The price of spare parts never ceases to amaze...

Submitted: Monday, May 04, 2009 at 17:37
ThreadID: 68513 Views:3272 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
Just bought a few "essential" consumable spares for my D40 for a forthcoming trip of about 15000km which takes in some substantially remote areas of Aus. I've had a look for the 24 carat gold plating but have yet to find where Mr Nissan hid it in the package.

Fuel filter: $188.73
Oil filter: $33.58
Serpentine belt: $65.92
Power steering belt: $50.51
10ltrs of Shell Helix Ultra Extra fully synthetic oil: $144.40
(all prices excluding GST).

But wouldn't travel beyond the cities without this stuff. The fuel filter is changed at 40000km intervals but you never know when you might pick up some crappy diesel. Better to err on the safe side I guess.

It seems to me that with every so called "advance" in technology the price of fundamentals rises exponentially.

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 17:45

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 17:45
A bit like buying a printer; they don't make much on the product, but they make up for it selling you the consumables!
AnswerID: 363177

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 17:46

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 17:46
Hell and tarnation ! Plus GST !
Why not investigate alternatives ?
List price for a gen. fuel filter on my 05 TD 100 series is $68 - when I screwed up my face the dealer said he "could do it for $54"......... so much for pricing..... 20% off just because I 'looked' at him......Sprint Auto do a Ryco for $25 - when up country in SA recently, Motor Traders were happy to do the Ryco for $22 !
To be fair, the Toyota dealer prices on belts and hoses were reasonable last year - maybe it's all gone silly since then.
AnswerID: 363179

Reply By: Willem - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 18:28

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 18:28
Hmmmm

GQ

Fuel filter $45 from Mr Nissan
Oil filtersx2 $10ea from Repco
3 belts $50 from Repco
3 hoses $60 from Repco
10lts 15w40 oil $50 from Repco

all prices including GST

Yer need to shop around!!!....lol

(Yeah I know, the GQ is an old dinosaur....lol)

AnswerID: 363199

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 07:43

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 07:43
like its owner...lol
FollowupID: 630910

Reply By: jeepthing - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 18:52

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 18:52
Patrol 22,

I use Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic and purchase it from the local Mobil Depot in 20l drums, costs me around $200. The same oil at Supercheap or any other retailer will cost around $100 for 5 litres.

If I use the same oil from a dealer it will cost me $150.00+ Try your Shell depot wouldn't surprise me if 20l will cost you close to what you are paying for 10 litres.

In terms of filters I get mine shipped in from USA, the genuine part oil and fuel is made by Mann Filters of Germany. The site I use is German Filters I purchased a 4 pack a few months ago for US$44.97 with the exchange rate and shipping cost me AU$70.00 they were received in a week,1 filter from a dealer costs AU$40+ each.

Fuel filters through German Filters are US$32.25, dealer price is AU$90.00.

If you can ascertain the manufacturer of those belts and filters and find an on line site to purchase them from I'm sure you will save quite a few $$$
AnswerID: 363203

Follow Up By: jeepthing - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:02

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:02
Patrol 22,

I just did a quick search to see what was around and found this site.

There's a lot of nissan parts there which are claimed to be genuine and the prices look pretty good.
www.cheaperoz.com
FollowupID: 630833

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:31

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:31
Thanks for that Jeepthing - I've filed that away for future reference.
FollowupID: 630889

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:13

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:13
I don't buy genuine Toyota anymore. I go across the road to a performance auto spares seller and buy it all heaps cheaper there.

Ryco oil filter $19.00
Penrite HPR Diesel 15, 10LT $70.00
2x alternator belts $24.98
1x A/C Belt $18.90
K & N air filter $110.00, Cleaning & Oiling kit $29.90
I haven't priced top & bottom radiator hoses yet.
All these include GST.

A couple of years ago the high pressure power steering hose started to leak at the joint where the flexible hose and pipe join. Toyota wanted just over $600.00 for the one piece of pipe and hose. I went to a Hydraulic shop, took the old one in, three hours later, they had made me a three piece unit, that is so much easier to get in and out.
$150.00, thank you very much.

Yeah,don't buy genuine Toyota anymore.

AnswerID: 363214

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:18

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:18
If I was a bit quicker at putting gear in the trader you would have been able to pick all that up plus hoses for a good price as I have all those items brand new and are no longer required.
Chris.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

AnswerID: 363215

Reply By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:46

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:46
There is a 4wd service center in Newcastle that offers the hire of emergency parts kits. They package up oil filters, fuel filters, water pumps etc. They say they put the most common items into the kit and then they hire them to you. It is about $10 a week and if you use something you pay for it otherwise you just hand it back....
AnswerID: 363226

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:52

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:52
That's a great idea. :))
So simple.

FollowupID: 630849

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 20:46

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 20:46
Hi Marc,

Is that the bloke in Howell St in Kotara?

FollowupID: 630858

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:12

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:12
It's actually McDougall Street, but you have it right...
FollowupID: 630863

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:17
Yep, you are correct mate, it is McDougall !

Were'd I get Howell??

FollowupID: 630866

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:51

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:51
HZJ75 series troopy diesel
cav fuel filter $5
donaldson oil filter $16
AnswerID: 363227

Follow Up By: Chev-Patrol 6.5 V8 D - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 20:07

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 20:07
I agree with the CAV fuel filter option. Indeed, I have opted for 2 of these, one after the other.

In the case of the original poster, I reckon I would have not bothered with a spare original (but I would've left it in place).... I would have added an extra (CAV) filter in front of the platinum one that Mr Nissan fitted from the factory. That way, if you get a load of dud fuel, it's gunna clog up the cheap CAV filter first, hopefully protecting the OE unit..... You could replace the CAV about 30 times for the cost of one Nissan filter.

The other prices are also too high, but that's what you come to expect from dealers for OE stuff.

FollowupID: 630853

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 21:41
Gees Bill, not a member anymore, wont the bank give you a loan?

:-)

and I agree with the CAV filter, they make fuel systems so they can make filter elements.
FollowupID: 630874

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:30

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:30
CAV was good on the patrol unfortunately the YD25 engine in my D40 doesn't respond well to these filters. The expense in the fuel filter is that the whole kit a kaboodle is disposable you just cannot replace a filter element.
FollowupID: 630888

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:59

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 19:59
Filters always seem to cost alot more going genuine but alot of others its the oppisite.
I always ring Toyota up for a genuine price then check aftermarket prices.Last week I purchased a full set(4) rad. hoses for a Hilux, $60 the lot genuine.The aftermarket guys said they would be wasting their time to try and match it.
And for all who bag Toyota genuine prices, well I find they are amoung the cheapest genuine parts to buy.
AnswerID: 363232

Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:28

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 22:28
Thanks for the pointers everyone but as the vehicle is just 6 months old I thought I would go with the genuine article. Once the warranty is expired I will definitely go the aftermarket route with the filter and belts. Have a son who manages a well known auto parts store and gotta say the prices I used to get part for my patrol for certainly spoiled me.
AnswerID: 363267

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 06:34

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 06:34
Mate,

try nizzbits@hotmail.com

Send them an email with the parts you are after. Much cheaper for genuine parts. Operating from Melbourne. Example. Turbo for 3l T/D Patrol. $2200 through dealer. $1600 and a few cents through Nizzbits and that was landed at my place. All new, all genuine.

Great people to deal with.

AnswerID: 363283

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 06:55

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 06:55
Yeah I must be getting forgetful in my old age Mick as I've used Gary before with the patrol and simply slipped my mind. I certainly won't forget him next time around. Thanks.
Pete
FollowupID: 630908

Reply By: V64Runner - Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:18

Tuesday, May 05, 2009 at 19:18
I thought Toyota parts were gold plated encrusted with diamonds. To give you an example I had to replace my right rear tail light assembly. Here are the prices as quoted to me by Toyota
$186. Supercheap $165 Repco $130 AutoPro $120 AutoOne $90 less 10% discount.
On another occasion I needed to replace the scuff plate on the passenger side. Toyota price for a piece of plastic $179. Staff price: $72 inc GST !!! Pays to shop around. Six litres Penrite HP GAS 20W60 $38 every where --- Supercheap $28 !!!!
AnswerID: 363389