, Ya got me thinking again.
I'll have a look tomorrow to see if it can slip in behind the bar work, but I think it will block the lights on my 80.

For those worried about lifting points with Hilift Jacks there are heaps of accessories that you can buy for them to make life safer.
You can find them HERE

FollowupID: 723764

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:07

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:07
Hi Jon, I carry one of these Lift Mate attachments. Image Could Not Be Found I consider that a real use for the hi lift would be to raise a wheel out of a washout or rut. Attaches to jack and hooks into wheel. Haven't needed to yet but it's small to carry.

FollowupID: 723770

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:24

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:24
Yep, there are plenty of uses for the Hilift, you've just gotta have the right attachment for that job. Just Google youtube hi lift jack winch.
I've used mine to re-stump a veranda.
Also, it makes for a great hood ornament, better than having one of those silly chrome bulldogs.

FollowupID: 723771

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:30

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:30
Jon, I've seen that hi-lift winching scheme before. I think I'd rather walk home!

FollowupID: 723773

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:57

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 19:57
Serious Al?
Mate, I reckon they are a great piece of gear.
Hmm, in other forums blokes have said they've seen people hurt and vehicles damaged from them, but it comes down to how you use them.
It also depends on how far away home is.
;)
FollowupID: 723778

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 20:34

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 20:34
Nah, not really serious Jon. But hand winches look like a lot of work! I'll wait till someones comes along to tow.

FollowupID: 723779

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 20:49

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 20:49
Fair enough.
;)
FollowupID: 723780

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 12:47

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 12:47
Hi Phil,
I checked this morning and there isn't enough room between the back of the up rights of the bar, besides it doesn't matter were along the back I place it, the foot and the jacking mechanism ends up in front of one of the head lights.
The only other place would be to bolt it to the third row seats fitting in the back, but then I loose floor space.
Something to ponder.
FollowupID: 723850

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 13:39

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 13:39
Gday Jon,
Yeah, I know what you mean. The 70series has the headlights much closer together, so it fits nicely. Gossy has a GQ, with single headlights, so it might still be possible for him.
FollowupID: 723856

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 16:28

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 16:28
Hey Phil,
I kinda remember seeing pictures of a blokes 4wd, couldn't say if it was an 80 or not, but he had mounted his Hilift Jack to the sidesteps/Rocksliders.
Can't remember if it was in a web site or in a book.
Gossy, there's another place to fix one.
FollowupID: 723882

Reply By: PeterInSa - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:10

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:10
Gossy,
Make sure you have the lifting/jack points on your vehicle otherwise the HLJ is useless.

I made a fitting that can be used either side of my steel bull bar and another fitting that I can insert in the towbar socket to lift the rear.

Have seen said fittings in 4x4 shops for sale.

AnswerID: 451160

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:41

Wednesday, Apr 13, 2011 at 18:41
Hi peter,
See the link I posted above. It has heaps of options.
Any chance you can post pics of that fitting.
FollowupID: 723765

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 07:00

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 07:00
I use my High lift Jack around the farm all the time. Its great for lifting out star pickets where I carnt get the tractor into, Ive used it to remove a rear tyro on the tractor, I had to prop up the wood shed roof last week it worked well there.

AnswerID: 451201

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 12:30

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 12:30
great feedback guys. I'll put some time aside this evening to go through it all :)
AnswerID: 451226

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 13:20

Thursday, Apr 14, 2011 at 13:20
Best bit of kit I have ever owned.

I still have a 25+yo canadian jack-all which I trust more than some of the new chinese stuff Ive seen around the traps.

Biggest problem with a hi-lift type is the user IMHO ... why people want to jam the thing in a bullbar or a towbar and lift the vehicle 10' off the deck to get the wheel up a coupla inches is beyond me.

As not all rims are suited as lift points any more .... thanks to "modern" vehicle "improvements" ... its well worth the money to get the hook setup shown in a previous post.

If its a flat tyre situation ... jack up at the wheel, chock under the axle, remove jack & change tyre.

Remember tho ... its only A piece of recovery equipment ... not a complete, miracle working, recovery system.

AnswerID: 451232