Moomba, SA

G'day everyone,

An opportunity has come my way for me to work at Moomba, but as i've never been up that way i'm after some information on the place. I've done a Google search on the place, but it hasn't really answered my questions, so i thought i'd hand it over to you guys, so here goes.

1) Is there a shop/supermarket/general store there sufficient enough to provide food for a week or 2?

2) What else is there, apart from the township & airport?

Any help will be appreciated

Cheers, Brad

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 21:23

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 21:23
Hi Brad,
if you are going to work for Santos or the subsiduaries, I would contact them as they will probably have a full briefing document avilable for your use, that will tell you everything you need to know.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 438816

Follow Up By: Brad (S.A.) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:50

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:50
Thanks Fred, I actually have an interview tomorrow, so I'll ask all the necessary questions

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 710611

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:02

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:02
Hi Brad

I am sorry with the following regarding Moomba, it may not be what you want to hear. It is not a town, basicly a very big work camp.

There is no supermarket or general store, just a gigantic mess area. You can not compare it to say Roxby Downs where that is a complete town.

Depending on who you will be employed by, there are 2 forms of living/sleeping areas.

The SANTOS boys have motel type accommodation, very small single room with single bed, etc. All meals are in the mess.

Contractors accommodation is in the Stratco type huts with meals again in the mess area.

Most situations it is fly in, fly out and no private vehicles allowed. There is one main security gate in and is closed to the general public.

There are very strict employment conditions in place and if you break them, it is next plane out, no questions asked.

Another thing also is that not all contractors accommodation is based on site at Moomba, with many satellite camps throughout the area.

AnswerID: 438819

Follow Up By: Brad (S.A.) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:58

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 22:58
Thanks Stephen, i was hoping you'd come along with a wealth of information :-) That certainly covers alot of bases.

Looks like i've got alot of thinking to do over the next few weeks.

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 710613

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:06

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 23:06
Hi Brad
We first went through the place about 16 years ago. Our son worked up there for about 6 months before being transferred to the NT.

All the best with your interview.

FollowupID: 710616

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 12:46

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 12:46
Brad, sounds like a perfect place to be. Out in the desert, no mobile phones to break ya chops, meals all cooked, all the facilities you need and I'm sure the $$$ are good.

I can't think of anything worse than having to go shopping if you don't need to.

Best of luck with the job.... I know 3 people who work out there and they love it.

Fab.
FollowupID: 710666

Follow Up By: Member - Leon A (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:46

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 21:46
You get Telstra mobile service.

A few of the guys called in to Innamincka last year while we were there.

Good luck with the job mate.
FollowupID: 710715

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 07:14

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 07:14
"What else is there, apart from the township & airport? "

Flies, millions of flies.
And camel brown coloured dirt.
salt bush.
AnswerID: 438845

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 08:44

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 08:44
You only go there to work. There is a bar where you can buy smokes personal things like deodorant and stuff. There is also a servo with some stuff but they feed you. Fi/Fo you are limited in what you can take. Couple of years ago we struggled with getting our tools and engle fridge out of there. But remember if you take the job on you are only there to work. Some blokes get there thinking its a huge party or they miss their missus and cant handle it. Some that have worked in these places for years love the isolation. Just two different personalities. Check to see if your job includes wet days. The Cooper is coming up again. Good luck.
AnswerID: 438851

Reply By: P and JM - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:03

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:03
Hi Brad,

Hope your interview was a success for you. Type Moomba gas fields into google and you have it all. cheers P&J
AnswerID: 438891

Follow Up By: P and JM - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:06

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2010 at 17:06
Click on Moomba in my reply above and you will get the info and photos from this site as well. Cheers P&J
FollowupID: 710683