Dmax warranty
Submitted: Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 13:40
Noddy & the blonde
I have just puchased a Dmax ute (6/1/2011) and found that the 2 air conditioner mounting bolts were corroded from new. this has also caused corrosion of the top of the air con compressor. i have contacted JMC and have been told that they will replace the bolts and blow off the corrosion on the compressor. As this is my first new vehicle since 1974 is this correct. I thought that the compressor should be replaced as i would expect the compressor to be in NEW condition when I bought the vehicle.
Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 16:25
Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 16:25
Tell'em to replace it or you go to consumer affairs.
Follow Up By: DOEY- Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 17:00
Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 17:00
i agree. new is NEW. not rusted and repaired!
thats a bit rough- i wonder what caused the rust? just air con condensation???
Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 21:12
Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 21:12
from travelling on a ship , and then degreasing with ct20
Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 21:35
Thursday, Jan 20, 2011 at 21:35
G'day Noddy,
One of the replies pretty much gives you the answer ( ie sea freight from point of manufacture and cleaning). I think you'll find all vehicle warranties are the same, in that they provide cover for' faulty workmanship or materials at time of manufacture' and a few other clauses around this, but this statement is the core of the manufacturers warranty. So what happens during shipping and vehicle preparation has nothing to do with the manufacturing process so by definition is not covered by warranty. Consumer Affairs etc won't help in such cases.
My thought would be to get the bolts replaced and clean around the mounting point, if the Dealer will do this great, and keep an eye on it, ie seal or coat it with 'grease' etc.
There will possibly be lots of
views counter to this but read the warranty statement and be guided by this. Of course the selling Dealer has the opportunity to assist and it seems this is what is being offerred.
Hope this helps your deliberations.
Rob.
Follow Up By: Noddy & the blonde - Friday, Jan 21, 2011 at 10:40
Friday, Jan 21, 2011 at 10:40
Hi Robnjane
Thanks for your comments. I have been back to JMC and they agree that the corrosion was probably caused by salt water before the vehicle arrived in Australia. Also, after reading the legislation covering motor vehicle traders and their warranties, it states that the dealer must repair or replace to a standard that is corresponding to the vehicles age. As I had only done about 300km when I reported the problem they are going back to the manufacturer to try and get the compressor housing replaced.
I guess I will have t wait and see what transpires, but if I am not satisfied with the outcome I can still go through the Motor Vehicle Traders Association or Consumer Affairs.
I will post the outcome as this sort of problem will undoubtedly affect other people at some time.
Reply By: Noddy & the blonde - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2011 at 17:43
Tuesday, Jan 25, 2011 at 17:43
I have finally heard back from the dealer and they have been instructed by Isuzu to replace the air con compressor.
Hooray, one for the little people, and my confidence restored in the Dmax and the warranty procedure.
thanks to all that commented.