Member - John Baas (WA)
Went to Bunnings today and they only had one such. A Ryobi
http://www.ryobi.com.au/Products/ONEPlus/AngleGrinders/CAG1800G.aspx
which priced at a bit under $300 with the charger and battery. At 8KG it's a little heavier than I wanted as the Cruiser's heavy already with all the 'stuff'.
Has anyone any experience with these, or could recommend another product pls?
Reply By: Outback Gazz - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:24
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:24
Spend a bit more money and get the Milwaukee ! Been using one on and off for the last 5 weeks and can't praise it up enough. Has plenty of grunt and the battery lasts fairly
well. For an extra 75 odd dollars I bought a spare battery so I can have one on charge while using the other. They also come with quite a good Australia wide warranty I believe.
Gazz
Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:05
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:05
John - I got
mine in a combo set with an impact driver for $800 on "special" at Gasweld in Sth Australia. I'm pretty sure it's a HD18AG-32C There is also a
-0C and a -18C I think. These are a bit more light weight and obviously a lot cheaper ( around $300 with battery ) There is a 32C on ebay for $500 plus delivery. There must be someone in WA who sells them for you to look at. If buying off ebay DON'T buy the American models as you need an adaptor to charge them. Quick search on the net says they come with a 5 year Australia wide warranty. A builder mate of
mine has every Milwaukee cordless tool available and with all the interchangable batteries and 3 chargers he can work all day without using a power tool and swears by Milwaukee !
Gazz
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:34
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:34
Do you know who makes Milwaukee, AEG and Ryobi power tools?
Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:54
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:54
YEP - they are all made in China !!
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 10:42
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 10:42
"YEP - they are all made in China !!"
Sure are by Ryobi
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:40
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:40
Just don't end up like the fellow on "RPA, Where are they now" last night. Almost severed an arm trying to cut through some sort of tree or bush. He was 72 and trying to do his son a favour. Cheers,Bob
Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:44
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 20:44
5000 professional thieves can't be wrong can they? Tool of choice for break and enters.
It doesn't sound like you'll be using it professionally (pardon pun), so it'll last long enough.
I am however struggling to work out if I'd ever bother taking
mine (panasonic for the record, but in a different price bracket) on a trip.
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 21:00
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 21:00
I've had a Dewalt 18v one for a year or so and it is great, plenty of grunt, lithium ion battery, tool less wheel change too.
Follow Up By: ctaplin - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 21:38
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 21:38
One thing to look at with the Ryobi cordless grinder that you looked at is it doesn't come with a battery or charger and this adds to the cost considerably!
Cordless grinders are awesome in my experience, especially when fitted with a 1mm thick cutting wheel for slicing up roofing sheets etc, or even cutting through larger pieces of steel. If you use one for grinding or cutting with a thicker wheel, the battery life and power will be disspointing compared to a 240 volt grinder. BTW, I have a Makita 18volt LXT unit with a 3Ahr lithium battery but have used other brands and been equally impressed if you use them for light duty stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:02
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:02
Thanks Peter, I'll go down to Alltools tomorrow and have a shoofty.
You, too Chris. But the 'just under $300' was inclusive of battery and charger.
Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:08
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:08
Metabo, though in a very different price bracket. Search youtube to see a video of one in use. german made.
Lyndon
Reply By: Dust-Devil - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:27
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 22:27
Depends on what you want to do with it.
Me - I just use a 450W A/grinder, 600W inverter and an extra Pwr lead that I carry.
However, you can get by by using one power lead with a bit of the 'Common Dog'.
DD
Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 23:10
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 23:10
I've got the ryobi cordless, i use it for cutting roof tiles and metal etc.
I keep 3 x 2.4 amp lithium batteries and get a really good run when needed.
It recently started smoking out the side one week inside its 12 month warranty and to my
amazement i found the receipt so exchanged for a newie, no questions asked.
I buy top $ diamond cutters for tiles for it and the 1 mm discs for tin, it makes cutting much easier.
At the time i couldnt find any other brands of cordless grinders available so bought this.
Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 23:16
Thursday, Apr 07, 2011 at 23:16
My husband recently wanted a Makita cordless angle grinder. Bunnings couldn't get the grinder he wanted in - or if they did was from an outside supplier and cost not competitive with eBay. Best deal was eBay from USA, in the end he selected a package with two batteries and a saw. We got the charger from an Australian eBayer as US ones are for 110 v and need an adaptor. Advert says grinder weighs 5.6 lb which is 2.5 kg.
Reply By: Ray - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 09:00
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 09:00
They are ideal for removing wheel clamps
Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 12:29
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 12:29
Also double as a Master key for National Parks. LOL
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:26
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:26
A lock only keeps honest people out , your comments show how honest the pair of you are.
Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 15:37
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 15:37
LOL means laugh out loud!
It was a joke????????????
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 16:39
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 16:39
Hey Alloy,
have you got a bit of S on the L today?
You've had a crack at Hairy on this Thread and vk1dx on the Winnebago Thread.
Time to go back to bed and get out on the right side this time....
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:28
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:28
Nope ,no S on L , just making a comment that even advocating with a LOL cutting a lock that you have no legal right to do so is a criminal act and should not be encouraged even in jest , as for the Winnebago thread ? DUH , pointing out that the vehicles are fiberglass and NOT metal means I,m having a dig at vk1dx ? Yeah right.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 09:56
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 09:56
John,
whatever brand you end up getting, have a look at the "family" of products available with it, like the Ryobi One+ you've already looked at.
I had to buy a new cordless drill a few weeks ago and got the Ryobi One+ with 2 batteries and a charger. I then browsed through the booklet of other products in the family and sort of went on a buying spree.
Now my requirements, having acaravan, are different to yours but I ended up getting the cordless chainsaw (with another battery), the rattle gun, spotlight and dustbuster (hey, Mrs Bush needs to fell included !!).
The chainsaw is a ripper and is all I need for getting a bit of firewood. No smelly fuel requirements either.
Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 11:23
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 11:23
Thanks all for those great advices.
Reply By: paulnsw - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:31
Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:31
I have and used extensively the Ryobi +Tool 18V grinder with the 2.4Ah lithium battery. Works very
well and would have no hesitation in recommending. The lithium batteries are AMAZING compared to the Nicad batteries.
Have the Ryobi 18V impact wrench, 1/2" drills and heap of other
tools and all been great.
Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 00:19
Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 00:19
Thanks Paul.