charging from lighter socket

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:40
ThreadID: 75769 Views:2531 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
have twin battery set up --just might need a bit more in amps for auxillary purpose ---is it possible to charge a battery from lighter socket

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:47

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:47
Hi Kevin,
if you are talking about charging the battery that feeds the lighter socket e.g. you are putting power back into the lighter socket... yes it's possible, but I would not recommend it, because of limited cable size and amperage.

If you are talking about using a 12V charger plugged into the lighter socket to charge another battery, that is also possible but not recommended because of limited cable size and amperage available.

What you trying to achieve?
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 402644

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 18:54

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 18:54
Mate I wouldn't use the cigarette lighter for nothing.

My wife had her phone charger in the cigarete lighter socket in me Camry, I started the car pulled the plug out the socket backed out the driveway and drove 10 metres before I smelt smoke, I shut the engine off! ran to the garage to get a spanner to cut the battery power within 40 seconds.

And in that time the wiring loome was rooted I re wired wired a lot my self then another 800 bucks form the local auto sparky to fix other little shorts through out the wiring loome i couldn't track down.

All because the lighter socket fell apart, shorted then the fuse only melted but didn't blow, apparently a fairly common Toyota issue.

FollowupID: 672153

Follow Up By: keviny6 - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 21:38

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 21:38
what i was hoping to achieve was a trickle charge into spare battery ---would definately want another fuse in line
FollowupID: 672192

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 07:34

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 07:34
" then the fuse only melted but didn't blow, apparently a fairly common Toyota issue. "

Then it's not of merchantable quality - I'd put in a written complaint to Dept of Fair Trading - this is not limited to the warranty period.

FollowupID: 672245

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 10:15

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 10:15
Actually your probably right, but if I remember it was a cheap no name spade fuse that did not blow. So it would of ended up my bad I think. But then again the cigarette lighter should not have fallen apart either.
FollowupID: 672276

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 23:32

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 23:32
Hi Keviny6

Yes it is possible.

There are a few devices available now.

Projecta do one. www.projecta.com.au

Jaycar do one. www.jaycar.com.au

ABR do one. www.sidewinder.com.au

Derek

AnswerID: 402745

Follow Up By: keviny6 - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 09:31

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 09:31
thanks for info will look at them.
i have instead of a cig lighter holder in another place in van a 2 pin plug that i use, i think safer to connect to-----same thing only different lol
FollowupID: 672263

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 07:39

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 07:39
The fundamental limit is the socket - it was only ever designed to supply for 10 seconds to heat a Cigarette Lighter.

Then people use defective plugs with - the socket has springs on it to hold the Lighter in until it heats. If your plug doesn't have a collar on it like the Lighter, then there's nothing to provide pressure on the centre contact, which causes high resistance, which causes high temperature and failure.
AnswerID: 402766

Follow Up By: keviny6 - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 09:35

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 09:35
agree with comments --- i use a 2 pin connection with in line fuse for extras
FollowupID: 672266