12v in line switches

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:27
ThreadID: 83840 Views:16800 Replies:10 FollowUps:20

I'm trying to find a 12v in line switch to use with some LED camp lights that I'm making up. I thought it would be easy to buy them, but my local auto shops don't have them, I've looked on Derek's ABR website, he doesn't stock them.

Does anybody know a good website or place to purchase a simple in line switch.

Thanks Jon

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:35

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:35
G'day Happy
I just had a look on Derek's site and found 12v switches HERE

Hope that is what you are after, otherwise, Jaycar carry all that sorta stuff.

Certainly recommend Derek though, bought a number of things from him, and always good to support site advertisers.

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 442784

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:46

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:46
If your only switching a low currentled light a 240 volt inline lamp switch will work fine.
Try your local hardware (Bunnings) or electrical retailer.

AnswerID: 442785

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:04

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:04
Be careful if you buy the Jayco ones that have a socket and a plug at the other end because they switch the ---- side not the +.

Found out to my cost.
AnswerID: 442786

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:16

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:16
Thanks for the tip

Jon
FollowupID: 714870

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:14

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:14
Googling "12 volt inline switch" produced this and others.

But as Lex said, you can use a 240 volt inline but I would rate it at no more than 5 amps on 12 volt.

AnswerID: 442787

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:18

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:18
Thanks for that Allan, it looks a good site.

Jon
FollowupID: 714873

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:23

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:23
I would rate it at 10 amps on 12 v Why downrate it Allan?

FollowupID: 714877

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:42

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:42
I was referring to Lex's 240V 10A switch and in my experience any switch rated for AC will only handle half its current rating on 12V DC. Just an educated guess really and possibly conservative. But gee, I dunno Bonz, you could be right.

FollowupID: 714885

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 11:41

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 11:41
I'd rate it even less Allan and even then it will have reduced life caused by sparking as the switch is opened particularly if switching an inductive load - not so bad switching (most) LEDs.

FollowupID: 714923

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 17:45

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 17:45
Robin, You are a smart cookie, but I dont understand how inductive load works on DC? Or why the switch would be derated on DC. I understand the AC goes thru a null (zero) on its 50Hz cycle, but I thought that was only used to advantage switching huge loads? Fill me in mate please??

FollowupID: 714971

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 21:06

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 21:06
Hello Bonz

As you probably guess it depends a bit on both current and voltage - the interesting effect is that the reversal of polarity with AC quenches the spark that would normally occur and as its a pretty uniform change is does a good job of putting the fire (spark out) hence much more power can be handled before destructive arcing can occur , in the absense of any other information a handy rule is to derate to about 1/5th i.e. 10amps for a switch becomes 2 amps DC.

Of course this is a rough and ready rule and if a switch is properly designed to handle sparking then almost equal current can be switched.

The voltage caused by opening the switch with a resistive load might be 12v, but as soon as an inductor (which holds/stores energy) is the load then as you open the switch then a thousand volts could be generated for an instant.

This 1000v spike could go anywhere depending on the design of the switch
if done right it doesn't do much damage but if not it could arc in any direction - hence you can't have a hard and fast rule.

Two other things to consider are
1/ So what if the switch fails ? - if its a non-critical application you can use the switch at higher currents.

2/ Intersting thing is that a slight arc can actually be benefical to a DC switch as it can clean the contacts from oxidizing (called a wetting current) - but thats only for those have have driven all the tracks and have spare time on their hands, so I'm never really going to understand that one properly.

FollowupID: 715003

Reply By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 12:41

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 12:41
hi htvls
yes i know what you are trying to buy i have been in the same predicament as you and still havent solved it the switches that fit onto the cable in a low profile manner without the switch lever sticking up to catch on everything

well it seems strange but you can buy several types of lead lights and workshop/trouble lamps/camping lights with the said inline switches on them

but it seems an almost impossible task to find them in a retail shop on the shelf somebody must make them but where ?????
i have a 2010 jaycar catalogue but- member graham -
has warned the jaycar one switches off the negative wire and leaves the positive live this seems rather strange tech

the only inline jaycar swt i can find is cat n/o-sk-0998 -24vdc-2amp comes fitted with 2.1mm/dc plug on a wire that comes out one end of the switch unit and you can plug another device in the other end of it
thats not really what you and i are looking for we want a switch unit that we can put our own wires into with built in rocker type slow profile switch
i have just thought of
the12voltshop.com.au
they might have them will do a search and get back to you
AnswerID: 442796

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:21

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:21
Thanks for your reply. Looks like Derek has solved our problem, just what I'm after.

Jon
FollowupID: 714875

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:22

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:22
The 240v inline ones ( which look remarkably like the 4x4 equip ones) will work but they are designed for indoor lamps and aren't moisture / water proof. I had some on some exterior LED lights and they only lasted about 10 nights of use before they all packed up from overnight condensation. I replaced them with These waterproof ones
AnswerID: 442800

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:22

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:22
A good tip, thanks

Jon
FollowupID: 714876

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:39

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:39
You can buy bedlamp cables with switches incorporated at any electrical wholesaler for about $5, and because they are part of the cable you have no stuffing around.

This is what I did with my home made 12V LED reading lights.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 442801

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 14:31

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 14:31
I have contacted one of my suppliers and can access weather proof switches.

I will request a sample and if acceptable will TNT a batch asap.

AnswerID: 442803

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:18

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:18
Hey, well done Derek.

FollowupID: 714825

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:34

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:34
I would be interested in a few of those.
FollowupID: 714827

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:50

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 15:50

I asked for a photo of the inside and here it is.

I think they would suit this application just fine, I will try get some asap before the factories close for their 2 week holiday next week.

FollowupID: 714829

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:22

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:22
hi derek
what amp rating do they have
i found some on ebay with 12v 15amp rating
FollowupID: 714836

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:36

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:36
Do you have a ebay item number for me ?

These are 6A250V
FollowupID: 714838

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 17:19

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 17:19
I have placed an order with the factory and will have 1000 switches here next week before they close for their spring festival.

Derek from ABR
FollowupID: 714844

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 19:35

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 19:35
What great service!!!
FollowupID: 714860

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:15

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:15
That's great service Derek, the switch is just what I'm looking for. I'll recheck your website next week and place an order if you have them in by then.

Thank you very much for going to that trouble for me.

Regards Jon
FollowupID: 714868

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:24

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:24
No problem, I get asked quite often for these switches. People actually ask if I stock the old Torpedo light switches as a spare part. So now I can offer a solution.

Derek

FollowupID: 714878

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:12

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:12
Jon
I used a "lamp switch", from our local lighting shop, to give me the option of placing a switch anywhere on my LED Torpedo switch.
They are a "dime a dozen"

I see Derek from Sidewinder.com has a solution as well.

AnswerID: 442865

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 17:57

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 17:57
Send me a dozen mate, Dime will follow

FollowupID: 714973

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 19:22

Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 19:22
These switches have arrived and are now a stock item, I hope it solves all the in-line switch problems for you.

In-Line-Switch

Derek from ABR
AnswerID: 443706

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 08:00

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 08:00
Thanks Derek, Just received my 5 units I ordered and they are exactly what I have been looking for for a long time.
Today's job is replacing the old lamp style inline switches on all my camp lights. They really weren't up to the job when they got moist.
FollowupID: 718987