where to stay between Scone and Broken Hill?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 17:32
ThreadID: 80473 Views:3141 Replies:6 FollowUps:2

Related Pages

G'day all

We are going to Broken Hill in early September and I am tossing up between a short first day,,, Scone to Nyngan, or going on to Cobar and make to even days.

My only concern is the standard of the caravan park and the locals at Cobar.

Last time I went through was in 1987 and did not feel comfortable in the town. Maybe I was a bit senstive in those days.

Your thoughts and suggestions please.

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 18:21

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 18:21
No worries about Cobar caravan park. Very busy the last few weeks when we were through there and stayed. If you can get there a bit earlier and get a spot on the Broken Hill side of the park it is a lot quieter. The town side of the park is near a very busy truck servo and the football club.
Cheers, Sally
AnswerID: 425991

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:24

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:24
Cobar is absolutely no problem. I think you are thinking of Wilcannia. It is a different story. We camped between Wilcannia and Broken Hill.
Nyngan on the Cobar Raod was also very good.
DW
FollowupID: 696556

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:27

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:27
Evening BooBoo

I'll second the comment re the caravan park just around the corner at Nyngan on the Barrier H'way. Stayed there last year - ppl's friendly, facilities good. Rained at night but we were on hols so who cares.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 426002

Reply By: Member - bill j (VIC) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:09

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:09
Gday BooBoo

We've stayed at Willcania last year no problems van park on the river

AnswerID: 426014

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 22:23

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 22:23
Thanks for the help everyone,, it is reallly appreciated.

We are now looking forward to the flower display and everthing else the area has to offer, including Tibooburra and White Cliffs.

AnswerID: 426029

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 12:16

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 12:16
Boo Boo, the Riverside Park on the Cobar side of Nyngan is operated by a friend of ours. Very good, mate, with resident ducks, emus, kangaroos, kookaburras etc (mini zoo), and a good distance off the Highway, and right out of town, with Bogan River frontage.

Fred.
FollowupID: 696628

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 11:45

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 11:45
Never stayed at Nyngan but hte park there does look nice and is in a great location.

The CV Park in Cobar is very good. As others have said it can get a bit noisy if you are close to the servo/truckstop, but it has never kept me awake.

The owners/managers are wonderful people. My son left a much loved baseball cap there years ago. We rang looking for it but they could not find it. We called in on our next trip through and they let us have look around, but still no luck. They took our name and address but I really did not expect to get it back. My son was despondant but accepted that it was gone. Many months later a package arrived in the mail. It was addressed to my son but we could no work out what it might be, we had forgotten about the cap. The delight on his face when he pulled the battered old cap from the envelope was fantastic. I wish the park owners could have been there to see it.

On our next trip through Cobar he made us stop so he could go in and thank them. On special occasions he still wears that cap.

If it was up to me you would stay in Cobar. To help you plan and maybe persuade you, Nyngan to Broken Hill is still 6 hours drive and Cobar to Broken Hill is over 4 hours. There is also a mining museum in Cobar that I have been told is worth a visit.

AnswerID: 426062

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:11

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:11
Well,,, after a lot of discussion last night we have decided to stay in Cobar.

I was quite surprised when I did a bit of a search on the town to find that it has a population of 7000 and has a large shopping centre and best of all a nice golf and bowling club.

Thanks for all your input it is appreciated.

While we are at Broken Hill we have 2 weekends to look around. We realise that it is no where near enough, but it will give us a bit of a taste and remind us of what we saw in 1987.

The two weekends will be for Tibooburra and White cliffs.

Then its off to Adelaide for a few days then to Bunbury for 6 weeks work for the bride.

AnswerID: 426083