Toyota V8 diesel engine in LC70

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:08
ThreadID: 84129 Views:4945 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Can any one out there give a definitive answer to the above engine oil consumption problem.I am about to buy a 2007 low km vehicle and would like to know if the oil problem is fixable(assuming this particular vehicle has the problem) Thanks..John W3

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:19

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:19
The oil consumption in the 4.5 TD V8 was an issue with a seal in the scavenger pump.............Toyota fixed under warranty.............

not an issue and it is highly unlikrly that a 2007 vehicle would have not had this minor issue fixed..having said that some used oil and some did not

Ours did not / does not but whilst under warranty I told Mr Toyota that it did and had it attended to anyway....just in case it was late in developing the issue and outside of warranty

purchase with confidence as far as that issue is concerned.........mimor fix anyway....lots of posts on this issue if you use the search engine.......just ignore the comments from the non owners and posts about heresay and take notice of the owners of the vehicles

chhers
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 444275

Follow Up By: John W3 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:45

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:45
Thanks mate,heard lots of stories about faulty ring design etc,like you said , get the story from an owner..John W
FollowupID: 716386

Follow Up By: mike39 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 18:36

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 18:36
Certainly not an answer to your question.. but..
Last April fishing in the gulf we were camped next to a group with 3 v8 diesel toyota traybacks.

Having a yarn about them we heard about the variable oil consumption (they worked in the Qld. coal mines) but the major problem is when mine (salty) water gets into the valley between the cylinder banks then into the starter motor.
Evidently the starter is located at the back of the valley with not much drainage.

To replace the starter is nothing short of a major operation.

The day after we were talking about this, one of them went through a deeper bog hole and stuffed the alternator, which is nice and low almost under the block.

Fuel consumption was reported as "very average", they obviously travelled hard with heavy boats in tow.

Just a couple of comments for what its worth.
mike
FollowupID: 716465

Follow Up By: John W3 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 20:31

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 20:31
Thanks for that Mike,I did hear the V8 was hard on starters,probably explains why John W
FollowupID: 716471

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:37

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:37
John,

here is a post from a few days back on the same topic. Quite a few comments on the 2007 model in particular. My comments are there so I won't repeat myself here.

VDJ78/9 - oil useage thread

AnswerID: 444277

Follow Up By: John W3 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:05

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:05
Thanks Mick, John W
FollowupID: 716392

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:00

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:00
Perhaps put this post on LCOOL which is a specialist Toyota forum

You have to join for free but definitive info on all Toyota models

AnswerID: 444281

Reply By: Simon C - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:28

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:28
We purchased 2 x LC70 utes last year as service vehicles. 1 of them will use a full dipstick of oil before the 5000 km service that we do, and 1 other will hardely use a drop. Figure that one out. It does appear to also be a bit of hit and miss with this oil usage. We also have 4 x LC200's they they don't have any issues with oil usage.
AnswerID: 444283

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:32

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:32
Reports here and there suggest that gremlins with that V8 are all down to the particular variant in use in a particular model. The 200's have had significant oil issues while the simpler, less powerful variants in other vehicles much less so. BTW - saw a write up a couple of weeks back on a European only Prado with that V8 in it.
AnswerID: 444284

Reply By: Muntoo - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 03:10

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 03:10
Hi mate, i know of heaps of brand new cars that chew oil for a while.

Mates Ranger wasnt even registering oil after 3,000kms.

My BT50 was halfway down the stick at 7,000kms.

In Laws Nissan is same at 8,000kms.

Not saying they dont have a problem but just saying i wouldnt be too worried about the rumours. Mates work car is V8 trayback and he doesnt touch the oil between services.
AnswerID: 444368

Follow Up By: John W3 - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:41

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:41
Thanks mate...JW
FollowupID: 716505

Follow Up By: John W3 - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:48

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:48
Thanks mate...JW
FollowupID: 716508