The Operation was not so successful & the patient died. KaaPow Thwat Bop Gush De

Submitted: Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:00
ThreadID: 68173 Views:3817 Replies:17 FollowUps:17
And I wasn't even driving. In fact I wasn't even there.

My rig goes in for a dyno & POP goes the weasel, I'm looking at a really build.
The rig is an 03 Patrol GU TD6, 4.2 Turbo Diesel with intercooler & a 3" Mandrel bent exhaust 126,000 K's. Serviced & tuned regularly, including the 120000 k service.

If it was a 3 litre diesel Patrol GU at 120000k I wouldn't expect anything less.

Here' the info I received via email after the ph call.

"Vehicle received 22nd for power increase and injector overhaul. Initial checks performed for correct oil and water levels, run on Dyno carried out to check current power output before commencing work.

After fitment of reconditioned injectors and post adjustment made to pump boost compensator, vehicle was run to bring engine to operating temperature and check initial pump settings. Temperature and smoke levels OK.

Second run on Dyno performed to ascertain power output. Power OK but marginally low started reducing speed on Dyno to allow engine to normalise, when a sudden loss of coolant was experienced from overflow bottle and engine itself shut down. Engine allowed to cool and compression test performed.

Compression readings as follows cylinder
1 – 0psi, cylinder
2 – 0psi, cylinder
3 – 0psi, cylinder
4 – 495psi, cylinder
5 – 495psi, cylinder
6 – 495psi.

Our summation of cause of failure is most likely due to cylinder head gasket or cylinder head failing causing sudden loss of radiator coolant. This sudden loss of coolant has lead to an immediate rise in engine temperature causing seizure of piston rings and or pistons."

Anyway simplicity state I need an engine rebuild & this is where you guys & gals get to tell where to go...........

Around Melbourne (Vic-land) to find a great 4WD mechanic & engine rebuilder. Preferable Metro South, South-east or East.

Your help will be gratefully appreciated.

If you don't like Patrols, fine that's your choice, I drive my Patrol & love it & this hurts big time.

PS Forbys I like include the 80 & 40 series LC, Jeep Wranglers , Defenders, and modded up Suzuki Sierras, MU's

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:09

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:09
G'day Madcrow

Sorry to hear that mate, but let me get this right...you say you put your vehicle in for a dynotune and you end up with a stuffed motor???...Your vehicle only has 126000 ks , something seems amiss to me...i would be asking questions, and lots of them, i wouldn't just cop that on the chin...maybe im wrong, i dont know, but im damn sure i would be wanting to know exactly what was done....
AnswerID: 361327

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:28

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:28
DITTO!!! X 1000!.

FollowupID: 629051

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:44

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:44
Thank's mate,

I've asked the questions & the detailed email with it's discription of what happened was the reply.

madCrow
FollowupID: 629056

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:49

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:49
MadCrow
As others have said shouldn't someone have been keeping an eye on the gauges??...I wouldn't take this laying down mate, push a bit harder, because i reckon they are trying to cover their arses with the information they have given you...
As for help with a good mechanic, sorry i cant help you unless you live in Adelaide....every now and again you see recond 4.2 nissan diesel motors on ebay, i'll see if i can find the link for you
FollowupID: 629085

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:35

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:35
A couple of links to ebay for you mate
Reco Nissan motor

Reco Nissan motor 2

FollowupID: 629096

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 02:05

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 02:05
Totally agree mate with what others have said, duty of care is their responsibility, sudden loose of coolant fine but to keep it running till seizure noooooo way
FollowupID: 629120

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:21

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:21
Terrible shame madcow, so what to do now....I see you like MUs (so do I lol) nice one in the ACT for $9K with 143K on the clock, (find it on carpoint) probably cheaper than the 4.2 rebuild ??? the other is to look for an imported 4.2 motor
AnswerID: 361330

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:24

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:24
Something doesn't seem right here,

Our summation of cause of failure is most likely due to cylinder head gasket or cylinder head failing causing sudden loss of radiator coolant. This sudden loss of coolant has lead to an immediate rise in engine temperature causing seizure of piston rings and or pistons."

So the mechanic sitting behind the wheel while doing the Dyno, wasn't keeping an eye on the gauges, to see an increase in temp, so he could possibly have turned the motor off before this all happened?? Glad he's not a pilot, I wouldn't fly with him if he was.
AnswerID: 361332

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:25

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:25
[i]Vehicle received 22nd for power increase and injector overhaul. Initial checks performed for correct oil and water levels, run on Dyno carried out to check current power output before commencing work.

After fitment of reconditioned injectors and post adjustment made to pump boost compensator, vehicle was run to bring engine to operating temperature and check initial pump settings.[/i]

This is not your problem. They performed mechanical work on the engine (in other words it was mechanically modified from what it was originally after you brought it in and after that mechanical work the engine failed. This is their problem which they have attempted to cover up with their pithy little e-mail.

Their summation is immaterial. When you brought the vehicle in it was working perfectly (wasn't it?) and it wasn't when you got it back.

A little reserach on removing injectors from diesel engines strongly suggests that the 'head' of the engine is involved.

I hope you haven't signed anything away and if you haven't.....

...go for the jugular!!!! These guys cocked it up!
AnswerID: 361333

Reply By: zacc - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:28

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:28
ask for the dyno print outs , there should be two.
AnswerID: 361334

Reply By: garryk - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:29

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:29
G'day
Smells like a cover up for a stuff up to me.
Did they drain the coolant to do the required work ?
If so was it filled correctly i.e. no airlocks

"" This sudden loss of coolant has lead to an immediate rise in engine temperature causing seizure of piston rings and or pistons."
""
This does not happen in a instant
Were they watching temperature ?
I suggest you get someone else to investigate

Garry
AnswerID: 361335

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:43

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:43
Garry Hi ya

"I suggest you get someone else to investigate"

I'm going to do a Pauline Hanson "Please Explain"
Do I get other mechanic to check it out.

I need a great mechanic to fix a great rig.

madCrow
FollowupID: 629055

Follow Up By: toyocrusa - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:50

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:50
Madcow. Not sure what state you are in. Do you belong to a motoring organization(NRMA or similar) I would be talking to them if you are or maybe Fair Trading or MTA. Bob.
FollowupID: 629060

Follow Up By: garryk - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:36
G'day again Madcow
Yes I suggest that a qualified and experienced mechanic who is made aware of the whole story before starting work investigate the failure and try to determine the cause
I also suggest taking photos each step of the way and keep all the old parts
Seek advice from state automobile club if you are a member
Do not go down the exchange engine route ; if you do all evidence is gone
Question is did the failure cause the coolant loss OR did coolant loss cause the blow up ? OR is there another reason ?

Has anyone else been at it since or before the failure or is it just as it was towed away ?

Garry
FollowupID: 629097

Follow Up By: madCrow - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 00:00

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 00:00
Garry

Thanks, great advice re: keeping parts, photos, auto club advice (I've been in the RACV for too many years & still am even though I rarely if ever call them).

The Patrol is still at the place where it was blown up, I've trying to figure out who would be the best to repair it.

One of the lines they have been using was it probably was going blown & it could have happened outback & then I'd really be up the creek without a paddle.

My thoughts are it's a classic 4.2 turbo non computerised diesel that's bomb proof, only 126000 ks on the clock & they have managed to blow it up in house in a specialist diesel tuning company. the word diesel is in their name so diesel should be their game.

The very madCrow
FollowupID: 629116

Reply By: Malleerv - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:35

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:35
In my nineteen years as a mechanic this would have to be the first time I have heard of an unwanted engine failure in a controlled environment. I find it hard to believe that no one noticed the sudden increase in temp(Temp gauge wont always move when coolant lost) , sudden coolant loss and that it was kept running after this had happened long enough to size the engine all while there was someone sitting in it in a shed and possibly others nearby.

Sounds a bit fishy to me.

Matt
AnswerID: 361340

Follow Up By: toyocrusa - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:47

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:47
Malleerv,My thoughts exactly. After 35 years in the trade I would totally agree with you.With that much compression and coolant loss there would have been engine misfire symptoms long before a piston could sieze. Hope this fellow pushes this company a bit harder for recompense.Regards,Bob.
FollowupID: 629057

Reply By: oldpop - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:36

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:36
Madcow

Looks and sounds like they turned the boost up to high and screwed up big time

what area was it done no names yet

Oldpop
AnswerID: 361341

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:42

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:42
Hi Ya Oldpop

Clayton South, a tune Specialist

madCrow
FollowupID: 629054

Follow Up By: oldpop - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:48

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:48
Madcow

Thought it might have been one in Dandenong that has blown a few up

Oldpop
FollowupID: 629058

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:52

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 19:52
They are obviously not telling you the whole truth, but did they get you to sign a disclaimer before commencing the dyno? most workshops do. If so I doubt you will have any come back.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

AnswerID: 361346

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:45

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:45
hi Chris & Debbie

no did not sign any thing before they blew my rig up.

Ahhhhhh

madCrow
FollowupID: 629084

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:13

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:13
Ask if they had an EGT guage attached when they were doing the dyno?
AnswerID: 361349

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:28

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:28
I'll do that.

I still need some recommendations of good 4WD mechanics.

Hey love your rig & envious of the red one but my main rig is my patrol

Thanks mate.

madCrow
FollowupID: 629074

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:39

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:39
Did they say they were running the engine to get the temp up ? Perhaps someone may have had their foot hard down and over reving with the vehicle in "N" !

AnswerID: 361358

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:52
And after the engine rebuild, fit it with a Low Coolant Alarm.

AnswerID: 361361

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:57

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:57
Try ATOC Autos in Belgrave South. Aaron Carlton. Great 4x4 and diesel specialist. Great on Nissans. Won't let anyone else touch my rig now.Well worth it and highly reccomended.

ATOC Autos
13 Temple Road, Belgrave south
03 97542721

Mick

AnswerID: 361373

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 22:21

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 22:21
Me 3 for Aaron, he knows Missans and Yotas backwards.Doesnt talk bleep e and tells it as it is.
FollowupID: 629296

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 23:12

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 23:12
Hi Madcow,

Ring Oz Auto 4x4 Repairs, Cnr Rutherford Rd/Stephenson Rd, Seaford (9775 0378).

He has a Nissan 4x4 (which he used to race?) and the majority of his work is on Nissans.

I was referred to him 15 years ago by a troopie owner after I had winged about poor work on my 80 series.

Very capable & calls it how it is - no b/s.

I'm not sure that he will necessarily rebuild your motor himself but will definitely give good advice.

AnswerID: 361383

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 23:17

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 23:17
"and post adjustment made to pump boost compensator"

Can anyone say overfuelling and elevated exhaust gas temperature?

I'll bet you've got three cracked pistons from "and post adjustment made to pump boost compensator" rather than "a sudden loss of coolant was experienced from overflow bottle and engine itself shut down"

Go for the goolies and twist like crazy!

AnswerID: 361386

Reply By: Grungle229 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 06:28

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 06:28
I would say the boost was way too high for the head gasket to go.

They would have insurance so I would contact your insurance company to seek advice.

Good luck with it all.

AnswerID: 361391

Follow Up By: madCrow - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:38

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:38

Brilliant, thanks mega heaps, I've got total insurance I had not even thought of contacting them for advice.

Cheers madCrow
FollowupID: 629131

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:45

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:45
MC
Give Jeff a call at:
SCS 4X4 Centre
39 Boundary Rd
Braeside 3195

been using them for 14 years.

Not far from Clayton South.
Barry
FollowupID: 629132

Reply By: Holden4th - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 18:10

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 18:10
The bottom line is to get them to put their money where their mouth is. Iin other words, Name and Shame and send them a copy of your post on this site.

If they come to the party (which they certainly should) then give them the bouquets. If they don't then send them the brickbats.
AnswerID: 361502