Trailer ATM

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:27
ThreadID: 85313 Views:7281 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Hi, My Camper trailer has an ATM rating of 749kgs. At present it is unbraked and my thinking is,if I install electric brakes will this ATM rating increase or will it remain the same.
Thankyou

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:46

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:46
John,
To increase the ATM You would require an engineering certificate and a new compliance plate. That is how I understand QLD law is to be.
AnswerID: 449720

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:50

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:50
G'day John, yes your atm will increase, 750 Kg is the limit for unbraked trailers.
I cant tell you the braked limit, but someone will. cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 449721

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:02

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:02
OB,
Why would adding brakes increase theATM?
750 kg is the unbraked towing capacity of most cars.
Mike.
FollowupID: 722127

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:42

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:42
750 is the unbraked capacity-period, Australia wide.

It all depends on the trailer structure, if its deemed strong enough to carry over 750 once it has brakes.
FollowupID: 722170

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:56

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 16:56
It goes on what ever the compliance plate says.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 449722

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:06

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:06
John H
My understanding is, your vehicle can tow up to 750kilos unbraked, if you wish to tow greater than 750kilos then you have to have electric brakes fitted, but the amount of kilos you can then tow will depend on what your tow vehicle is allowed.
Fitting electric brakes to the camper, i don't think will increase the ATM.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 449723

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:17

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:17
you dont have to have electric brakes fitted, can be mechanical or hydraulic overide up to 2 tonne.
Then must have a breakaway system.
FollowupID: 722196

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:24

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:24
In reading the post title I'm thinking an ATM on a trailer and some back is thinking smarter or someone has his own ATM... rich bugger
AnswerID: 449727

Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:36

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:36
that should be Bank not back
FollowupID: 722134

Reply By: Member - John & Lil - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:26

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:26
Hi John H,

Tour Boy is correct, whatever the Compliance plate says. However, if you want the maximum rate increased and having fitted the trailer brakes. You would need to find out the maximum load rating for the axle assembly you have on the trailer and get the compliance plate changed. The best place for this is probably at the original trailer manufacturer.

I had something like this happen to me when I went to VicRoads to register my trailer (not compulsory here in Victoria for a 6 x 4 trailer) and I didn't have a compliance plate. I took the trailer back to manufacturer and he gave it a VIN and re-stamped the compliance plate.

I dare say the axle assembly used on your trailer isn't a lot different to other trailers they sell that are say 900kg. Very convenient for them to get the ATM 1 KG under. You're probably over the 750kg most times either knowingly or unknowingly. Very easy to do.

I you don't know who manufactured the trailer and/or can't get to them, a lot of the axle assemblies are made by people like Alko and they will be able to tell you the maximum loading on the axle. A point to remember if you increase the maximum weight on the trailer you may need to change the tyre type to a light truck.

I trust this may be of some help.

AnswerID: 449728

Follow Up By: Racey - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 18:12

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 18:12
I would agree. It is no co-incidence the plate ATM is 749kg, 1kilo below the 750kg un-braked limit. Go back to the manufacture, "if I fit brakes, waht is the ATM"

Racey
FollowupID: 722139

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:35

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 17:35
Hi John

You can fit brakes to a trailer that by weight does not require it, but must fit them as prescribed at the specified weights. Under 750 kgs GTM (rather than ATM) on the plate, fitting of brakes is optional (but wise). Fitting of brakes will not alter the weights on your compliance plate.

Vehicle Standards Bulletin VSB1 - Regulations for trailer braking

15. BRAKING
15.1 Trailers that do not exceed 0.75 tonne GTM with a single axle
No brakes are required.

(For further information, refer to ADR 38/02 clause 5)

Note
Two axles with centres spaced less than 1 metre apart are regarded as a single axle.

15.2 All other trailers that do not exceed 4.5 tonnes ATM
These trailers must be fitted with an efficient brake system that complies with ADR 38/-. Except for over-run brakes, all brakes must be operable from the driver's seat of the towing vehicle.

For trailers up 2 tonnes GTM, an efficient braking system is considered to have brakes operating on the wheels of at least one axle. Over-run brakes may only be used on trailers that do not exceed 2 tonnes GTM.

Every trailer over 2 tonnes GTM must have brakes operating on all wheels. The brake system must cause immediate application of the trailer brakes in the event of the trailer becoming detached from the towing vehicle. Under these circumstances, the brakes must remain applied for at least 15 minutes.

All flexible hydraulic brake hoses, air or vacuum brake tubing and air and vacuum flexible hoses must conform to SAA, SAE, BS, JIS, DIN, ISO or ECE Standards and be fitted to the vehicle in a way that will prevent chafing, kinking or other mechanical damage under normal motion of the parts to which they are attached.

Definitions:

GTM / Gross Trailer Mass
is the weight supported by the axle/s or wheels of a loaded trailer when attached to the tow vehicle

ATM / Aggregate Trailer Mass
is the total loaded weight of a trailer including the tow ball download; weight when not attached to the tow vehicle

Clear as a turbid river?

AnswerID: 449729

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 06:43

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 06:43
According to ADR the weight capacity of the Axle must be stamped on the Axle by the manufacturer.
FollowupID: 722208

Reply By: Trev6 - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 20:06

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 20:06
Hi John H,
I am pricing puting brakes on my trailer as well and would have thought that the ATM would increased concidering that it has already got a 40mm square axle with 6 stud hubs and light truck wheel / tyre setup which I thought is around the 1000kg ATM mark, if yours is something simmilar I can't see why the weight couldn't be lifted like a lot of semi off road campers are.

On the other hand my trailer dosen't have a compliance plate (or vin No. for that mater) so does that mean that I can do what i like with it??????? probably not!!

regards trev6

BTW I think brakes are a real good idea on any trailer and even more so appreciated in those emergencey stopping situations.
AnswerID: 449744

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:11

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:11
"On the other hand my trailer dosen't have a compliance plate (or vin No. for that mater) so does that mean that I can do what i like with it??????? probably not!!"

No it does not mean that. If you modify your trailer then you have to get a new engineering certificate for it. For a list of signatories, download a copy of VSI-15 (Engineering Signatories) from this link.

FollowupID: 722195

Reply By: brownie - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:13

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 01:13
A bit off topic, but my 6 x 4 box trailer is now 41 years old and has no brakes fitted. the ATM on the licence paper is 1012 kg and so is legal for an 800 kg load.
When it was made the brake/nobrake cutoff point was 1 ton, so therefore most box trailers had an ATM of '0 ton, 19 hundredweight, and 3 quarters'
(Who remembers those measurements ?? ) When changed to metrics the figure of 1012kg is calculated.
It has been continously licenced, and so is still legal at the old weights.
Just some trivia

Cheers, brownie.
AnswerID: 449794

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:49

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:49
Brownie,
There is one little wording that a lot of people forget "or manufactures specifications" The lesser of the two always applies.
If I was towing Your trailer I Dont think that I would carry 800kg.
Mike.
FollowupID: 722222

Follow Up By: brownie - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:36

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:36
"Manufacturer " ?? the make is shown on the licence as NOLIST - in otherwords homemade. There is no chassis number or VIN.
No need for flasher lights, and only 1 stop/tail light required due to its age (I have fitted normal lights for safety in todays traffic).
It seems to handle the weight quite well, and there is no worries stopping it behind the Landcruiser.
Just a bit of trivia, don't want to hijack the thread.
My last word on this

brownie

FollowupID: 722325

Follow Up By: brownie - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:38

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:38
"Manufacturer " ?? the make is shown on the licence as NOLIST - in otherwords homemade. There is no chassis number or VIN.
No need for flasher lights, and only 1 stop/tail light required due to its age (I have fitted normal lights for safety in todays traffic).
It seems to handle the weight quite well, and there is no worries stopping it behind the Landcruiser.
Just a bit of trivia, don't want to hijack the thread.
My last word on this

brownie

FollowupID: 722326

Reply By: Corrugate75 - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 07:08

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 07:08
G'day.
I've recently done this in SA with an older TrakShak camper. I went in to TransportSA and filled in all the paperwork (maybe 4pages) took a couple of photos for good measure and returned, and got some peanut who said no can't be done - you need this form.
Back the following day - no now you need a weigh note on this bit of paper. Back the following day - got someone else behind the counter and he said "Gee you've done way too much paper work here!", and passed it all staight away. I now have a GVM of 1500Kg.
It seems to me that a fair bit of what can and can't be done is not the law, but the guy behind the counter!
Hope that helps a bit!
AnswerID: 449805

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:27

Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 21:27
There are new camper trailers being sold without brakes and under 750kg tare on the internet at the moment, by the time a top is put on they would be up to 600kgs with out a thing inside. People need to be aware of this when buying. Some tow vehicles only allow a limit of 300kgs with out brakes, a 4wd Diahatsu is one I think
Charlie
AnswerID: 449913