Cape York - Dengue fever??

Submitted: Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 22:36
ThreadID: 70377 Views:2542 Replies:3 FollowUps:3

Will be off to the Cape in a couple of weeks - bring it on!!!

Around last April, there were reports of an outbreak of Dengue Fever in FNQ and warnings regarding mosquitos etc. Does anyone know if this is still a problem or not? If it is, apart from the usual sprays, nets and other avoidance measures, is there a preventative medication one should consider, such as they give you when entering environments with a malaria problem?

Gerry

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 01:04

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 01:04
Dengue fever aint the half of it - theres even Malaria & Ross River fever now along with other tropical baddies (but No Tsetsi flies just yet).

Yes theres a preventative now - it's called HTFUP or stay home!

AnswerID: 373013

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 08:15

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 08:15
Ok, I will bite. What is HTFUP?
FollowupID: 640235

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 09:26

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 09:26
Ian,

Harden the .... up. I'll leave the rest to your imagination.

FollowupID: 640242

Reply By: GerryP - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:11

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:11
Thanks Flywest,

That's OK mate, it ain't gonna stop me. Been dinner for midgies and the like before in those parts, but if there's an easy way to avoid getting crook, then I'd like to know. Looks like I'll be packin' the Bushmans then.

Gerry
AnswerID: 373084

Reply By: Member - "The Doctor" (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:55

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 17:55
Gday Gerry P,

To all those who say HTFUP, try a bout of Denge, Ross River and Bahmah Forest Virus all at the one time and see how you feel!!!

Now I aint the sort for sympathy or violins but I got hammered last year at the Starke River whilst camping, I had every anti repellant know to man but the moth sized mozzies still get you. It was 2 weeks to the day when I started the symptoms, Rash, fever, nausea etc.

Anyway long story short, 5 weeks of being bed ridden, 4 blood tests, 15kgs lost, could only handle water and fruit salad, and bone jarring convulsions which saw me almost taken to hospital twice, then I was diagnosed with a mild case of denge. Although had trace of Ross River and Barmah Forest Virus. I would hate to see a full blown case. No wonder people die. I thought I was.

But dont let this deter you. There were 15 other people in our convoy and none of them suffered. Not to mention the countless others that visit the joint. Id go back tomoro if I could, but, if you get bitten and have a reaction like I did, start praying.

The Dr
AnswerID: 373088

Follow Up By: guzzi - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 19:25

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 19:25
Dr,
have you bought your lotto ticket yet? thought not.

Gerry P
Heavy duty bushmans, long sleeves, long pants, socks and shoes and a fair dose of good luck are your only help.
A mate at work copped Ross river and that stuffed him up for nearly a year, 10 years later he still gets the occasional relapse.
50% of those that contract Ross River fever have no or mild symptoms, 50% of the remainder have moderate symptoms, 50% of the remainder etc etc until you get to the one lucky bugger who'll be TPI from it.
They are all best avoided.

Enjoy the trip regardless, just take precautions

So to all the heros, harden up eh, you have FN no idea.
FollowupID: 640296