isuzu ute DMAX 4WD

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 22:47
ThreadID: 77703 Views:13539 Replies:11 FollowUps:23
Bucket of bolts...Less than 12 months old dash is falling out. Panel around 4wd buttons is loose. Seats squeak. Front and rear suspension squeak.Door hinges have been replaced. Optional guages on the dash vibrate.Some other component in the dash has rattled for 6 months and about 10 visits to the dealer before being rectified. All this from off showroom floor. PAINT IS PEELING OFF THE ROOF IN SEVERAL PLACES(BACK TO THE PRIMER)..Isuzu's reaction to this.."a bird bleep on your roof" you wear it. This ute gets washed once a week. This car has been back to the dealer about 20 times and still has all these problems. Why don't aussie have the "Lemon Law".
The Dealer: Ken Muston automotive in Shepparton Victoria

Reply By: Bob the - Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 23:16

Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 23:16
G'day mate ,sorry to hear of your grief with your new 4wd..!!! It will serve as a warning to others.
AnswerID: 412839

Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 23:52

Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 23:52
I have a Isuzu / Rodeo made in the same factory and so far ( touch wood ) minimal problems. One door needed adjustment, the cruise control needed a sensor replaced. I had most of the suspension upgraded before delivery but I have no complaints.

What paint did you get ?

Mine is the standard white ute paint.
AnswerID: 412843

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:22

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:22
Maybe coz the good ole Rodeos were made in Japan, where as these new things are made in Thailand (or outer Mongolia) !!!!!
FollowupID: 682896

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:34

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:34
Mine is a 2007/8 rodeo and I believe made 100% in Thailand.

My nikon cameras are also made in Thailand and I have no problems with them either.

The issue is one of quality control not of location of the factory.
FollowupID: 682899

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:35

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:35
Quite a few of the utes have been made in thailand for years now eg hilux from late 03
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 682900

Follow Up By: nickoff - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 11:17

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 11:17
Mazda BT50 and Ford Ranger, also made in Thailand, and no problem with my Ford Ranger. Remember when we said don't buy Japanese, its rubbish, in the 60's!
FollowupID: 682903

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:52

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:52
Sigman, "Maybe coz the good ole Rodeos were made in Japan....."
Gee that's going back a while I'm guessing. RA Rodeos certainly weren't made in Japan.
FollowupID: 682914

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:32

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:32
According to Redbook the RA rodeos were first made in Thailand in 2006.
FollowupID: 682973

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:30

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:30
nebula grey
FollowupID: 682983

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 16:52

Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 16:52
Phil ,think you might find that the redbook in this instance is wrong , my 2004 Rodeo is Taiwan built , F/inlaws 2002 Rodeo Taiwan built.
FollowupID: 683058

Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:37

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:37
Perhaps a letter to the Australian distributor may help solve the problems ?

If you don't get a response then a follow up letter CC to Today Tonight and ACA ?
AnswerID: 412871

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:36

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:36
I'm tempted. But i am a local business owner, bought local to support locals. hate the position this has put me in. Do you know any other successful vehicle dealer who suggests you ring a taxi when you drop you car off
FollowupID: 682985

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 23:02

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 23:02
Then I think you need to be honest with them and say "look you are obviously not getting the support you need from your head office. I will send them a letter suggesting they help you with your customer service problems, because if other customers find out about this you are not going to have a dealership"

I have used this approach a few times usually with camera support people.

If they were not getting the support they needed then it was a kick up the line, if they were being slack the kick came back down the line from above.

Loyalty works both ways, if you show them loyalty they need to return that by doing the right thing by you.
FollowupID: 682997

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 14:43

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 14:43
I showed loyalty to the dealer by giving him the opportunity to rectify the problems many times. He has returned this loyalty by today demanding i retract everything i have said in a public forum or he is going to sue me for 100k+.
FollowupID: 683930

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 14:52

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010 at 14:52
ACA sounds like the next option

Sue and be dammed on TV is it worth it ?

I would also make a call to D Max head office and ask to speak to the advertising manager.

I know D Max have just spent many many thousands of dollars to promote this car it would be a waste if they lost all that due to a dumb dealer.

( A person I know has their TV advertising contract )
FollowupID: 683933

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:55

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:55
I agree that it has nothing to do with where stuff is made, just the quality control of the company. Some Hondas are also made in Thailand and there isn't too much wrong with Honda QC.
AnswerID: 412873

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 23:41

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 23:41
i have a hilux from a govt agency that operates out of an remote community 28000ks and should be written off, it will get a clean , and then sold at auction for top dollar (2008 model) have had same with a prado same stretch of road same k's no door would close without effort
FollowupID: 683000

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:04

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:04
Interesting to hear, i remember this vehicle won the 4WD utility of the year and they gave it a big wrap in one of the very well known 4WD magazines beating out the Hilux, Navara and others etc etc. They ragged the Hilux for being too expensive, the Navara for being this and that, not once in their so called review and tests did they mention build quality and reliability. I will never buy a vehicle after reading a magazine review, I am not knocking the Isuzu however the Hilux and Navara have a reputation for reliability and build quality, the Hilux is dearer than the others, there is a reason for that.

Lately IMO the Hilux has shown some quality issues, Toyota need to be careful they are doing their best to hide all this but I don't think anyone would argue the 2 old stalwarts (Hilux & Navara) are built better and are more reliable.

When will our so called 4WD publications earn their money and do some long term quality tests rather than jump in a vehicle for a weekend and then award it best utility vehicle??

AnswerID: 412881

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:49

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:49
I am in no way questioning the OP, but in fairness. A friend has had one for about 6 months. Loves it. Has had no problems (so far at any rate.)
FollowupID: 682911

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:52

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 12:52
6 Months did you say..?
FollowupID: 682913

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 13:12

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 13:12
Yep, six months iI said, plus the "so far at any rate" bit at the end
FollowupID: 682917

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 21:41

Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 21:41
I kinda like the new tritons, how do they stack up?
FollowupID: 683101

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 13:00

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 13:00
Dash is falling out......
understand your resentment but isn't this a slight exageration?

Why did they replace the door hinges? In all my years of working in the auto industry, I have never heard of a warranty claim for a complete set of door hinges.

Optional gauges....were these factory fitted or dealer fiitted? Could this also be related to the Panel around 4wd buttons being loose. Meaning, was the panel that is loose removed to facilitate the fitment of the gauges.
AnswerID: 412886

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:28

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:28
no for the dash...have to keep pushing the dash back into place on the right hand side of the steering wheel. They replaced the door hinges because they were faulty(driver and passenger)
Optional gauges were dealer fitted(Ken Muston).Had it back there all day today to fix problems. Suspension still squeaks, dash still falls out instruments still vibrate, they still say isuzu reckon a bird did a really big bleep on the roof in multiple places and that's why the paint is back to the primer in multiple places.
FollowupID: 682981

Reply By: westozal - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:37

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:37
I have a Dmax and have had zero problems so far. It is about 9 mnths old.
Very economical and easy to live with in my opinion.
What colour is your problem paint?
Regards Alan.
AnswerID: 412944

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:53

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 21:53
nebula grey
FollowupID: 682990

Reply By: Mogul - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:44

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 20:44
I've had an RA since late 03, still going strong with 170K on the clock. The only issues have been replaced the EGR valve a couple of months ago and the usual fuel light coming on too early. Not a rattle or any other dramas at all.
AnswerID: 412945

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 09:56

Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 09:56
Purchased my DMAX in May of last year, 40,000ks clicked over yesterday, multiple short and 1 long trip accross the nullarbor (trans access rd) and so far the ONLY issue i have had was a faulty diesel fuel regulator, replaced under warranty after contacting head office in Brisbane. I have had no issues with paint (white) and certainly not the issues that have been described as far as dash etc go. Yes after a few trips the suspension started creaking a little but i was always going to, and have since had it replaced. I have the optional guages as well and they have not budged, yes, the interior is pretty basic and plasticy but at the end of the day, it is designed as a work truck, not a luxury vehicle, so with that in mind, i cannot fault it. I have pulled the dash out fitting radios, pulled seats out and back in, the rear seat is currently out with a timber base and fridge in and nothing has come loose or rattles. I also know of several other DMAX owners that are all very happy with their vehicles.

I have no affiliation with Isuzu or any car dealer, i am just somone who loves his little 4x4.

Tony

AnswerID: 412983

Follow Up By: rebuildon - Monday, Apr 19, 2010 at 21:09

Monday, Apr 19, 2010 at 21:09
Have you had any clutch issues. mine has always had a fair amount of clutch shudder in 1st gear. Now 11,000km's on, the clutch rattles and knocks when idling in neutral. The only way to stop this noise is pushing the clutch pedal in.
FollowupID: 683690

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 06:19

Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 at 06:19
There is no shudder but it is a little noisy (in that I can hear it but only because I am always listening to what the vehicle is doing) but so far it doesn't appear to be an actual problem. There is a small noise when depressing and releasing the clutch. Take offs are fine, no shudder or slip. I have heard of others having clutch problems far sooner than the 40'000 K's I have on mine but on saying that, I am quite gentle with my driving.

If I were you, I would give head office in Brisbane a call, ask for Wayne (sorry don't know his last name but he is the GM for Sales) explain all the issues you have and given the attention they gave me I think you will be satisfied with the outcome.

One thing I have thought of though, when I pulled my centre dash out to wire up the UHF, I noticed it was very easy for the little clips to fall away from their position and thus causing the dash not to fit home properly. Might be worth pulling it out and having a hunt for those little clips. The first time I put it back one of them fell out and the dash was loose, I found the clip, put it back and the dash went home solidly and hasn't rattled or become loose since.

As I said though, it is designed as a work vehicle, its never meant to be a luxury Patrol or LC, but it was also a lot cheaper than those and therefore not as "finished". But it is tough and very capable and I am positive that once you have your issues sorted you will grow to love it and enjoy its capabilities.

Good Luck.
FollowupID: 683711

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 21:40

Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 21:40
Sorry to hear of your dilemma. Sure it's not a rebadged Nissan ZD30.

I bought my D-MAX October last year and about a month ago had the "check auto trans" light come on. Called roadside assist who couldn't find anything so said "take it to the dealer workshop". (BTW they ARE also the RACQ agent!). Checked into (multiple vehicle type) workshop and was told to come back after 4 - 5 hours (can't remember exactly how long). At this stage vehicle had done ~3K !

Hey !! What about ME!! Stiff.

Walked 200 metres to Isuzu yard, told them the story and was immediately given a lone car for the rest of the day. Can't beat better service than that - and all with a smile even though I bought the D-MAX from a southern dealer.

Have just clicked over 5K and, including my previous after market accessories dilemma, all is now fine.

Make sure you check your tyre pressures - 200kpa in front and 280 kpa in rear. When mine was first delivered it was 280 kpa all round - felt like driving a crowbar down the highway.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 413072

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 22:46

Thursday, Apr 15, 2010 at 22:46
I'd have a zd30 anyday!
FollowupID: 683108

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 08:44

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 08:44
If your with the nrma racq racv, got to them with the details, they then go to the dealer asks them very politely to fix problems. Ask them to prove why the paint is peeling off, a bird bleep can be on there for like 3 months without doing anything to paint if not longer.

mate has a suzuki grand vitara, thing has a gearbox rebulid and they thru that much morey's heavy duty oil in it after the rebulid he has trouble with second gear, also needed a new clutch fork as the original spec clutch forks are too soft. this was the honda and suzuki dealer at charlestown newcastle.

Toyota, sister in law has a brand new corolla with all the bells and whistles, she can't connect to the bluetooth and the dealer denyed any problems. charlestown toyota, newcastle.
AnswerID: 413120

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 08:48

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 08:48
have a look at the paint if it has scratches in it then it was prpared correctly....

If no scrathes then it hasn't being rubbed down for mechanical adhesion, which most of the car manufacturers are di\oing now.
FollowupID: 683160