Dedicated Van Power Outlet
Submitted: Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 11:02
Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA)
An electrician visited yesterday to quote on various projects including the location of a '15 amp' outlet to connect the van when required.
He recommended that a '20 amp' outlet should be installed.
I haven't spoke to him yet - will contact him after work this arvo, but does that sound normal to anyone - I just assumed 15 amp would have been adequate. Any thoughts please?
Regards - Phil
Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 12:07
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 12:07
Phil,
15a outlet will be fine as that is what everywhere else in Australia use.
Yes you could get your load above 15 amps with enough appliances being used at the one time. If you turn on the toaster, jug ,fridge, heater, pump and if you have one a water heater it will be far in excess of 20 amps.
Although not the correct thing to do, I use a 10a to 15a lead to power
mine while it is in the shed just to keep the battery charged.
I have always found it strange that a 15a plug has 10a active and negative pins that won't carry 15 amps continuously, the plugtop ends up melting from the heat generated at the connection between the plug and outlet.
Have a good one.
Reply By: ob - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:16
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:16
Phil,
I too would be interested to know the reasoning behind your sparky wanting to fit a 20 amp outlet. In my experience most caravan parks have 15 amp outlets as standard. I have in my travels come across a few that have only had 10 amp hence some people doing what is not exactly legal/safe and having a 10 to 15 amp adaption of some sort.
I would also be interested in what the physical difference is between 15 and 20 amp plugs and sockets. And could our resident comedians refrain from saying "5"..........lol
ob
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:25
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:25
The difference between 10, 25 and 20 amp connectors is the width of the earth pin.
See this link
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:54
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:54
I think 20amp have 3 big pins the same as the 15amp earth pin.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 17:14
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 17:14
Hi Phil
Only guessing; perhaps the electrician is looking to the future. Just as you can use a 10 amp plug in a 15 amp socket, the same should apply that you can use you 15 amp cord in a socket with a 20 amp fuse. Fitting more than you need would enable you to use large power tools (eg welder) at your
home if needed at a later date without added expense of yet another circuit. Just ask him why the recommendation, so you can make an informed decision.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 18:01
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 18:01
Perhaps what he meant was a 20A breaker in the meter box for the 15A outlet? This is the standard way to wire a single 15A outlet for a domestic 240V scenario.
Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 18:15
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 18:15
Thanks all for the responses - I agree with regard that it is probly better to overdoe it than just make it - will certainly post the sparky's reasoning when I have spoken with him.
I was mainly curious whether anyone else had come across the recommendation before.
Cheers all - regards, Phil
Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:50
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 19:50
Hi all - seems there has been some confusion in the relaying of the message, which is not uncommon in these matters, I'm sure everyone is familiar with that issue....
What the sparky was concerned about was whether the van had anything other than the standard 15amp outlet, (he believes some of the more recent vans are configured for 20amp - probably some of those 5th wheelers the size of a small mining
camp?)
Anyway - got the covers up and inspected the outlet and I definitely have 15amp and the project will proceed as planned.
I noted (for the first time) that the two non earth pins are indeed the same as the 10amp - as indicated by Rockape, as they say 'you learn something every day'.
I considered the prospect of 'the need for extra draw' as suggested by Motherhen, but reckon I will probly be downsize before upgrading anything, so will take a punt on 15 amp meeting our needs.
So there was nothing sinister in the 'proposed upgrade' - just making sure what we get will fit the bill.
Thanks again to all respondents - Happy travelling.
Regards - Phil
Reply By: Members Paul and Mel - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 20:13
Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 20:13
20A single phase plug/socket has all large pins like Shaker said, no need for that as a 15A socket with a quality lead will suffice. the inlet socket on the van is only 15A anyway so no need for complicating things.
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 00:30
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 00:30
Hi Phil
Pleased to hear it has been clarified. You are wise to have the lead put in, rather than mess around with less than perfect solutions which some people resort to.
Mh
Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 01:54
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 01:54
You're right there MH - been putting up with dodgy leads (
home modified) till now, but with grandkids about the place these days, everything needs to be upgraded, reinforced, tied down and recharged.... ;0))
Reply By: braggy - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 08:26
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 08:26
The cable size from circuit breaker to outlet for 15A and 20a would be the same (2.5mm), 15a and 20a c\b same price, 20a outlet abit dearer not much.
Pin configuration on plugs are to stop you putting larger loads on smaller outlets, not smaller loads on larger outlets, hence why 10a plug fits 15a outlet and 15a plug fits 20a outlet. Sparky was ensuring that you had something in reserve ( duty of care) for small extra cost.
Cheers Ken (elect contractor)
Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 14:51
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 14:51
Hi Phil - you meant a 15 amp inlet and not outlet - didn't you?
In the case of a 20 amp inlet you would need a special extension cord with a 20amp socket on one end and a 15amp plug on the other to be able to use it the standard caravan parks outlets. Not an ideal situation
Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 16:27
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 16:27
Hi Dennis - I guess what I really need is a 15 amp wall 'socket' to accept the van lead - my 'layman's perspective' was that the socket is an 'outlet' for the power to connect to my lead.
Regards - Phil
Follow Up By: JAX W - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 16:49
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 16:49
Hullo Phil
I wonder if you have given some thought to installing a double 15Amp power point or additional 15Amp power points?
If you need 15Amp power supply for things like air compressor, pressure cleaner, small welder etc, you will have them!
It won't cost as much to have the extras installed now compared to having your electrician come back later.
I ask the question as I have four (4) 15Amp double power points installed in the shed by our house, and find that very convenient. One has the caravan connected all the time. I have the air compressor, pressure cleaner and welder with 15Amp plugs.
Something for you to consider.
Regards, Jack
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:23
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:23
I assume you are joking Jack - if not thats a stupid comment
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:59
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:59
My apologies Jack, I misread that, and thought you were advocating putting double 15 amp power points on the caravan.
Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:20
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:20
Phil just keep it standard – That is put 15 amp inlet on your van.
Then you don’t need to get special leads made up.
The standard 15 amp extension leads suit the caravan parks sockets, are cheap and available everywhere as they are mass produced.
You won’t get a caravan park to accept a 20amp plug
Reply By: TLC 001 - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:38
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:38
Ladies and Gentlemen,
There is a lot to be considered in providing an adequate electricity supply for an appliance like a caravan.
When I provision for these, I follow the regulations and also provide the
home owner with options to save money. Often catering for additional power requirements at the same time is not double the cost of providing 1.
The power service installed, should be of the capacity as determined by the caravan manufacturer or the capacity of the caravan in feed plug. There is no need to go bigger as the limit will be that connection. I have seen 10A, 15A and 20A.
Usually power cable is 2.5mm in size, and this is used in most homes. If I install a 15A supply, there is always only 1 socket on that sub circuit, meaning that socket has its own circuit breaker in the switchboard or sub board. This circuit breaker is also a "safety switch" in my installations. The role of this circuit breaker is to protect the sub circuit cabling and outlet from over current, not the device that is plugged into the outlet. That is considered an appliance and separate regulations apply to protecting these in fault situations. However this is where the "safety switch" comes into play.
If the distance of the cable run is long, The size of the cable is increased for two reasons. Firstly the voltage drop that will occur, and secondly for the earth loop - to make sure the protective breaker trips if there is a short circuit within the right time. There are tables we used to determine the right size.
The method and path the cable takes for the sub circuit also has a bearing on its size. Again regulations and de-rating tables provide the electrician with the standards for this.
Two words of advice. Always use a licensed electrical contractor and ask to see his/her license, and always get a certificate of electrical safety for the work provided.
I would also suggest once the job is complete, have a cuppa with the sparky and ask him to give the van a one over. 1 in 2 of what I see have problems.
I hope this has helped the
forum understand a little more that its definitely not one size fits all.
Marcus
Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 20:59
Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 20:59
Thanks Marcus - rest assured there will be a cuppa or two in the lead up to the van inlet/outlet project and discussions on the why's and wherefores gone into.
Again - thanks to all contributors. I might add that the van only gets powered up for 24 hours prior to any trip - or 2 - 3 days if parked up for more than a couple of months. Power a'plenty in the carport or of the 3 phase in the shed for any other projects. The real pity is the van has to sit out the front cos the house sits across the whole block and the carport only coped with our wind-up Coromal before we switched to a full size van - so it has a separate driveway on t'other side.
Cheers - Phil