1HZ Turbo Conversion

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 17:54
ThreadID: 79307 Views:4449 Replies:2 FollowUps:8
Gees. I have been bidding on the online Auctions for a wrecked HJ80 Turbo.
All I want is the engine!!!! There was one 1995 model with 1HDT and another with a 24 Valve engine.

I Cant believe the price they reached at the Auctions. $6500 for a completely stuffed, (not a straight panel on it) 1994 HJ80.

Guess everyone has the same idea as me in fitting one of these engines to the 80 Series.

At those prices I will stick with my 1HZ and just take a little longer to get there LOL

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 18:13

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 18:13
Hi Wayne,
A lot of people can't get over what they are worth in good condition, let alone as a wreak.
I believe a 1HDT 12 valve is worth about $7900.00 new. I have seen them on eBay and in 4wd mags for that price.

Not cheap, but a lot cheaper than a rebuild.

Yeah, no rush to get there sometimes, Slow Is Cool

AnswerID: 420664

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:10

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:10
Hi Wayne

so is that ?"brand new"???

can you still get "brand new"24 valve 80 series TD?

GN
FollowupID: 690842

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:47

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:47
Hi GN
I last saw one for sale about a month ago on eBay, for just under $8K, the time before that was in Just4X4 magazine, one of the adds for a Toyota dealer in Vic.
I good mate had his rebuilt on the Gold Coast early last year, cost him well over $15K. He was not a happy camper when they gave him the bill and then it would use 3 litres of oil between Yamba & Mackay. Took it back to them three times, could find the reason. When I told him he could of bought one for under $8k, he could of killed me I reckon. He has since sold it and purchased a 100 series, I don't talk to him much anymore,since he got rid of his 80, LOL.
Nah, He's happy with his upgrade. :)

I don't know if you can get hold of a new 24 valve 1HDT.
Sorry I'm not much help on the names of the mob that were selling them.

FollowupID: 690846

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 21:22

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 21:22
Tried 3 Toyota dealers 2 here in good ol' Wait Awhile and in desperation 1 in NSW. All told me you could not buy a new 1HD-FT. Just by luck I found a 1997 80 series with a turbo diesel engine at one of the local wreckers. Please don't ask how much it cost because there was a bit of horse trading done. The wagon had 180,000 kl's on the clock and the engine ran very well. It is ready to take up residence in the trusty old HZJ75 to tow the new second hand caravan.
So to the best of my knowledge and research, no you cannot buy any of the earlier non electronic turbo diesels.

FollowupID: 690856

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:04

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:04
Hi Pop,
I was just reading through Lcool and found this thread, http://www.lcool.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11036&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
I don't know if you can access it if ya not a member, so I'll quote it.

mooanye2 Posted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:05 pm
"I paid $13000 for the same thing with same Ks, Jap import. A brand new Toyota 1HD-FT is $14000, but you need all the add ons - fuel pump, manifolds, turbo etc.

Those motors are as scarce as hens teeth.

You have a great opportunity there!!"

mooanye2, is a WA member.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not disbelieving you. I know they are hard to get, but I have seen them advertised in Just4x4
I'll see my mate still has the magazine, he's one of the blokes that doesn't throw much away.

I'll let you know one way or the other.

FollowupID: 690864

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 19:18

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 19:18
About 8 years ago I paid $7700 for the engine out of a 1986 station wagon (jap import with only 100,000k ) 12HT = turbo diesel. Fan to bellhousing. With the extra gaskets, new engine mounts, oil and filters and auto electrian it came to nearly $8000.

This was going into my old but still awesome 1986 dual cab. After owning it for 12 years and putting up with the slowly getting there and slowing down to less than 80km up hills and the extra fuel costs and being overtaken by caravans I bit the bullet.

Best thing I ever did to the landcruiser. What a difference that motor made. Kept it for another 6 years before circumstances got me to buy the current ute. Still had troubles parting with it. Very impressed with that motor.

AnswerID: 420668

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:59

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 20:59
I just got the insurance renewal for my 86 12HT Sahara (245K) and the "agreed value" was $7500.
I rang them up and asked who "agreed" to the value, it wasn't me.
I told them I could probably sell the motor and get that much money for it, let alone the rest of the car.
After much haggling they put the value at $9600, but wouldn't go a cent higher.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 690852

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 00:07

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 00:07

I would change Insurance companies.
I payed $7000 for my 1991 HJ80 with 1HZ engine. Insured it third party fire and theft, agreed value was $14,000. They were the ones who stated the value not me.

Maybe the girl mistakenly valued it as a TURBO 1HD-T, I dont know, but that is the value they gave me.

FollowupID: 690888

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 10:19

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 10:19
Wayne, I have stuck with the same company as I have never had any problems with them before.
What amazed me was the writedown in value from last year. It was $9600 last year and this year it was $7500.
I couldn't see that a 23 year old vehicle would lose about 20% value in one more year. It's only new cars that may lose something like that in the first year in my opinion.
You did well getting yours for $7K.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 690924

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 11:40

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 11:40
Hi Dave,
It depends on who you ask or where the insurance company gets their evaluations from.
The Red Book Values my old girl at $8,100 - $10,700, were as it is insured with GIO form $18.000 and 3K of extras, and they are fine with that.
Yet another web site Drive.com values it at,
$13,860 - $16,940 private sale
$13,300 - $15,400 trade in value
$19,800 - $23,760 dealer price
Which is provided by Glass's who tend to value a little higher.
It does pay to question your insurance company.

FollowupID: 690931