What to do ?? Prado Diesel of Pajero Diesel

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:20
ThreadID: 75764 Views:7611 Replies:17 FollowUps:17

Related Pages

Firstly what a great site.
I am wanting to buy a new 4wd diesel we are a family of 6, with 4 kids I do a lot of running around. We had always wanted a diesel Prado, buy of late they are very hard to come by. We are looking in the $50k range and thought we might be able to get maybe 07 with low k's but we have found as soon as they are for sale they sell.
We have both just driven the Pajero diesel 08, and yes it is a bit noiser but as far as room inside I was very impressed.
I am just wanting some opinions.

Reply By: Fab72 - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:40

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:40
Howdy sarjane.
Ask yourself the question "Why do they sell so quick?"

I'd go the Prado personally but I'm sure others will disagree.
AnswerID: 402620

Follow Up By: kend88 - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:44

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:44
Have you given any thought to the new Mits. Challenger.
You would go close to a new one for the money mentioned.

KenD
Bris
FollowupID: 672074

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:47

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:47
Took the words out of my mouth, they sell quickly for a reason. The Prado is the vehicle you want, keep persisting and you'll get one. IMO
FollowupID: 672106

Follow Up By: Honky - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:55

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:55
Because people get suckered in with the advertising?
Is that the answer and what do I get for a prize.

Honky
FollowupID: 672121

Reply By: furph - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:46

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:46
Possibly not the most sensible reply but when you look at the resale value of these vehicles why not buy new.

The two mentioned are excellent vehicles for their purpose but there are also several other vehicles fitting a similar specification and at very competitive pricing.

Why not drive them all, I dont believe that with all these vehicles (with differing names) being sold on a global market there are any real duds.

There should be some good deals still to be had on '09 plated models and you have the full warranty plus the vehicle is a known quantity as against a new introduction (if that is the case) or second hand.

furph
AnswerID: 402621

Reply By: Dean - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:48

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:48
If you want the best name buy the toyota, if you want the best value buy the paj. Go to the pajero forum for a whol bunch of unbiased advice.
Dean
AnswerID: 402623

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:43

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:43
"unbiased" ? LOL

FollowupID: 672097

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:26

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:26
unbiased as the lcool site :o)
FollowupID: 672130

Reply By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:59

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 12:59
I have been watching them closely to and the reason they go so fast I reckon is that if your not worried about the latest cosmetic trend they are basically the same as the new cars +/- a few features. One factor of differance that sticks in my mind - how far out of town do you want to travel? The std twin tanks in the Prado to me is a big plus, its a pain getting stuck because of fuel availability. Also where abouts are you - Prados are fairly common around the main centres although some of the car yard vehicles are how should we say "optimistic" in there pricing! Local dealer has an '08 GXL mod k's $63. Check out redbook for some of the listings particularly trade vs private vs yard prices, interesting. City versions are good because I have seen some that have spent all their life being babied around town. By the way, have you seen a pdf brochure for the Paj/Prad online or anwhere for around '06/07/08?- I am looking for one and can't fiind it anywhere.
AnswerID: 402627

Follow Up By: sarjane - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:17

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:17
Thanks for the reply, we are finding that the car yards are putting huge prices on them and then saying they are "Toyota" and that's why. But we are talking aroung 10-12k's difference between the two prado and paj. And when you look at the reviews on the paj 08 they don't sound like they are a bad car at all. I think when it comes down to it like holden and ford you have the toyota lovers and mitsubishi haters? We have also looked at redbook and made the same comment as yourself. We live in Brisbane. And no we won't be doing any remote travelling. Thanks again
FollowupID: 672087

Reply By: Turbo Lux - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:02

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:02
Sarjane

Family of 6, I prsume the kids are going to grow up and get bigger and still want to travel with ma and pa......so I would be thinkning about luggage for touring holidays and where are you going to put it? This will lead you to the trailer/camper debate and so on. Toyota will not be beaten on resale value and or build quality in the Prado Range, however the Pajero seems to be well apoointed and reasonably capable, however prado has seperate chassis and rear live axel, better for off road and or towing. CRD Prado's will becoming on the market soon and will be around the $50k mark, however you may want to think second hand Cruiser or Patrol due family of 6 factor.

Hope this helps, same situation happened in our family and dad opted for the 80 series cruiser in the end, 250,000km's later no problems and great vehicle.

AnswerID: 402629

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:03

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:03
What do you want to use it for? Just running around the suburbs or will you be dropping it into low range occasionally and going bush?
If hard 4wding isn't in your plans then just get whatever feels comfortable, it doesn't really matter what it is.

If running around the suburbs is all you do then what's wrong with a large family station wagon, Commdore or Falcon etc. They have 3rd row seats. Easy to find and a lot cheaper than $50 000.
AnswerID: 402630

Reply By: sarjane - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:21

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:21
Thanks everyone for your replys they have been very helpful.
AnswerID: 402632

Reply By: Member - Steve R (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:43

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:43
Sarjane

Agree with Turbo Lux comment re consider a second hand 100 Series Toyota Landcruiser. As the kids get older the extra room is appreciated.

Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you respond

AnswerID: 402634

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:45

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 13:45
Sarjane

OK I'm biased as I own a Paj, but this is what we reviewed when purchasing our Pajero in 07 for our family of 5

1) We do long trips in the bush, but unless you are doing Canning SR, Simpson crossing the 180L Prado tank is of not a huge benefit. You don't need it for Strezleki, Oodnadatta or Birdsville track. Yep it's handy but I'd take the fold flat seats to the extra 90L with our family

2) Prados cost a couple to several grand more for the same features
3) Prados have better resale value, but if you are planning on keeping the vehicle for a while, that becomes less important. Does that mean Pajeros are better value second hand?
4)Depreciation is the greatest single cost in owning a vehicle
5) Until the advent of the Prado D4 engine, the Pajero diesel left Prado for dead, but since the Prado D4 not a great deal of difference

7) Reliiability; after 320 000km in 2 Pajeros I can't fault ours, nor can freinds with a lot of ks on their Prados.
8) Off road ability, separate chasis Vs monocoque? Are you really going to be rock climbing where the Prado is superior, Vs how many kms will you be spending on bitumen or dirt where the Pajero handling is superior?
9) Pajeros have more electonic traction aids if that's important (or a liability)
10) Prados are an 8 seater (bit squeezy with three in the back) Vs Pajero 7.
11) Prados have split 3rd row seating, better for hauling 6?

IF there was just the two of us, turning the vehicle over after 2 years, planning on a CSR and a Simpson Xing, a Prado D4 would have won.
But in our case we are happy with our Pajero
AnswerID: 402635

Follow Up By: sarjane - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:00

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:00
Hey Mark,
Thanks heaps for taking the time to reply. All the pros that you mentioned are the ones that is making me seriously think about the paj, and coming from a family of 5 it is greatly appreciated. thanks
FollowupID: 672099

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:54

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 14:54
The Mitsubishi warranty was initially brought about because people did not see Mistubishi and Toyota in the same light, and thats fair enough. Toyota built their reputation fair and square. I for one rate Toyota the better product in terms of build quality and reliability. It's sometimes hard to explain to people why Toyota is the better product but thats fine, we wouldn't want everyone driving a Toyota. I believe the Pajero has improved dramatically but earlier ones that I drove could not be fairly compared to a Toyota. Thats my opinion, you may not agree, but thats what makes these forums so great.
FollowupID: 672109

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:58

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:58

Pajero petrol 3.5 L uses 89 L to cross Simpson. Would have been a lot less if extra fuel had not been 'advised'.

FollowupID: 672223

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:20

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:20
This is fact. Toyota were losing sales in the middle range of vehicles so they cleverly named a medium wagon Prado...A clever ploy...name of vehicle starts with P ends in O...yes you're correct,Yota wanted the Pajero slice of the market. Family of six plus luggage...one vehicle for you turbo diesel Cruiser...you will pick up a 2004-5 hamburger with the lot for about $55,000. I have owned cruisers & patrols great cars. Never owned a Prado just don't like the way they handle. IMHO they sway and feel unsteady on the road enough to spook SWMBO & for economy,great road manners, comfort,torque & great performance the I/C T/D 3.2 Diesel NP NS & NT Pajero, fantastic. Go and drive an auto NT RX brand new $58,000 10 years warranty on drive chain,5 years roadside assist & warranty on everything else. Do yourself a favour read the latest Overlander Mag about the latest Prado. They lack torque,performance & economy. IMO Prados are over rated & over priced like ALL Toyotas. Many members of this forum are Yota & Patrol people never driven anything else & are therefore IMO some are not up to date with the latest pajero technology and base their bias opinions on pajero's in the 80's. Go & drive one & drive a playdoh...the Paj will beat it in every way...that's why the NT won 4WDOTY last year....love that car. I am now going to hide in my bullet proof bunker,put on the bullet proof vest & thick skin. I will sit and wait the tyraid of abuse from the Yota & Pootrol owners!!! Good luck.
AnswerID: 402652

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:56

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:56
Hi OREJAP,

You reckon you've got problems downplaying Tojo and Nissan, try doing it when you own not just one, but two, Landrovers.

Mind you I am in total agreement with you in regard to Toyota being over rated and over priced, so I expect I'll have to duck for cover too.

Disco.
FollowupID: 672122

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 16:33

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 16:33
Yes perhaps Toyota are losing sales because of price, I don't subscribe to 4WDOTY opinions because they do not measure reliability. I buy Toyota because I believe they are more reliable and cost less to run. I would buy another brand, however I don't like Pajeros. At the end of the day what value do you put on reliability?

I will never however force my opinion on another, people are free to make their choices and the world is a better place for it, if I had to put my wallet and my life on my vehicle, it would be TOYOTA all day everyday, if not then show me a Disco 4, or anything else for that matter.
FollowupID: 672126

Reply By: Wilko - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:20

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:20
Hi Sarjane,

I drive a Pajero for work and have clocked up 235km in 2 1/2years. I have had a dream run with the only prob being a particulate filter in the exhuast blocking causing it to go into a limp home mode. Not good coming home from Pooncaarie sitting on 60km/h (Just)

Would I buy one, no I'd rather a dual cab but it is a sound vehicle non the less.
Comfortable to ride in and plenty of power.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 402653

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:34

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:34
That would be CPF in the NS. Should have been fixed under warranty recall. The NP & NT do not have this problem.
FollowupID: 672132

Follow Up By: Wilko - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 19:37

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 19:37
Mine is a 2007 model NP (I think)
FollowupID: 672157

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:58

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 15:58
Make sure you drive a Pajero and a Prado over the same winding road before deciding.

If necessary, see what Traction Control does for the Pajero off-road.
AnswerID: 402657

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:46

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:46
We have heaps of Prados at work and have to agree, as soon as you push them on a windy road they feel like a 50s yank tank, but they are very pleasant driven gently on good roads.
If they where not over priced I would have one though.
FollowupID: 672139

Reply By: Julian - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 16:01

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 16:01
Just to open up the debate! I'm about to receive delivery of a brand new 7 seat LR Defender for not much over $50000. It'll be my third in 8 years, with 300,000kms under the last two's belts. The latest version is very comfortable and quiet with proper aircon and average 11litres per 100kms. The new ones even have a CD player! Ther'e also heaps more cargo area in a Defender than both P---Os.

Cheers Jules
AnswerID: 402658

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 23:01

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 23:01
Nice one Julian

The Defender could well be my next vehicle

FollowupID: 672225

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:58

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 17:58
If the QLD government have vehicle auctions and they quit either of these vehicles, that will be a good guide to prices - in SA, dealers pick them up at these gov.t auctions for the same prices as private buyers - so getting a handle on 'real' prices is not hard. There are both types being sold in SA - you can search in the prices section to see what they have gone for over the last 8 weeks - may be a guide for you - heck.... you can even bid online (but who would want to do that ? :-o). One has to add ALL on road costs as if buying a new oone - they are total cleanskins ex auction.
AnswerID: 402667

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 18:08

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 18:08
er........ http://www.auctions.sa.gov.au/index.php
FollowupID: 672147

Reply By: gelatr- Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 19:07

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 19:07

What a question!

This is my experience.

I owned a previous model Prado. It saw plenty of black top touring and beach work. It towed my boat beautifully. Verdict it was a great car!

I own an 08 3.2 Diesel GLX-R Triton - its been on the Plenty, Tanami and seen the Mitchell Falls and Kalumburu all while towing a Tambo Camper Trailer. Verdict its a great car.

My wife drives an 08 Rav 4 Cruiser. Its been through the high country of Tassie on easy dirt - I must admit I love driving it. Verdict its a great car.

As you can see a don't really have any allegiance to either brand.

My recommendation - toss a coin as you can't go wrong with either. Both are built by great manufacturers.

AnswerID: 402674

Reply By: Bobjl - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 21:38

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 21:38
Sarjane
I currently drive a LC 200 Turbo Diesel however I have owned three Pajeros between 2004 and 2009 - 1 Petrol and two Diesels.

I travelled somewhere in the vicinity of 200,000 k,s in that time and pulled a 20 foot full van for approx 40,000 k,s. [Little off road stuff so wont comment on capability in that regard].

Based purely on that experience I am a strong advocate for Paj as they all proved great value, strong and reliable with good fuel economy.

I traded the 2006 Diesel Exceed with bull bar in April and got $32k with 80,000 k,s on the clock and in good order. Sold quick from local Dealer I gather for closer to $40k.

Only reason I have the Toyo [which is super strong and sure footed] is towing requirements for 24 foot > 3000kg Van. I understand Prado great Vehicle also but Paj may prove better value.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 402720

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:55

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:55
Sarjane

I wouldn't base my decision on sales volumes or how quickly they sell in a second hand market. Consider these facts:

1 the Americans re-elected george W when the rest of the world realised he was a no brainer

2 half the population has an IQ of less than a 100

3 people are like sheep and will follow the bell wether

4 some cars are designed for Joe Average, they are usually so so in most departments, are usually knock offs of the original

5 the large fuel tank thing is a complete furphy - there are about 'one' treks in Oz that require more than 90 L of diesel

6 how could you drive a car that is trying to look like a juke box?

The Pajero goes better, looks better, handles better, and was the original in its class.

AnswerID: 402740

Follow Up By: sarjane - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:59

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 22:59
Great thanks Bob.
FollowupID: 672224