Electronics and the Modern Car

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 15:35
ThreadID: 84381 Views:3691 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
A recent news article regarding Barnaby Joyce highlights the inherent weaknesses being built in to the modern motor vehicle, be it 4WD or sedan. The article indicates that a 200 Series Landcruiser was written off because of computer damage only. I would add the link here but this not about Barnaby Joyce, its about the future direction of the vehicle manufacturing industry.

There would have been water ingress to the cabin to add to the cost but from reading it, the engine did not suck in water.
This is a worry for me personally as I own a 200 Series, but I believe that all cars manufactured today have about the same level of electronics on board. I am interested in anybody's experiences of similar catastrophic failures.

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 15:45

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 15:45
this is why I spent $7K on my GQ patrol. All these new electronics concern me. There is an example that I know of thru a 4x4 magazine where a Nissan Patrol driver got his key wet during a creek crossing at Cape York. Vehicle couldn't start (not getting the right signals?) and had to pay $3K for a ferry trip with the car back to Townsville.

AnswerID: 445526

Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 12:49

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 12:49
He should have paid a $250-500 insurance excess. Most comprehensive insurance policies will cover lost, damaged or stolen keys. Certainly something to think about these days. Make sure are covered for such instances with insurance so atleast you can avoid the financial burden.

Dan
FollowupID: 717918

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:19

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:19
Bernie

I have a 2010 200TTD, 05 JEEP CRD KJ and 1997 75series Troopy.

SWMBO commandeered the JEEP because it suits her grandma/shopping trolley image and the 200 TTD is mine, mainly for towing the caravan and plonking 5 grand-kids into when necessary so that they are all seat belted in correctly.

I had a zillion and one electronic problems with the JEEP's four computers during the 3 year warranty period with all of them being human error in installation and programing etc etc. Now all sorted and fantastic. However I would be scared bleep to take it out of tow truck recovery range.

The 200 will never go off made roads and that is not only a fact, it's a that is that 'fait acompli'. A bit of gravel is OK, but nothing where there is water, mud etc etc. as I don't want to risk a B Joyce sceanario.

Now the Troopy is another matter entirely. I have hung onto it. modified the beejesus out of it, pay the insurance & Rego regardless whether I use it during the year or not (I do though) and attempt to flog it to death in the deserts, rivers, creeks & mountains.

It takes whatever I give it and always comes back for more. In view of this I intend to retain it until either I can't physically drive it anymore or I destroy it (not intentionally) roaming around the bush somewhere.

This is my solution to the problem of new 4WD's being absolute 'fairies' in proper off road situations.

I realise not everyone wants to have three vehicles saddled around their neck cost wise, however the other only other option is to rely on insurance/warranty coming to the party re damages/failures or just stop going off road.

Just as an aside SWMBO has decided she wants a new vehicle some time sooner rather than later and as it will be full of electronics and surrounded by plastic (thats another issue), I intend moving her away from the 4WD type small vehicles altogether.

DD

AnswerID: 445529

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:35

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:35
I’m with you DD

In 2006 we rebuilt a 1995 Defender 130 TDi300 for this precise reason, no computers controlling anything. Currently have the 1994 Defender 110 TDi200 in being rebuilt and complete overhaul, paint and trim.

I looked at it this way, sooner spend the money on rebuilding older vehicles to a high standard, capable of long distance remote travel and kitted out the way I want, rather than purchasing brand new with all the electronic gadgetry.

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 717797

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:49

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:49
Landy

I'll be doing the same with the Troopy when the time comes.

At least with these 'analogue vehicles' you have a chance of diagnosing the problem and fixing it.

I always wonder about the so called sphinafex, LPG bottle fires that happen from time to time in these new electronic 'plastic fantastics'.

DD
FollowupID: 717801

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:08

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:08
I agree with the philosophy of electronic-free vehicles for remote bush travel.
Even then, my 2002 Troopy's glow-plug control failed. I replaced it with a pushbutton..... now I'M in control!

FollowupID: 717803

Follow Up By: ob - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:18

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:18
When I bought the 1HD-FT engine to transplant into my aging 75 series the guy at the wreckers gave me this little black box and said I might need it to activate the heater element that does the same job as glow plugs. I asked him if all it did was turn on the air heater why couldn't I just use a push button. He smiled and said "Yeah I guess so....... just don't leave it on too long and anyway these engines start without it unless you are in sub zero temperatures"

ob
FollowupID: 717805

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:34

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:34
Gotta Love Ya 80.
1HD-T

No Stress there.
FollowupID: 717811

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 09:13

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 09:13
and dont i love reading threads like this, i am so glad i have what i have ...
But i NEED that 1HD-T and i keep missing them when they come up, hard to get now
FollowupID: 717882

Reply By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:20

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:20
It's not only cars! the Airbus has a few problems aswell.

Not to mention me 3 year old Plasma TV, My new replacment LCD TV, my DVR me LCD TV with CD, me Panasonic Video and our last computer ! all dying an early death due to electronics.

I'm buying electronic stuff with 7 year warranty these days to cover me losses.

AnswerID: 445530

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:44

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:44
Best of British luck to you dude. It's still a bitch though when what ever it is dies (always at a crucial point in time) and you have absolutely no idea what the cause is or how to fix it.
FollowupID: 717799

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:38

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:38
Most insurance companies wont insure a fridge if it's ten years old, yet they are happy to take your premium for the cover.
FollowupID: 717814

Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:49

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 16:49
I dearly hope someone addresses the elephant in the room on this thread tonight.
AnswerID: 445536

Follow Up By: Wilko - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:37

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:37
Sorry Bazooka,

Ive got no idea what you mean.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 717812

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 17:10

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 17:10
Wilko,

I'd guess that the "elephant" Bazooka refers to is the fact that manufacturers wouldn't be able to sell enough vehicles without all the electrics to make them viable.

After all, very few of these vehicles are ever going to go anywhere remote and a majority of buyers obviously want all the mod cons in their cars.

I could also be completely wrong (it has happened a couple of times before!).

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 717944

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:06

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:06
Look at the 4wd Wrecking sites. I have seen Patrols Hilux Cruisers and the rest old and new on there. Heaps of cars with Mandatory Writen Offs due to water. Wthout the details I would hazard a guess that if the car was taken in for repaire all would be good and back on the road. If claimed through insurance its a "Mandatory Write Off"
AnswerID: 445539

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:08

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:08
Electronics are not the only problem with a modern car. If you pick up a load of contaminated fuel phone for a tow truck and get ready for the $20,000 repair bill.

I trusted my old Troopy, I do not trust my 200 series to drive around the block.

AnswerID: 445540

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:26

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:26
Aw! thats a bit harsh on the 200 series.(LOL)

Know what you mean though. There is nothing worse than the yellow/orange check engine light and the vehicle either doing strange things or coming to a dead halt.
FollowupID: 717806

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:41

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 17:41
It is not just the 200 series, any of the new breed will give you problems.
The 200 series is probably better than most.
FollowupID: 717808

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:22

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:22
Our Troopy has had his fair share of issues. What 24 year old hasn't? A few years back when the engine was really crook we had to make the decision - replace Troopy with something more recent or do a complete engine rebuild, and while we are at it better do the gearbox..... etc etc. At about that time a friend's vehicle was arriving home from the Simpson on the back of a very expensive truck - some minor bit of silicon had to be replaced. In spite of Troopy's age, as his body was in good condition, we opted to rebuild the engine, and fully overhaul everything else that moves. We were encouraged in this by those whose views we respected; it is good proven simple technology.

A major consideration was the offer by the very capable people who do Troopy's major service work - "If you can't fix it yourself on the side of the road, ring us and we'll talk you through it". When we go bush we carry the manufacturer's workshop manuals and enough tools and spares to handle most jobs. We are both amateurs, but over time have acquired quite some experience so are reasonably able under the bonnet. Resolving mechanical issues can be character building but is good for team building too!

The more we hear about electronic dramas in recent vehicles the more pleased we are with our decision to rebuild rather than retire and replace.

John and Val

AnswerID: 445548

Reply By: Wilko - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:33

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:33
I personally don't like the electronics in modern 4wd's. I believe that if manufacturers made a poverty pack vehicle without all the modcons I'd get one.

Its why I'm hanging onto my rodeo, I know if it breaks down, Ive got half a chance of fixing it. My Pajero is full of electronics and its stopped me in my tracks a few times.

Once was cause of the particulate filter on the exhaust. It was blocked and I stopped.

I believe my Pajero is reliable, but I wouldn't trust it or any Modern 4x4 going off track (Where there isnt a road) in the deserts.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 445552

Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:57

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 18:57
Oh come on guy ....I just can't stop laughing!

The way you's are carrying on it seems any newish vehicle will come to a sudden stop as soon as you take it off road.

Same thing happened in the 90's when electronics were just coming more in depth in vehicles. what happens if I get a flat battery, what if it just stops, those computer thing are no good for banging around Blah Blah Blah.

Heard it with the truckies with there electronic engines in the late 80's ...what happens if this happens, 2 million kilometres on and original electronics.

Whats going to happen in the year 2000?....ahhh nothing.

You will find most insurance companies will write a vehicle off if it's been in water, WHY... the don't want the issues in 12 months time of the customer complaining this has failed electrically or mechanically, people forget diffs, gearboxes, engines, power steering, brakes and not forgetting corrosion.... so yes even your run for a million years dinosaurs will get written off, thats of course if you have comprehensive insurance.

There is no use justifying why you don't or can't have a newish vehicle and why your old ones are better so stop knocking the ones who can.

So I take it most of you's will not be driving in 10 years time?

I love a good fictional story keep it up guys.
AnswerID: 445555

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 19:17

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 19:17
Spot-on olcoolone, I remember when points were being replace with electronic ignition and carburettors with fuel injection. All the old timers were carrying on how one couldn't fix it by the side of the road. Well guess what, while they were right about not being able to fix on the side of the road, they virtually never failed, so they were not stuck on the side of the road to have to fix it in the first place!!!

As for flooding a vehicle, most insurance companies will right them off if stuck in water. A mates 4WD was stuck and even though he drove it home after it was recovered, the insurance company wrote it off as the brakes had been submerged in water and they wouldn't take the risk. This was a <1 year old GU patrol.

Biggest issue with any common rail vehicle these days is the quality of the fuel, far more chance of bad fuel IMHO than an electrical failure. Give me a modern vehicle with ABS and airbags any day, when you have had a family members life saved by these devices you will think again about how good the non-electronic vehicles really are.

FollowupID: 717823

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 19:50

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 19:50

G/Day, this is always going to be a concern with electronics, ....But if you stop and think about the number of vehicles on the road,state by state that are controlled by electronics then you would have to say the failure rate is a very small percentage really, Its the quality of the electronic components in 4wds, i think is the issue,and the way they are mounted and protected from vibration, dust and especially water, if they get this right then electronics are fine. I used to think the opposite but after operating earthmoving equipment thats experienced the change in the last ten years, and theres no better test than that for electrical stuff, i would have to say there was issues in the early days, but now most manufacturers have them pretty well bullet proof in the electrical &computer areas, they can't afford not too!, 4wd manufactures will get it right in time, they too have reputations to consider, Its things like the alternater set up on the 200s thats plain rediculous, but you can bet future models will have a modification,at the moment the common rail motors and fuel issues are probably the biggest worry,but in time with improved filtration systems etc,they will improve, ..This is all IMHO....LOL...Its just a pain in the...till they get it right

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 445557

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 21:37

Tuesday, Feb 15, 2011 at 21:37
I like to keep it simple. With my 80 series as long as I can get fuel to the pump, (regardless how many lumps the fuel has got in it) and I can turn the engine over it will start, provided I bypass the the only electric device, the fuel shut off valve.

No electrics needed here.

W B

AnswerID: 445577

Reply By: Shawsie - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 08:29

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 08:29
I and my mate in his 200 series gxl petrol did Cape York last year and went through every creek and every corrugation without a hitch. The Pascoe river was bonnet height & flowing and so was Nolans Brook, but we crossed without problem or water ingress. We took the chicken track around Gunshot which was sill-height mud and still no problem with the 200.
AnswerID: 445615

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 10:19

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 10:19
I understand you only used Barnaby's car as an example, but Landcruiser being a write off may be based more on the cost to the Government rather than a normally used vehicle.
I am just guessing, but I assume the $95 000 figure quoted was a recommended retail replacement price. The Government would probably get it a lot cheaper without taxes etc. The damaged vehicle could be sold for $40 000 or so, so to the insurance company, a replacement might only be worth more like $20 000.
If a temporary replacement vehicle was brought in for a few weeks, it may not be worth the drama in having the car repaired. After all, it is only taxpayers money.
This could be a reason to be wary of high tech vehicles, but the price tag is enough for me to not have to worry.
The above figures may be nowhere near correct, but maybe someone would know.
AnswerID: 445632

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 14:54

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2011 at 14:54
I think the $95000 is media hype to get public discussion on two things, first...what is a pollies doing driving around in a $95000 vehicle for and the second thing is about writing a $95000 vehicle off.

Remember there are a lot of people who think a pollie should be catching public transport and only earn $35000 a year!

If he was driving a $30000 Camry I don't think it would of had the same impact.

Insurance company's will more often write a vehicle off if it's been in a flood, stolen or been in a large crash.

They are better of selling the vehicle and paying the customer out instead of repairing it and accepting liability for future repairs, a vehicle in a flood would have to be fully gutted and every component checked, cleaned or replaced.

The sooner they can get a damaged vehicle as a liability off there books the better.

It doesn't matter if it's a 25 year old vehicle worth $5000 or a new vehicle worth $150000.

It's sensible business practice.
FollowupID: 717928