Submitted: Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 22:34
Josh
G'day!
I have been searching for a new tray and tray top canopy for my Hilux extra cab 2004 for the past few weeks.
I wanted to go with a tray from AMA4wd but the width was 10-20mm under size to suit a tray top canopy from flexiglass.
It looks like I'll be going with flexiglass for the lot and adding 'anti rattle latches' / 'over centre latches'.
I am keen to hear from anyone who has one or experience with one?
A major concern for me is keeping dust out, do they seal
well? Is there a trick to keep it from turning into a vacuum and sucking up dust?
Cheers!
Josh
Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 23:29
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 23:29
Hey Josh,
We sell and fit the flexiglass product. There trays are quite good, in fact i think they are one of the better mass produced trays on the market.
How ever, if your heart is set on an ama tray then do it. We have fitted f/glass tray top canopies to other branded trays up to 20mm narrower than a f/glass tray.
The base rail or the canopy is about 50mm wide so it does allow for a bit of leigh way.
As for dust proofing... F/glass will not even guaruntee the product to be water proof. They do have an optional roof vent which can face forward to pressurise the canopy, but the will obviously let dusty air in if your driving in dust.
Dan
Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:46
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:46
I swear by the forward facing vents. They most certainly keep out more dust than they let in.
I've had 3 flexiglass canopies and a couple of other brands as
well. Pricing is about right for performance. If you want to pay $3-4k you'll get a good one. Flexi is o.k., but I modify
mine when they are new to be fit for purpose.
1. if you get the h.d. rack system, drill the threaded rod and frame and insert a split pin otherwise the screws will self adjust, put weight in the canopy and crack it.
2. the pop rivet and hook arrangement that holds the canopy down will fail if using the racks. Upgrade it.
3. Buy a couple of lock tumblers and keep them in the glovebox - they also fail at the worst possible time.
They above is probably only relevent if touring on outback tracks. Flexiglass isn't alone here, it's just the nature of the design of glass canopies - I've had other brands do similar things, but I keep getting glass canopies.
Probably the most important thing is to get side opening windows. They are exxy but worth it.
Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:47
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:47
Just proof read it - sorry about the typos.
Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:49
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 06:49
p.s. pack everything 'assuming dust ingress', then you won't be upset when you get a little bit.
Reply By: Josh - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 11:38
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 11:38
Thank you both very much for your replies!
Ruffy-Dan
I think I should definitely get a good look at one see how they are mounted, who and where is you is your company located?
Gbc
Thanks for the handy info mate, I intend on using it to sleep in the back of and keep my gear out of the weather on trips. This is why getting on top of the dust issue is important to me.
You say to get a good one you need to drop 3-4k, I would rather not lol but what are the other 'brands' / 'companies' who make these higher end canopies?
Btw don't worry about tue typo's, I didnt notice and I'm just grateful to get the advice =) lol
Thanks again guys!
Josh
Follow Up By: Josh - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 20:00
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 20:00
I am sorry for my lack of english in my last post lol
I'm using an iPhone so I miss a few things =-\
Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 12:15
Sunday, Mar 06, 2011 at 12:15
You've got a drop side ute, so the canopy/ute setup will never be dust proof unless you totally seal it and remove some of it's functionality. With a positive pressure vent they are pretty damn good though. They even help with driving skills. One vehicle we had in a central oz trip thought travelling in the lead vehicle's dust was o.k. til they found out the back of the ute was full, as was his air cleaner. He learned, but not quick enough to placate his mrs.
There's a few exxy brands around like carryboy and others who import. They really are getting quite flash.
If I had a dropside I'd look seriously at something like the 3xm (flexiglass again) that deletes the dropsides. Much sturdier.
Follow Up By: Josh - Monday, Mar 07, 2011 at 20:16
Monday, Mar 07, 2011 at 20:16
Hey gbc
I would actually much prefer one that didnt utilise the dropsides!
I looked up 3XM, googled also and couldn't come up with anything so I'll give them a call hopefully tomorrow and quiz them out about it =)
Thanks again, you have been very helpful!
Josh