:-)))

AnswerID: 446512

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 09:52

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 09:52
Hi Mark,
If it's real fantastic it was worth writing in, it would appear on the face of it that common sense has prevailed. I don't know though, all seems a bit too easy, we'll have to wait and see.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 446514

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:17

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:17
6 to 12 months and the same old will rear its head again , the debate of bullbars ,need vs pedestrian vs steel vs alloy vs plastic will never end ,, noway does a vehicle that spends 99.9% of its time in the city as Mums taxi need a bullbar whereas a vehicle that spends 99.9% of its time off the asphalt definitly does.
AnswerID: 446519

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:20

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:20
No vehicle does either of those things Alloy, thats the problem

FollowupID: 718931

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:49

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:49
There would be many vehicles that would never go offroad, even some that would never touch gravel, on the other hand there would be station vehicles that would never go to town!
FollowupID: 718960

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:52

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:52
I think we need to give credit to 4wd action mag amongst others - they are claiming that over 25,000 of their members registered a protest.

AnswerID: 446520

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:58

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:58
Good to see the biggest environmental vandals (4wd Action) giving praise to them selves!
FollowupID: 718912

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:17

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:17
Thats a very argueable throw away line Olcoolone.

But on the bigger picture any group that can claim to muster 25,000 (think about that number) people signing up to a protest needs to be taken seriously.

Think about the infrastructure that requires and how it could apply to sites like this - because at the end of the day its about numbers .

FollowupID: 718914

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 15:33

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 15:33
All you have to do is watch their video's, what they did to the Hay River Track in the rain was unbelievable..... lets find a big mud puddly and make it BIGGER!

Yes it was good for them and they made sure everyone knew about their (i'll use the word "THEIR") win.

It's funny how other organisations and forums campaigned for the cause and they've faded into the unknown.

Nothing like blowing your own trumpet and patting yourself on the back.

As your well aware data can be manipulated to make it appear better for the stack holders, did they include people who got directed to there
FollowupID: 718921

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:34

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:34
4WD NSW & ACT & 4WD Aust. representing thousands of 4wd'ers put a huge effort into this fight, as they also did re the suspension mods pertaining to 50mm + lifts in NSW.

Point being is, that no ONE body can take credit for this win, if it proves to be a win, it was a concerted effort by many that got this result, make no mistake.

So lets keep up the "good fight" for any proposal of this nature.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 718926

Follow Up By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:02

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:02
The NSW Shooters and Fishers party also made representations in regard to this. Thanks to everyone that pitched in to get these silly ideas thrown into the bin for now. Labels are very easy to throw around, would have thought this forum might be a bit above that.
FollowupID: 718930

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:21

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:21
4wd Action turned up to ONE meeting, ARB and TJM and Ironman and Farmers Federation and a huge number of others did far more Robin. They claimed the win as theirs (4WDA) and that is total rubbish

FollowupID: 718932

Follow Up By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:03

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:03
In regards to Olcoolons post, what they did to the track, what defines the definition of a track and the rules of use, remember the tracks we use one day were mostly native bush , but one day some one came along and cut it down to make that track that we now use , and abit hippercritical I think, and remember alot of those tracks are now major highway's.
FollowupID: 718939

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:24

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:24
A lot of us supported it in other ways all right Bonz - but if their claim is correct then its massive , an example to all of us, and this is just what we all need and should support to the hilt.

Being able to mobilize large volumnes of votes is really all that is going to count
and this has been clearly demonstrated.

We have had a couple of protests here in Vic - but not for many years now , and last year when DSE called for interested parties to meet out in the bush over track closures the response was very weak - despite putting up posts here only a handful showed up for the NE forrests section - whereas the local ranger had nearly 200 show up from an alternate point of view.

So we don't get to live in a perfect world and we can all understand why a self promoting spin would be put on things but I think its good to re-state my first comment ->

"give credit to 4wd action mag amongst others"

FollowupID: 718941

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:51

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:51
yep Robin you're spot on, they did a good job, what I hated was their statement:

We've done it again!
Mammoth victory saves bullbars!
You've spoken and the government has listened.
Because over 25,000 members of our 4WD Action family has made the government take notice and convinced them to withdraw the proposed legislation against bullbars.

...ver 25000 of our 4WD Action family has made the Govt take notice ......

And now theyre going to fight for the tracks! NOW? Why not last year as you mentioned above .....

Sorry I am just a bit tetchy, next thing they'll claim Russell Crowe drives a patrol.....

FollowupID: 718946

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:51

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:51
I think Olcoolone has a valid point re 4WD Action and vandalism.
The Hay River video was a shocker and has certainly been the subject of many a discussion around the campfire since. The follow up one across the Simpson was just as bad. And yet they are banging on about track closures, with them providing prima facie evidence of why more should be closed - not the smartest thing to do.
I have been told they also visited Moroka Hut which is a no vehicle access hut and about which Parks Vic was not happy, not to mention trashing another lot of tracks in the High Country - doh!
As I said to them in a letter on Monday (which hasn't yet been acknowledged), they need to work out whether they are part of the solution, or part of the problem. Methinks the latter.
FollowupID: 718947

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:36

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:36
Harry there is this thing called "Tread Lightly" and preserve tracks, fauna and flora, there are no written rules to driving off road but when you've had heavy rain for a few days and you know the tracks are going to be nearly impassable and boggy why would you want to tackle them not forgetting driving off the track and getting not one but three vehicles bogged.... not once but on many occasional and then you had the guy leading in his Patrol shorty who said this is the most funny he's ever had and would suggest others to do the same thing.

Then you wonder why tracks are getting closed and or restricted!

I've given up buying their mag as it seems if you don't have a 6 inch lift, 37 inch tyres and a supercharged V8 and enjoy driving places where no man or woman should or are allowed to and finding big mud puddles and making into dams 8 foot deep and 50 meters long making it impassable for every one else ....... I'll stop raving.... blood pressure increasing.....

If it makes good reading and filming to most then I'm the odd one out.

What would happen if there was a mag put out with people drifting their cars on the road and not forgetting the video ....there would be an uproar and it would get pulled from the market.

But it's OK for a 4x4 mag to do it?

FollowupID: 718973

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 11:12

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 11:12
Good on you Olcoolone, I finally think we have found a point of common agreement. I no longer buy these mags given their caviler attitude toward who's following in their tracks, just stuffs it for those who actually appreciate tracks like the Hay River etc. Cheers
FollowupID: 719000

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 18:37

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 18:37
Count me as well - the guy with the SWB Patrol just can't sit still. Instead of waiting out the rain, he trashed some of Lindsay's tracks trying unsuccessfully to reach a bogged troopie; then he ran short on fuel, so trashed Lindsay's access road from Jervois to Batton Hill, then they splashed around in slow motion carving up Lindsay's track south to Lake Caroline.
The look on Lindsay's face said it all!!!

And yep the follow up videos of QAA Line being trashed, followed by the rich boys High Country muddy track trips.........I won't spend another cent on the 4wdAction Mags.

And to claim all teh credit for the bullbar victory was ridiculous. Sell magazines at all cost seems to be their motto.
FollowupID: 719036

Reply By: HGMonaro - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 11:52

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 11:52
"Ms King has now asked Department to consult with interested parties on the options for improving pedestrian safety."

so they'll attempt to ban iPods, phones and daydreaming!
AnswerID: 446524

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:59

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:59
No just self propelled vehicles from the road.
FollowupID: 718913

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:01

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:01
Maybe they should bring in a law that all clothes have built in air bags.

maybe pedestrians should be forced top wear helmets or be banned from leaving their house - that would keep them safe.

Me thinks there is too much 'Nannying' by pollies.

Just thought I'd stir the pot a bit.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 718917

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:56

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:56
The attitude to pedestrians is disturbing to say the least, what about drivers on the phone, listening to IPods or daydreaming?
FollowupID: 718962

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:38

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:38
Yeap ...... they should wear helmets or be banned from leaving their house too!
FollowupID: 718974

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:43

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:43
Hi Shaker

You said - what about drivers on the phone, listening to IPods or daydreaming?
If its against the law then they should cop all that's due.

It not saying lets bowl over pedestrians I'm saying banning bull bars isn't going to save pedestrians if they aren't on the ball or as you say - on the phone, listening to IPods or daydreaming?

FollowupID: 718975

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 18:55

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 18:55
Perhaps the Government could look at the REAL stats about pedestrians:
Blood alcohol levels of pedestrians - one third of those who are killed have a blood alcohol of greater than 0.05%. A pedestrian with a gutful of grog is an accident/death waiting to happen. We deal with drink/drivers....what about drunked pedestrians?

What about other vulnerable pedestrians that are over-represented - children and the elderly. What about the indestructable young males aged 12-17 who have the highest rate of pedestrian casualties?

Pedestrian Council of Australia has done a huge disservice to pedestrians by ignoring the real issues that affect pedestrian safety.....and highlighting unsubstantiated factors such as bullbars (there are no real life stats on bullbars) and trying to slam 4wds. Pedestrian Council needs to pull their head out of the sand.
FollowupID: 719041

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:18

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:18
Sanity for the time being.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 446531

Reply By: member - mazcan - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:18

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 14:18
hi all
to me i simply see the win in the right direction as a win for 4wd people power
i think they just keep testing the water
but like said and just like the topic of daylight saving that periodicly returns in states that keep rejecting it
this issue of the bullbar debacle will raise its uggly head again and again

until the opposition to them get there own way
so dont drop your gard or your bullbar always be prepared to put your bullbar in there and
keep pushing for our rights
i voted and i'm glad i was one of the 25000 that did
cheers barry
AnswerID: 446532

Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 15:47

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 15:47
Interesting to see olcoolone that you don't sign your name, nor are you a member.

By the way not everyone who signed was from 4WD Action. We certainly weren't as we were directed there from another forum.

I for one am glad that this did not come into being. Although we have not hit any animals for more than a decade I want the protection offered by a bullbar.

Having hit kamikaze emus and kangaroos I know how valuable a bullbar was for our safety, read still being able to drive the vehicle. Having hit a kangaroo at low speed in a standard sedan with no protection resulted on one dead kangaroo and one immovable car.

Bullbars and country driving, particularly remote country driving, go hand in hand.

Bruce and Di
AnswerID: 446536

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:39

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:39
Bruce,
please explain what not being a member and not signing a post has to do with reasonable discussion.
Colin.
FollowupID: 718928

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:27

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 18:27
Yep Col you are spot on mate, being a member doesnt make one more or less relevant here, and neither it should.

I think that Bruce was saying the olcoolone was sniping and ducking and that IS poor form.

FollowupID: 718934

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:14

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:14
Hi Bonz
"Quote" I think that Bruce was saying the olcoolone was sniping and ducking and that IS poor form.

olcoolone has been doing that for some time now, LOL
Colin
FollowupID: 718940

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:57

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:57
Using your name gives you credence. It doesn't mean you are hiding behind a non de plume.

Bruce and Di
FollowupID: 718963

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 00:08

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 00:08
Sorry Bruce, I don't follow your argument here. Are you suggesting that if you use your name (real or otherwise) and/or you are an Exploroz member that your posts somehow have more credibility than someone who uses a tag? Sounds preposterous to me but I'd be interested in your evidence or argument.
FollowupID: 718977

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 05:32

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 05:32
Common guys the discussion here is bull bars!

FollowupID: 718981

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 08:07

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 08:07
Bang up another thread re the name/non de plume, I reckon its worth a chat, in fact I am off to do that right now. Feel free to jump in.

FollowupID: 718989

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 22:16

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 22:16
Hell the truths out.... time to change my user name.

Bruce do a search on my user name and you'll see I use to sign my name, I don't care if people know who I am or not.

Jeezs I've just come back on this forum from about 8 months leave and I'm getting attacked already LOL ....

No Bruce for creditability can I have your Date of Birth, Drivers License Number and you Tax File Number .... Thanks in advance!
FollowupID: 719063

Reply By: dbish - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 16:57

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 16:57
Its not only people who drive 4WDs. Im only a humble Ford panelvan driver who voted in favor of my Bullbar, Idrive mainly in country areas with roos & emus, rarely in the City. (some pedestrian are abit like roos & emus)
AnswerID: 446540

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce Y (Vic) - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:03

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:03
Good on ya dbish, I was just reading through this forum discussion thinking that there is one group not getting a mention. there are a lot of two wheel drives with bull/roo bars, I had a VJ Valiant sedan, then an EB Falcon wagon and now an AU one tonner and all had/have bars. We live out of the hustle and bustle in a kangaroo prone area and each bar has paid for itself over and over, and yes we have also signed petitions for this cause.

FollowupID: 719216

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:03

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:03
All the Govt. vehicles out this way have bullbars.
Police, Ambulance, Fire Brigade, MP's, and the list goes on.

I wonder why that would be?

Could it be the Govts. 'duty of care' to keep the occupants safe in this environment?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 446541

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:35

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 17:35
Good point Dave.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 718927

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:18

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:18
There are two Pajeros stationed at Hornsby Police Station - 30km from Sydney CBD - they've always had Bullbars.

FollowupID: 718956

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:12

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 19:12
I've seen lots of pedestrians just walk off the path without hesitation and expect cars to stop.
I think pedestians should giveway to vehicles like they do in France...certainly keeps the traffic flowing

regards..........jeff
AnswerID: 446549

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:40

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:40
Generally they are either texting, talking on the phone, oblivious to the world while playing thumping music from an ipod, drunk or on drugs!! So whose is responsible for their welfare when they step of the curb?? Michael

FollowupID: 718958

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 10:04

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 10:04
Drivers do all of the above!
FollowupID: 718998

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 27, 2011 at 09:59

Sunday, Feb 27, 2011 at 09:59
Shaker!! I guess your are correct. A pedestrian is a motorist that has been lucky enough to find a parking space!!! :)) Michael

FollowupID: 719099

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:45

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:45
Seen in the Courier Mail last week Harry Screwball was getting up Pedestrians for wearing earphones while wandering on the road, now thats a change.
Duke
AnswerID: 446561

Follow Up By: Shaver - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 13:22

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 13:22
Just how much input did Scruby have in this Bull Bar non event ? He would have to be lurking around somewhere with his ideotic views on the subject.
FollowupID: 719007