Gas consumption
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:47
TheMightyMoose
We normally don't so much cooking with gas preferring to use a campfire whenever we can. However there are occasions when using gas for cooking is necessary. So what I'm after is an idea of how long a small cylinder (1.25kg) is likely to last given it would used for cooking for 2 adults - let's say porridge in the morning and then steak/chicken etc at night, and boiling a bit of water for tea and coffee twice a day. I guess that would equate to say half hour or so of continuous use per day.
The stove is a Coleman - the one that can run off those small cylinders hanging off the side - but we have a hose for a normal cylinder as
well.
I'm hoping that we can get away with the small cylinder for emergency cooking on an upcoming trip. But I want to ensure we have enough gas in case of inclement weather.
Thanks in advance for any replies.
Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:19
Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:19
Ezzzzzyyy peeezzzzzzyyyyyyy, get 2 cylinders, then you'll have an emergency cylinder to back up the small cylinder
This is a very hard question, since you haven't actually gone on trip, a demo is in order, just
cook your porridge at
home using gas stove-whatever, then
cook your steaks and toast, its just like setting up your tent in daylight before trying to do it in the dark.
Don't forget to keep an eye on the time,keep note-book handy, could even use a stop-watch
We use those little gas-stoves from K-Mart, Big W 4 pack gas cylinders $5, stove $15-$17, no worries trying to find fuel on wet days or can't find fuel, also good for fire-bans too
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:48
Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:48
I don't think you can
cook outdoors with gas on TFB days.
Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 08:49
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 08:49
Shaker if it's a TFB it is usually too hot to
cook, just right for a salad.
Cheers, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:02
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:02
Do you have a rough estimate of how many hrs one of the pressure pack types of gas can last.On my next trip wood is going to be scarce so thought I might use one of those stoves to cut down on the weight.Would need to carry a large heavy bottle otherwise
Mary
Follow Up By: Arnold & - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 18:53
Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 18:53
Hi Mary
One can of Gas lasts 1 hr cooking flat out on high. tell you on the pack somewhere, just used it myself a few weeks ago.
Happy cooking
Judy
Follow Up By: Arnold & - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 18:54
Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 18:54
Hi Mary
One can of Gas lasts 1 hr cooking flat out on high. tell you on the pack somewhere, just used it myself a few weeks ago.
Happy cooking
Judy
Reply By: Member - Snoopy2 (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 23:33
Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 23:33
Hi The Mighty Moose,
Weigh the gas bottle then do your cooking for a day and then weigh the gas bottle again. Subtract one from the other and you will know how much gas you have used and therefore how long the gas bottle is likely to last.
Don't forget that cooking outside in a breeze will use more gas then cooking inside or a sheltered location so factor this in as
well. Also what the outside temperature is. Cooking in the snow/cooler months will use a lot more gas than cooking in the tropics/hotter months.
A spare gas bottle is the best idea, that way you can run one bottle down to empty without fear of running out.
Hope this helps,
Michael
Reply By: SDG - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 23:41
Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 23:41
My two kilo last between two and three weeks cooking. Two adults, and up to three kids.
This is with a two burner stove. Jackaroo I think the brand is.
Reply By: petengail - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:48
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:48
You can get a gauge I think the brand name is "gas mate" sold by any gas retailer and decent disposal stores. For a small bottle you would need a "step up valve"? - seen them in K Mart and have some in the van. When the gas mate gets into the red I have about a days consumption left on my 9kg bottles. Probably an expensive option on a small cylindeer but I use them on 9 and 4.5's
Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:48
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:48
G'day Moose
I was just having a clean up in my shed, and lo & behold, I came across the operating instructions for my 2 burner gas stove. Like you, we only use it when we have to, preferring
camp fire cooking for the most part.
The interesting part was that it has a 'specification' chart, which stated that it used 110 g/h PER BURNER. I presume that means 110 grams of lpg per hour, per burner.
Again assuming MOST gas stoves use a SIMILAR amount of gas, this could be a useful bit of info for you to calculate your gas usage. Ours is a 'Wild Country' brand, no regulator, and we take a 4kg bottle with us.
As stated above, weather conditions would vary your gas usage too, but at least it is some sort of guide.
Hope this is of some help.
Cheers, Dave