Is it worth re-vamping a 25yr old 2 way fridge??

we have an old Dometic RM 360 2 way fridge(240v & gas) in the caravan. It's just about at the end of it's tether. I've taken it out and bounced it , turned it and wacked it over the years ,just to get a bit more life out of it. But after a recent trip, it's time to get it looked at professionally.!
Just wondering if anyone has had one re built/ re gassed?? Or...is it better to bite the bullet and get a newy.?

cheers Unc

Reply By: Uncle-Laurie - Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 20:59

Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 20:59
I forgot to add that the freezer section still works a treat, cold as, but the fridge compartment is really struggling.!!
AnswerID: 443571

Reply By: Roughasguts - Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 21:02

Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 21:02
Hmm interesting if ther feeezer part works okay! How are the door seals? maybe the door seals are perished so that, compartment is useless.

AnswerID: 443572

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 21:04

Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 21:04
Thanks for the reply, the seals seem fine, the aluminium fins at the rear of the fridge compartment (inside) don't seem to get very cold though.
FollowupID: 715660

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 14:14

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 14:14
naaa thats common with them when there not working right

its actually the freezer that cools the fridge

iv e always found those fridges to be tempremental and at best marginal

- look at other alternatives
FollowupID: 715736

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 22:46

Sunday, Jan 30, 2011 at 22:46
Uncle Laurie, 25 years is not a bad run. You don't want it to fail on a trip. Get a new one and if that lasts you 25 years you have done well. If the old one plays up on a trip it can make the better half very upset.

AnswerID: 443590

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 07:33

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 07:33
Hi Unc,
We have a RM 360 in our 87 Jayco Swan.
I've just pulled it out and dropped it into the repairer to give it a service, our's was doing the same as yours over the Chritmas break. Had been working fine up till then. I replaced all the seals just over 12 months ago.
Couldn't get the Fridge to get below 10c, yet the freezer would freeze solid no problem at all.
I've also asked him to install a 12V 150w element so it can run off the batteries when traveling.
He said he would test it, and let me know before we spend too much money on it. I'm in no rush for it back, our next trip is at Easter.

Have you got a manual for yours? if not download one from here.
REFRIGERATOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE MANUAL
AnswerID: 443618

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 10:45

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 10:45
Hey Jon , thanks for the info. Would be keen to see how yours pans out after the service,

cheers Unc
FollowupID: 715715

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 11:52

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 11:52
No worries, I'll let you know in this thread or if this one gets archived because I haven't got it back quickly enough I'll start a new one referring to this one.

FollowupID: 715722

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 15:14

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 15:14
Hi again Unc,
When I get it back I will install a 12V fan as well.
I have a computer fan that I'll wire in with a switch.
Or you can buy a solar one from HERE
They're used to blow air across the fins at the rear and push the air off them.
FollowupID: 715742

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 18:37

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 18:37
Hi Jon, I've seen some of those fans , they look like they would help quite a bit. I've just put some hinges on our fridge flap on the outside of the van, so now I can open the back of the fridge right up to get some cooler air in. I've also lined the spare space on the sides with pink batts for better insulation.

keep us posted on yours,cheers Unc
FollowupID: 715756

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:21

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:21
Hi Unc,
Just got a phone call from Paul, Paul Windmill Caravan repairs South Grafton.
She's fixed, New 12V 150 Watt element installed, so I can travel with it holding temp. New Sight glass stick, I broke ours, Dohilt
It's working like a treat, He's had it running on 240V, for three day, Fridge temp, 2C, four days on gas 2C. I did drop it off to him about a fortnight ago.
He cleaned the Jet, cleaned the flute, he said there was crap in it, so maybe the flame was not the right shape and temp. Fig 23-24 in the pdf file I posted the link to earlier.
I pick it up next week.
Then I'll fit the 12v fan.
Hope this helps Unc.

FollowupID: 715996

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:03

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:03
Once again, thanks Jon for your info. I took the jet out of this one ages ago and cleaned it, but that was quite some time ago now. I think I'll give it another clean, it wont hurt. Might even check the gas line where it goes into the bottle and make sure there is no wasp nests in there. Had one in the mower muffler the other day and the mower wouldn't start.!!
The 12 v element would be a bonus too. Any ideas yet on what the whole service has cost?

thanks again mate. Unc
FollowupID: 716031

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:11

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:11
Hi Unc,
Does your have an external exhaust pipe, maybe a mud wasp has built in there, I found one in there last year, so now when not in use I stuff a piece of fly mesh in there to stop the buggers. I also carry with us a ziplock bag with an old tooth bush, a little sealed container with metho in it to clean where the flame is, I've been told that they need to cleaned if you've run the fridge on gas for a couple of weeks.
$255 all up. I'm figuring that's not bad, the 12v 150w element are about 80-90 bucks, depending on where you get them, Maybe $120 labour, don't know what a sight glass stick thingy would cost, maybe $30 or there abouts.
So I can live with that.
Paul serviced my Chescold 50lt Fridge/freezer about three or so years ago, that cost $400 for a service, new thermostat and new jet. A lot of people thought I was nuts spending that much on a Chescold that old. It works as good as new. now on all three 240/12 & gas.
Also have a 33lt 3 way finch fridge. Brilliant on 12v for day trips, work great on 240 for when we go to BBQ's, never ran it on gas. I guess I should one day.
I reckon the 3 way's are great, thats just my opinion.

FollowupID: 716049

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 05:33

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 05:33
hi Jon,
$255 sounds like a bargain, I'd even be happy with $400, bit less than a new fridge! anyway that will give me an idea, I'm going to ring our local repairer in the next week. the toothbrush idea is great, will give oyurs a tidy up this arvo when I get home from work. many thanks for the feedback Jon.

cheers Unc
FollowupID: 716060

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:14

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 06:14
No Worries Unc,
I hope you get it sorted and happy travels.

FollowupID: 716061

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 17:33

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 17:33
Hi Unc,
I picked up the fridge today.
Shelled out the 255 bucks.
Pau'ls fitted the 12V element, fitted second hand sight glass & shroud.
Tested all three, Gas/240/12V all is working.

I asked what the problem was, he didn't really have an answer, just said maybe 1, I didn't have it dead level, 2) maybe me picking it up and tilting it to get it out of the camper made the gases move about.
Sorry I'm not much help to you.

Tomorrows job, wire up the 12V to a toggle switch and run it through the fuse box, connect the gas. Then go about running it on all three to see how cold she gets.
Then fix a couple of tears in the fly screen, adjust the hand brake and we should be right for Levuka at Easter.

FollowupID: 717319