Best 4wd Camper van/trailers

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:31
ThreadID: 85399 Views:5704 Replies:13 FollowUps:7
Hello all,

Interested in buying a new 4wd camper trailer/van - have a Nissan Patrol 4.8 and have always liked the Ultimates. Interested in pros and cons. Already tow a 22ft Jayco Westport with ease, however planning on more offroad remote areas and feel our camping on the ground days behind us!!!! Do have a Howling Moon rooftop, but again one of us finds it difficult getting up and down the ladder, no guessing which one?

So any thoughts will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Jinki
Jinki & Harry enjoying !!!!!

Reply By: Member - Jeff P (SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 12:01

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 12:01
It will always depend on your finances and what you want but we have an Adventure Camper and could not be happier. More storage space than you can poke a stick at and you do not have to unload anything to set it up. Well worth a look.
AnswerID: 450167

Follow Up By: tg123 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:17

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:17
I also own an Adventure Camper and love it! Last big trip away was for 3 months with 35+ setup and packups - many by myself as missus had to go back to work - reckon it's the best softfloor out there!
Keep in mind that the actual setting up of most campers (ie putting the tenty thing up) doesn't take long - things like setting up the awning, kitchen etc etc are what takes the time so don't be suckered in by the 'it only takes 5 minutes to set up' line thrown out by most salespeople.

TG
FollowupID: 722646

Follow Up By: D&G - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:06

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:06
We also own an Adventure Camper and concur with Jeff and TG. Really easy to tow, heaps of accessible storage, great kitchen and an awning that's perfect. The first time we had to put up the whole annexe was in really bad weather and it was put up quickly and easily. Great bed, bigger than king size. The guys that own the company are really approachable and have constructed a camper that comes from their years of outback camping. You can also hire before you buy!!
FollowupID: 722669

Follow Up By: Wayne David - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:15

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:15
Since there's only 2 of us I'm a fan of hardfloors & mine is a Kimberley Kamper.

However for more than 2 people these Adventure Campers look absolutely amazing. Really good well thought out features and the quality is top shelf.
FollowupID: 722780

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 12:07

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 12:07
Hi Jinki,
We own a Tvan and a Topaz which is a gross over van A very small off road caravan by track trailer. It has the best of both worlds, can go just about anywhere a bed that is made up all the time, no canvas, an external shower, hot water system, cook in side in bad weather, it ticks all the boxes for us check out both on the track trailer website, we love our Tvan and don't want to sell it but may be commen sense will prevail and we will, also check out the eclipse and quantim cross overs they might also suit. Hope this is of assistance.
If you want to ask me any questions about either mm me
barb
AnswerID: 450169

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:23

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:23
Hi Jinki,

I'll tick the Tvan as well... we took ours 9000k's around the red centre last year including a Simpson Desert crossing. Never a problem!
Our choice for the Tvan over the Ultimate and the KK was one thing in the end... the slide out kitchen! We could have lunch on the side of a track without having to open the trailer to get to the kitchen!!

Personally, IMHO the Tvan is the best off road camper trailer in the business....

Not affiliated in any way, just a happy customer!!

AnswerID: 450173

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:59

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:59
I can tick the Tvan box as well, very happy campers here.
FollowupID: 722707

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:32

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:32
It is a very subjective question as everybody will try to justify their own decisions, by saying theirs is the best.
We have Vista RV Crossover, which may be the best for us, but not for you, it totally depends on the individuals application.

As far as I can tell, the biggest downside of the Ultimate is that you can't access the kitchen or the fridge, for roadside cuppas or lunches.
AnswerID: 450176

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:21

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:21
Hi Shaker,
We also have a Vista, just towed it all over Tasmania and found it perfect for our purposes.
Kev
FollowupID: 722671

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 20:16

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 20:16
"As far as I can tell, the biggest downside of the Ultimate is that you can't access the kitchen or the fridge, for roadside cuppas or lunches."

That was exactly what ruled it out for us..... but as Shaker says... very subjective!

FollowupID: 722712

Reply By: P and JM - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:06

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:06
Hi Jinki & Harry,

As there are a lot around and sometimes hard to choose it would help going to your local area Caravan & Camping show. We own a off road 4x4 Onyx camper made by Pioneer Campers in Perth and LOVE it.

Good luck with your decision and enjoy Off Roading.
AnswerID: 450179

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:49

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:49
I had a Pioneer Argyle & found it to be excellent, although they are oversprung. Mine was much better after I softened the suspension.
FollowupID: 722653

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:10

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:10
Hi Jinki & Harry,
would endorse all the comments about the T-Vans and you just drop the floor and lift the lid and your in bed, but as was said we're bias we've got one.

Graham
AnswerID: 450180

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:00

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:00
http://www.exploroz.com/Trader/Campers_Trailers.aspx?id=11228

Road side stops - no problem!

:-)

Tim
AnswerID: 450193

Reply By: Christine P - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:12

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:12
If you're looking for a very quick set up we think you can't go past an Aussie Swag off Road hard floor camper..... had some really great times in it and it would go absolutely anywhere....unfortunately we sold it to go to a caravan and then to a VW Crafter motorhome but we find we miss the 4WD times so we're looking to buy a "comfortable" ute with an Oz tent....maybe we don't admit we're getting old but 60's and 80's isn't old is it? Any advice ?
AnswerID: 450197

Reply By: cliffy46 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:21

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:21
we have a ultimate, great cook inside if its wet, outside kitchens if it is wet you have to put a annex up, easy to tow, set up and put down. there are a few for sale on trading post, lots more head room than a tvan to. mark
AnswerID: 450199

Reply By: Member - Brian A (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:00

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:00
We had an Ultimate for some five years before moving to a Kimberley Karavan. In all the time we had the Ultimate we never had even a minor problem with it. They are well made, very strong and will go anywhere you are game to take your 4X4. We appreciated the inside galley as opposed to an exterior 'Slide Out' especially when the elements outside turn wet or cold. We believe the Ultimate to be the 'Ultimate' two person camper trailer.
Brian Adshead

AnswerID: 450212

Reply By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:23

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:23
Go to a caravan and camping show and try each of them out. Make sure that you have a lie in the bed to see that you are happy with the room you have and that you don't feel claustrophobic. You can rent TVans and other models to try out. I am not sure about the Kimberley Kampers and Ultimates.

We have an Ultimate and have camped in it for over 300 nights. We would not swap it for any other camper; I have also tried TVans and Kimberley Kampers and think that neither provide that same level of comfort, space and luxury as the Ultimate. There is a lot of mis-information generated by Ultimate competitors about cooking inside, making the bed etc, etc.
Keep in mind that in the great Australian outdoors there are many insects to annoy and sting you and your partner; this is not a problem with the Ultimate as you are inside and protected.

If we want to boil up a cuppa we use one of those $15 butane stoves. We also have a fridge in the back of the truck so accessing food for lunch is never a problem.
If you can afford and Ultimate then for it. If you buy a second hand one as we did, then you will get your money back when you sell it.
If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

AnswerID: 450221

Reply By: KenD - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 00:07

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 00:07
Hi Jinki
Check these.
Journeyman Camper
I went to Qld and was given a thorough look at the early model.
I was very impressed with the thoughtfulness and thoroughness of the design and the quality of construction. The proprietor, Ross, will send you extra info and a short video that illustrates the ease and speed of set-up.
It is specifically designed for two people. When set up it takes up no more space than it does on the road.
I plan to take my treasurer and social secretary for an inspection before (hopefully receiving authorisation) placing an order.
Whatever you decide, I hope you will enjoy it.
KD
AnswerID: 450257

Reply By: Member - Jinki & Harry - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:55

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:55
Many thanks to all for your very helpful thoughts and info - lots to look at which we will do over next two weeks. Will try out first by hiring for a few days etc.

We will at the Visitor Centre Milparinka from 28th April as volunteers should any of you be passing that way, call in and say hello.

Thanks again and happy 4wdriving to you all.

Jinki
Jinki & Harry enjoying !!!!!

AnswerID: 450296