Who is the latest mob where you get a permit for Roaring Meg Fall

I have just contacted five different Government mobs trying to get access permits to the Roaring Meg Falls. One mob stressed that it was closed at the moment and I would not get permission. I said several times that we were not going for weeks yet. Nope no change. Just wanted to tell me the track was closed. Even went away to talk to her supervisor and came back with the same story. Its closed at the moment. I am not going for weeks. When it is open who di I contact. But its closed at the moment. Didn''t even seem to register that I was asking about the RM falls. DUUUUUUH "LOSER"

So can someone answer me this. Remember there appears to be a territory and job security war on at the moment up there. Worried about a return attack by the Blues!!!!

Who as of now, June 2010, is the CURRENT authority that can grant day only access to both
A.CREB track, and
B.Roaring Meg Falls.

The internet does not show when the data it displays was or is vaild and up to date.

I do know I need to contact the Wujal Wujal mob but I have been told we need local government permission as well. Their contact details would be handy.

I should be used to this as I have lived and worked in Canberra for nearly 30 years.

Help

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 13:05

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 13:05
Thanks to the mod squad but the data in that link is way out of date. They had a Departmental role and name change and are still trying to get it right themselves.

AnswerID: 421294

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:32

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:32
Phil,

If the info is out of date and you eventually get the correct info can you post it on here so we all can find out the correct info. Maybe the EO folk could then update the info on the site.
It is possible that they didn't even know it was out of date until you posted about the issues you were having :)

Hope you get it sorted.

FollowupID: 691653

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:50

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:50
That is the problem with any info you find on the internet. The validity should always be taken with a grain of salt.

The best I have at the moment is that I am to submit some forms coming in the mail to the Atherton office of DERM. This I will do but it would be nice to get an acknowledgement of "Yes we do the access" etc etc. Know what I mean. Its all hairy fairy as you get passed around. Funny how DERM hesitatingly said they think they do. So we will submit the forms and see what happens. I got a copy from the internet and have now found out they are out of date and that's why some are being posted to me. Even the online forms are wrong. Grrrrr

I will certainly send the info to the mod squad on return. That way I can also test the system and see if it is correct. I am not going to put up data that may (just may) be wrong.

Bureaucracy !!!!!

Catchya
FollowupID: 691661

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 14:53

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 14:53
When we went there last year, we went to the DPI office in Mossman (the last block on the left of the main street heading north). From them you get a permit to traverse the CREB track and they also give you the contact number to ring at Wujal Wujal for entry to the falls.

Its not a permit as such but the call is required before going into the falls..
AnswerID: 421309

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:00

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:00
DPI does not have anything to do with it now. They told me to call someone else. I am not saying who, as it was wrong and it was just part of the run-around. Okay!

Thanks heaps anyway.

FollowupID: 691644

Reply By: Cruiser .- Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:08

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:08
Phil,

According to the EO site, this is the info. How up to date it is, I don't know.

Permits are not required to traverse the Wet Tropics Section of the CREB Track, although a permit is needed for Roaring Meg Falls. If you are considering visiting Roaring Meg Falls, then a permit is required from the Queensland Environmental Protection Agency in Atherton. To obtain a permit, please phone: (07) 4091 1844. More information on permits to travel to Roaring Meg Falls can be obtained by calling National Parks and Wildlife - Mossman on: (07) 4098 2188 or fax (07) 4091 3281.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 421312

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:56

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 15:56
Hi Cruiser

The EPA do not control access to the CREB track They said try the NPWS. and then it starts. I have some forms coming that are supposed to go to the Atherton DERM mob. I will try that. Still time.

How recent is your info?

All the departments that have anything to do with the environment, parks etc changed names, merged or disappeared or their duty statements changed and that seems to be just this year.

FollowupID: 691663

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 16:02

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 16:02
Sorry. I missed that you got the info from the EO site. Thats where the phone trail started. I actually tried it. And around and around and around I went.

If what I do works I will give the info to EO and they can update the EO site. But only when I know it is correct and do not run into a problem. It was easier getting to okay to go through all the indigineous areas. As you gather we are not just going to the tip and back. Trying to keep off the development road as much as possible. Put a winch in the car and got some mud chains as an extra just for this trip. The sons are doing the same to their cars. We have access to just about every nook and cranny except the CREB and RMG. Even some private lands from the Mrs station boss (the real management) as well. The CREB is only a small part but its history isn't it!

Thanks for digging the info out. Appreciated.

FollowupID: 691664

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 16:05

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 16:05
Phil,

NPWS and the EPA is now called DERM in QLD hehehehe

They seem to change their names as quickly as nsw changes their footy teams ;)

That is probably why there is so much confusion between the governing bodies as they have all been amalgamated into the one department.

FollowupID: 691665

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:49

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:49
Spot on mate. That was obvious. And no doubt still going on the original department data. ???????
FollowupID: 691685

Reply By: Glenndini - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:58

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:58
This Draft Environmental Management Plan (March 2010) indicates that the responsibility for the CREB track is being transferred to the Cairns Regional Council.

In the past few days I've read reports varying from "it's closed until October" to "we did it last week and it was dry and dusty".

If anybody gets to the bottom of this please post results here.
AnswerID: 421336

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:05

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:05
Here's a link to the Draft Environmental Management Plan in case anyone's interested.

http://www.cairns.qld.gov.au/content/communityEngagement/Files/CrekTrackDLMP.pdf.

FollowupID: 691688

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:57

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:57
Thanks Glen.

Quite bad grammar in that document. It will keep the legal eagles busy if they release it as is.

I will try them again. Thats where the person in the inital post worked. Lets hope we a different person this time.

FollowupID: 691696

Reply By: Member - Glenn F (QLD) - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 20:17

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 20:17
I just got a permit to roaring meg falls 2 days ago, handled all by email.

Contact
Fay Adams
Administration Officer - Daintree
Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service
Ph: (07) 4098 2188
Fax: (07) 4098 2279
E-mail: fay.adams@derm.qld.gov.au
Visit us online at www.derm.qld.gov.au

Glenn

PS: Also spoke with Cairns Regional Council as they are definitely the ones who have the gate keys to open the CREB track. They advised they would not be opening the track until at least September.
AnswerID: 421352

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:04

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:04
AAAAHHHHH They told me today to talk to someone else. I cant recall who now, it was a mess.

September! I was told late July or Early August myself.

Oh well. We will wait and see what the gods bring us.

Tnx

FollowupID: 691722

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:21

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:21
Why is it that if you want to go anywhere in Australia except the local supermarket some instrumentality has to be approached for a permit?
I'm very glad I got to see a lot of Oz before this bureaucratic garbage started.

Hopping off soapbox now and reaching for my medication

AnswerID: 421363

Reply By: Polaris - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 23:25

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 23:25
PLEASE STOP AND READ!
Hello all, my name is Danielle Oertel. I would like to start with being very clear that I am responding via my dad's account after he alerted me to this thread tonight. In this thread I will attempt to clear up any misconceptions being discussed and provide you all with the current advice that I have provided to Phil this week (he's waiting for my parcel). I am providing this advice personally and not as a representative of DERM but I will need to draw upon my knowledge as the Customer Service Coordinator for the Dept of Environment & Resource Management (DERM) offices in Cairns, Atherton and Mareeba. Please excuse me if my reply sound "governmenty", it's difficult not to as it is my own personal experience.

Just some background information first...with the last Queensland State Election the department of Natural Resources & Water (NRW) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) including QPWS were integrated, this occur in March 2009. In December 2009, the Cairns NRW Customer Service Centre (level 3) and the EPA/QPWS Reef n Rainforest Information Centre (previously located on the ground flr) at 5 b Sheridan Street, Cairns, integrated to form the first fully integrated DERM Customer Service Centre in Queensland. This presented some extreme challenges for my team as we have and are still learning a whole government agencies business. In May 2010 the Atherton office transitioned across as an integrated centre also and delivers QPWS & Environmental Services products & services amongst many other services such as camping bookings, wildlife enquiries, etc.

Now onto the issue at hand...the CREB Track & Roaring Meg Falls...it is my understanding that yes, Cairns Regional Council are the governing authority to contact in relation to access to the CREB track, I believe this has only changed quite recently and was surprised myself to find out this information. I contacted CRC to confirm this. I was advised, that the track was having some final work completed and that it was expected to reopen in about 2 weeks. Correct me if I'm wrong Phil this is from memory, is this the information that I provided to you along with the contact phone number of 40443044?

Roaring Meg Falls camping area is located within a Timber Reserve therefore a Permit to Camp is required from DERM. These permits can be obtained from the Cairns & Atherton offices, please contact 131304 and ask to be transferred to the Atherton Mabel Street office. Once the permit has been completed it can be...
faxed (I'll post this next week),
posted PO Box 210, Atherton Q 4883
or emailed customerservicecentreatherton@derm.qld.gov.au
or in person at 25 Mabel Street, Atherton for processing. These instructions are on the application form. A permit will be issued and forwarded back to you with the contact details to for you to apply for permission to TRAVERSE the traditional land owners property (Wujal Wujal).

PLEASE NOTE Faye is NOT the contact for these permits any longer. ALL permits in relation to Bush Camping at Roaring Meg Falls will be processed in the Atherton office only, regardless of whether you visit the Cairns Business Centre or the QPWS office in Mossman.

I will, on Monday seek advice about the number of camp sites available at Roaring Meg Falls, as there are restrictions and any further information that passes my way and will post this ASAP.

If anyone is travelling to Cape York please be aware of alcohol restrictions, this is best googled and be CROC aware.

I ask for you patience when contacting any of the offices as my team is still in training, we are only human after all. Thanks for your time and I hope this has cleared up a your questions.

Happy Travelling
Danielle
AnswerID: 421379

Follow Up By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:18

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:18
Wonderfull information. Thanks very much.
FollowupID: 691746

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:29

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:29
Thanks for ALL your help Daniel.

Poor Fay. She must be tearing her hair out by now. First she isn't and then she is and now she isn't. I started this thread this week before talking to you. I only had to wait one more phone call. I hope all is well at the workplace.

Thanks to your Dad also.

Cheers and have a good weekend.

FollowupID: 691748

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:32

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 07:32
Thanks Danielle for the information, may make for a couple less phone calls for all concerned :)

FollowupID: 691749

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 08:03

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 08:03
Danielle

To answer your question:

Yes you are correct. Excellent information. Good post. Thanks.

Is it too premature to get the data on EO brought up to date with what you told me?

FollowupID: 691752

Follow Up By: Member - Salt grinder - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 23:58

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 23:58
I have just returned to Sydney today after 4 weeks up on the Cape . . . . top to bottom. A great trip and we had access to all roads except some noted as "Private".

To complete the trip we had planned to finish on the CREB track and spent an hour at Laura phoning and checking the above authorities at Cairns and Atherton (amongst others) who gave us the same precise information applicable at that time ie. 10/6/2010.

10/6/2010 Quote: "The CREB track is closed due to recent wet weather and severe road conditions. We do not at this time anticipate the track being opened until late June at the earliest".

Hope this is of some assistance
I sometimes question my sanity . . . . and then it answers back.
Carpe diem

FollowupID: 691863

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 09:01

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 09:01
Thanks Salty. That agrees with what Danielle said above.

She seems to be the one in the know. Luckily we found her.

Did you per chance go on the track from the Lakefield direct to Port Steward. Not up the Development Road?

You can send your response via email if you wish to vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.

We do want to get off topic do we.

FollowupID: 691880

Follow Up By: Member - Salt grinder - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:23

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:23
Phil my maps don't show any access track direct from Lakefield NP to Port StewarT. Just a private track part way up to Lily Vale / Running Creek which we didn't access.

We did Port Stewart from the PDR.

I prefer to keep EO threads within the system for all to see and comment unless it's strictly private. If you like to change topics start a new thread . . . get best results that way. Thanks anyhow.
Carpe diem

FollowupID: 691889

Follow Up By: Member - Salt grinder - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:30

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:30
Just decided to check Running Creek on the EO map and I can see the track there to which you were referring.

Ahhh well . . . . . . will just have to go back and do that one now.
Carpe diem

FollowupID: 691892

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:35

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 10:35
The track through Lily Vale is the one. It shows up on several of mine. It actually goes all the way through to the Port Stewart road. Albeit through some swampy looking terrain. We have permission to go that way from the owners and local indigenous group. Looks a bit of a challenge but then the cars are set up for it. I have sent them an email to get the latest and will contact them again just before we leave Cooktown. But forwarned is forearmed.

I tried a thread a few months back without any luck. Thats why I asked.

Good to see you had a good time.

It did not have to be private. Just offered in case you would have preferred to leave the thread alone. Thats all.

Have a good day.

Just got the email that you can see the track. Bit "what-if" hey!!!
FollowupID: 691893

Follow Up By: Member - Salt grinder - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 11:21

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 11:21
Phil, as a matter of interest, what maps are you using for the trip and your planning ??
Carpe diem

FollowupID: 691896

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 12:46

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 12:46
The Hema Cape York and Nat map 250K Zone 54 maps for that area. Whatever Ozi comes up with at the moment.

Just setting up waypoints with hints and directions. The type of stuff you may forget. The route from Cookwtown to the OTL is a such it and see plan as you go thing. Because of all the recent road closures. We have two priorities for the Cape melville - Port Stewart area. Pandanus Vet park and Cape Melville. The res!!! We shall see.

Why do you ask? Got anything we could use? I am new to Oziexplorer.

FollowupID: 691899

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 23:03

Sunday, Jun 20, 2010 at 23:03
Phil,
Can I ask from where you have obtained permission to travel on the track through Lilyvale from Lakefield to Port Stewart? I have been through the same "round and round" trying to find info on this track and had actually given up.

If you can point me in the right direction I might be able to put it back on our itinerary.

FollowupID: 691991

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jun 21, 2010 at 08:32

Monday, Jun 21, 2010 at 08:32
Please sent me an email to: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.

There are some private issues about our trip that do really need to be publicised. Nothing illegal etc. Just family based.

FollowupID: 692013

Reply By: Polaris - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:40

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:40
Hello all again, apologies for not responding sooner.

Current process from July 2010 for permits to Access and/or Camp at Roaring Meg Falls is as follows:

Please contact DERM on 131304 and ask to be transferred to the Business Centre in Atherton. Permits can also be obtained in the Mossman QPWS office. Preference is to contact Atherton as they are the custodian of the booking sheet for the Camp sites. From here you will be able to obtain one of two permits. The permit you require will be dependant on your travel requirements. Permits can be emailed to you in PDF format, completed and emailed or faxed back to the Atherton office for processing.

PERMIT TO TRAVERSE - to traverse (travel) within the Timber Reserve on which Roaring Meg Falls and the camp ground is located. This is for day use only.

PERMIT TO CAMP - to camp overnight or for a number of nights at Roaring Meg Falls camp sites. This permit is a dual purpose permit, providing access to Traverse and to Camp at Roaring Meg Falls. Restrictions of number camps and campers at Roaring Meg is as follows: x3 camp sites. x4 campers per site per night, no exceptions. Maximum pax per night at Roaring Meg Falls is 12 people total, no exceptions. Booking is first in best dressed.

Camping is free, Permit to Traverse is free, NO FACILITIES i.e. toilets, water & rubbish collection.

Various conditions will be outlined on the permit and provided to you once your permit has been processed, one of these is to contact Traditional Landowners (Wujal Wujal).

Hope this helps everyone. Happy travels.
Danielle Oertel
AnswerID: 422899

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:53

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:53
Excellent

Good to hear from you again. Getting close for us and we have our approvals.

FollowupID: 693312