Submitted: Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 19:48
Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW
Good evening all
We are joining the caravanning side of camping soon, and one of my first considerations was what brake controller to get, as I have never needed one before.
My Jackaroo had been set up for touring and towing before I bought it, and had a Hayman Reece controller on board that didn't work, but as the car is 12 yrs old, I figured I would just replace it (the controller).
Research and questions.. result Tekonsha
This arvo, figured I better fit it, should only take a few hrs at best... hmmm, 8 hrs later, still cant figure out where to put it. Due to the orientation required for correct installation, everywhere I think would be a suitable location either bangs my knees, or makes my wife twist her leg awkwardly just to drive ... unsafe!
Anyone got any SENSIBLE ideas where I can stick it? lol I was considering the ashtray cavity, but this is too close to the UHF according to the instructions. I am at a loss. Any thoughts appreciated.
P.S. I fixed the Hayman Reece controller, a cut wire, so maybe, if it does it's job, the Tekonsha will get packed away till I upgrade the car.
Thanks for any input, Dave
Reply By: PradoMad - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 19:55
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 19:55
I was interested in the same unit and was thinking of installing it myself, however as it is a safety device and after some research, I went to my local auto electrician and got it all done and setup for $400.00. very happy with it.
JS
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:01
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:01
Hi Prado, I'm hearing you regarding safety, but my main problem is where to physically fit it.
The wiring installation is actually quite simple, but if I had any doubts about doing that correctly, I would do the same as you, take it to a pro. But he would still need to know where I want it placed...
Thanks, Dave
Reply By: Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:12
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:12
Hi Dave,
I had
mine mounted on top of the dash in the centre. Covered it with a bit of carpet on top of the dash mat, but left plenty of room for air. This kept the direct sun of it and it wasn't obvious to see. I have sold my Jack now or I would have sent a photo. All cabling run under dash mat also so it couldn't be seen and made it look tidy.
Nev
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:25
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:25
Hi Nev
This was one place I considered, but was worried about the heat factor. Maybe I am paranoid, as we have just gone through a couple of weeks of 40+ degrees here in the lower Hunter Valley NSW. I take it you had no problems with heat affecting it?
Thanks for the thought, I will think about that again.
Cheers, Dave
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:58
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:58
Dont know how much slope you have under dash beside steering column but thats where we mount them in a 100 ser.
You can mount them on an angle of up to 70deg.
Had it in the Patrol on l/h side of column but in the Cruiser its on the door side
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:32
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:32
G'day Graham
If I can mount the unit at 70 degrees, my problems are probably over. Nothing in the booklet says this, and the sketches suggest it should 'stick out' from the dash at 90 degrees. The note above the sketches says
1. The front of the P3 must be horizontal
2. The P3 must be parallel to the direction of travel.
The way the sketch shows the P3 correct in the direction of travel suggests mounting at 90 deg. but this wording is ambiguous.
70 degrees sounds good!
Thanks, Dave
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 22:13
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 22:13
thanks Graham, that would be great. Just went outside and fitted it against the dash, even 45 degrees gets me out of trouble!
Cheers, Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 22:32
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 22:32
Read the links and the answer at the bottom but will still do the
pic
Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 23:49
Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 23:49
My 2 bob,s worth says ditch the Tekonsha and go with the Hayman reece one.
The H/R is way better to use IMO.
Had a Tekonsha first up...took it out n used it for shotgun target practice!!!!
Installed a H/R and havent looked back.
HTH.
Cheers Keith
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 09:20
Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 09:20
Strange that, the Prodigy is the pick of most people.
Perhaps your sig line says it all LOL
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 07:21
Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 07:21
Dave,
This is not going to help with your current problem, but my research determined that a Prodigy was not going to fit my vehicle.
I decided on a
Redarc remote mount controller and couldn't be happier with it.
The only visible signs are the adjustment knob and status light both are which are installed in spare blant switch plates. The control unit is mounted way up under the dash close to the fire wall, on a bracket that also holds the GME UHF unit. This is also of a remote head design.
The redarc is not a pendulum style controller and works very effectively in any orientation.
Bill.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 09:46
Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 09:46
Here you go The packer is to allow me access to unclip the wiring if I have to remove the panel as I left wiring a bit short.
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 17:35
Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 17:35
G'day Graham
That set up will suit me fine, if it works for you, it will certainly work for me. Thanks for taking the time to show me. Thanks to all for comments and suggestions.
And I didn't really get told where to shove it...lol
Cheers and thanks, Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 18:15
Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 18:15
No worries Just note how the wiring clips in the back as its bloody hard to get off if you cant pull it out of the holder
I would leave the wiring much looser than I did so you can.