D-Max single cab 4X4 to tow 2.9ton Caravan
Submitted: Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:00
Con_Qld
Just making an enquiry as to the possibility of the D-Max single cab being adequate to tow 2.9 ton caravan. I hear it is rated to tow to 3.0tons but would appreciate some advice from anyone who may have actually done it. Many Thanks
Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:37
Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:37
Con, I think the D-Max is a great vehicle, but less be honest, towing near 3 tonne with any of the late model 4WDs is asking a little to much. Some here will tell you that they tow 3 tonne with their Isuzu/Tritons/Navaras/BT 50s etc, but if you want to be pushed up the hills with B Double semis then go for it. Towing 3 tonne you should have a least 550 NM of torque.
Follow Up By: Danger Mouse - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:51
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:51
My understanding is that the tow weight on these modern utes is inclusive of weight in the tray. Therefore if you have 500kg in the tray for example, your effective tow weight is reduced to 2500kg. I know this is the case on the Holden Colorado, which is essentially the DMax.
Also, 2.9t ATM is very close to the max load. not much wriggle room.
DM
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:55
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:55
Look at the GCVM that will tell you the maximum weight the rig can be.
I think you are confusing the spread of weight with the ball weight which forms part of the load.
EG max payload 600kg Ball weight 240kg = allowable payload 360kg
That includes Fuel, you and Mum and anything else in the vehicle.
Doesnt reduce towed weight just the amount you can load in the tow vehicle
Doesnt leave much room for lunch.
The above weights are only hypothetical but relevant to any vehicle.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:38
Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:38
Not a very wise thing to do as you will kill it over time.
Is the van 2.9Tare or ATM.
You would be far better with a Cruiser which is rated to 3500kg.
Or a big motored Patrol.
Some will do it and reckon its Ok but I wouldnt like to have that much weight pushing me around in that type of vehicle.
Follow Up By: Con_Qld - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:58
Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:58
Thanks Bruce, Graham, for the replies. I have the standard 105 1hz and recently did the round towing the Crusader Manhattan. Sometimes without head wind, level road but a little incline, its ok. But going thru the hills outside
Perth to
Hyden, it was quite a job because the old 1hz just did not have enough power to get up. May consider turbo by AMMS. thanks again. best regards..Graham, you are up
Bribie Island?. Might come over to see your rig one day if its ok with you
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:57
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:57
Waste of money I reckon Neighbour has one, slower than a wet week in
Tully LOL
A Factory TD is the go and yes email me.
Reply By: On the Run - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:42
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:42
DONT LET THE TAIL WAG THE DOG
We have been on the road for 20 months full time and we have seen all too often the van and car upside down all the contents up and down the road.
When you ask what happened most say it was the wind or passing vehicles that caused it to sway and they lost control.....
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:46
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 09:46
That can happen with any rig if weight distribution is bad.
Some have no idea how to pack a rig.
Also setting up the brakes so that the van comes on slightly BEFORE the car can go a long way to stopping snaking.
As with inexperienced drivers when skidding the instinctive thing is hit the brakes.
VERY WRONG.
Reply By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 12:45
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 12:45
i met a guy in a
mooloolaba van park who had an auto dmax with a fifth wheeler hooked onto it, he loved it, he did say he fitted a chip to it but other than that was standard,he said it was 3 tonnes and had no dramas towing, there may be a fifth wheeler
forum you could ask this question on
being single or dual cab shouldnt matter as they have the same rating for towing,3000kgs braked
Reply By: Axle - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 14:09
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 14:09
G/Day Mate ,as stated the DMax is a good vehicle, But when it comes to towing, the safe bet is to make sure the tug is heavier than whats being towed.
Other wise go the fifth wheeler set up. My opinion only,