Gas Camping Oven

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:38
ThreadID: 67528 Views:21974 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
Thinking about buying a Jackaroo Gas Camping oven with two burners above from K Mart. Have anyone ever bought this or another brand? Are there any better brands on the market as I do not want to pay for this and find it is a bit of a white elephant. Thank you for your help. Sally

Reply By: Ozymacca - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:53

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:53
Hi sally

Is this the oven on the link below.

Jackeroo oven

Cheers Macca
AnswerID: 358037

Follow Up By: Sallym - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:01

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:01
Yes this is the oven Macca, K Mart had it on special last week and they will do a rain check for me for $189. My thoughts are that if they were so great, why doesn't every camping place have gas ovens for sale? I have not found any other brands to compare it to.
Thanks Sally
FollowupID: 626150

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:13

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:13
Sally,

I don't have the jackeroo oven but I do own a webber baby Q. doing a baked dinner is so easy with the webber baby Q. You can also cook the perfect barby. I also use a cobb cooker 7 heat beads & another beautiful roast. Just click on link below to see what you can cook on the cobb cooker.

Cheers Macca

Macca's cobb cooking
FollowupID: 626160

Reply By: Tenpounder - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:59

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 17:59
Hi there.
Not familiar with the Jackaroo Gas Camping oven. But we've been using an ordinary small cast iron camp oven (sometimes a small round one, ofter an oval one) on top of a 'normal' two burner stove for years. The oval one just cover both burners, and holds a whole chook or a leg of lamb plus the roast veggies. We used to use a single burner on a second gas bottle for extra items. Now, with a Rolls Royce three burner stove, we can squeeze a small billy on the third burner for the peas!!
I seem to recall the oval camp oven set me back about $40 or less.
AnswerID: 358039

Follow Up By: Sallym - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:31

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:31
Thank you, I really like this idea as there would be less to carry and we would still get a roast. Will look at them tomorrow, appreciate the feedback. Sally
FollowupID: 626154

Follow Up By: Tenpounder - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:38

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:38
So pleased you found my suggestions useful. I am in SA, and bought the camp ovens in question from Snowy's at Richmond. They are probably available in lots of places. We use them heaps for braises, curries and casseroles as well as roasts. Any queries, please contact me on p147chris@bigpond.com.
As long as you keep the camp ovens well oiled, they come clean very easily, and we're vary happy with them.
Chris (SA)
FollowupID: 626158

Reply By: Lotzi - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:11

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:11
Gday Sallym
I had a look at one, didn't like the way it sealed, the door sprung back a bit when closed.
Chhers
Lotzi
AnswerID: 358044

Follow Up By: Sallym - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:33

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 18:33
Thanks Lotzi, this is just what I needed to hear, someone who has actually checked one out. I have been unable to actually look at one as they are sold out at the moment. The sealing is an issue and definitely do not want to have to hold the door closed with a bungee cord. Sally
FollowupID: 626155

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:07

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 19:07
bungee cord - oven .... interesting.

But at the end of the day, they may be adjustable, I know where your coming from as far as an oven goes but there are alternatives.

I think that folks liike Motherhen and Ruthd and others may be of more help.

I just use a camp oven as I don't cook for a mob any more.

Lotzi
FollowupID: 626159

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 15:12

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 15:12
Hi Sallym
These seem to work ok... follow link on ebay..

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Collapsible-Coleman-camp-oven_W0QQitemZ200325688475QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Cooking?hash=item200325688475&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

Lotzi
FollowupID: 626311

Follow Up By: Sallym - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 17:22

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 17:22
Thanks Lotzi, I saw these today for $59 at Down Under Camping, will look further into this. I am interested at what temperature range they do.
Sally
FollowupID: 626330

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:46

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 20:46
Hi Sally,

Just to expand a bit on the Camp Oven alternative, it really is quite simple and fun to cook in a camp oven.

There are camp ovens and then there are camp ovens.

After trying the cast iron oven (heavy) and the Bedourie I became "hooked" on the HillBilly Camp Oven.
Basically I liked the flexibility it provided with the shape of the lid, which keeps ashes, etc. out and doubles as a functional fry pan as well. There is also a range of "accessories" to temp you with extra functionality.

Once you have experimented you will be able to cook anything from damper, to bread, to casseroles, to a full blown Roast with the HillBilly, which also comes with a vegetable ring that sits inside.
The Bush King which I have is a valuable part of our camping gear, although we also have a Cobb Cooker as well.

The Cobb is good when there's only a couple to cook for, but when cooking for "the mob" I generally use both the Cobb and the HillBilly.

The spun metal style of camp oven such as the HillBilly provides lightness in weight and robustness in design, but like any metal cookware, does require a little bit of care to restrict rusting. Basically, after cooking, the only thing required is to wipe out the oven and smear a little bit of cooking oil over the surface. I haven't "washed" our oven as it is not required. A smooth black coating is what you are seeking which gives a not stick surface that is easy to keep clean.
You do not want a "squeaky clean, shiny metal surface"

Camp Ovens can be used in, or adjacent to a camp fire, fuelled by hot coals both underneath and on top of the oven. This of coarse requires time to supply a good source of coals.

An alternative method and the one I generally use, is to use heat beads in place of coals. As a rule of thumb use two more heat beads on the bottom and two less on top than the diameter of your oven for a "moderate" cooking temperature when baking or roasting.
For my 12" oven, 14 beads on the bottom and 10 on top works well and will last the length of the required cooking time.

I place the bottom heat beads on a rack in an old fry pan (to allow air circulation) and place the oven on top, then a few heat beads on top of the lid if required.

Two hours later and you can guarantee a meal better than anything you may cook at home in your gas or electric oven, or electric fry pan. Maybe it's just the "outdoor method" that appears superior.

Good luck with whatever you decide. Half the fun is experimentation and plenty of time for "stress free" cooking.

AnswerID: 358069

Follow Up By: Sallym - Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:09

Saturday, Apr 04, 2009 at 21:09
Thank you Bill for your great ideas, have googled Bedourie and HillBilly Camp oven and will look at these too. There are lots of accessories that come with these so will investigate.

I will probably not be using an open fire, but we do have an enclosed small brazier with a facility to put things on top (untried so far). I do like the idea of using on a gas cooker for convenience and this is a learning curve so all ideas are greatly appreciated.

I am so pleased that I posted here as I very nearly bought the gas oven today and now realise I would have missed out on some delicious meals by using a camp oven.

Sally

FollowupID: 626173

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 07:24

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 07:24
There's lots more info here:

http://www.aussiecampovencook.com/

and on the associated forum.
FollowupID: 626226

Follow Up By: Sallym - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:18

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:18
Thank you Sigmund, this is definitely a gem of a site for camp ovens.
Lots of info here and recipes. Sally
FollowupID: 626302

Reply By: Member - Magic (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 07:26

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 07:26
Hi Sally,

Just to add another idea to your question, a few friends of ours have bought the fold up Coleman oven that sits on your gas stove and are all very happy with it. From what we've seen it seems to work a treat, and folds up to almost nothing for travelling.

Jeannie
AnswerID: 358128

Follow Up By: Member - Neville & Sally C (VI - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 13:20

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 13:20
Hi Jeannie, and thankyou Sally M. for a question which I' d been tossing around for times when an open fire is out of the question.All the answers were vry helpful, but I must ask you if you can use these on a two burner camp stove. I was told that it must be used on the three burner stoves only. The other Sally
FollowupID: 626289

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 13:49

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 13:49
Hi Sally,

recently bought one to instal in the draw system in the back of the Landcruiser Pic here

With any low pressure burner they have a tendancy to flame out in a light breeze, there are cutouts on both burners that only work if the burner hasn't been used for too long or isn't too hot. Oven heats up to 245 degrees Centigrade on High and maintains 200 degrees on low, which isn't that low.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 358182

Follow Up By: Sallym - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:24

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:24
Hi Wayne & Sally
Thank you for the pic, 200 degrees is definitely not that low. You would not be able to do a slow roast very well.

They look quite heavy too so to not have it bolted in could be an issue.
Appreciate your time.

Sally
FollowupID: 626303

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 16:02

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 16:02
Hi Sally,

Hmmmm, may have to check my figures again because that is not low at all?? Mid range, ie half dial is 200 degrees. Possibly 120 degrees for low. Unit is on for a temp check, stay tuned.

Unit DIMS
Weight - 27kg
Width - 500mm
Depth - 400mm
Height closed - 450mm
Height open - 760

The packing box is much larger than the unit.

Wayne & Sally.

FollowupID: 626316

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 16:54

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 16:54
Sally,
On low the oven reaches 145 degrees after 30 minutes, as read on the supplied temp gauge. 34 degrees outside air temp at the time of test, this may have an influence on the oven temp when used in cooler or cold areas.

Wayne & Sally.

Ps. Sorry for posting the incorrect information to start, thanks for making me double check and thanks for your thanks.
W&S.
FollowupID: 626326

Follow Up By: Sallym - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 17:28

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 17:28
Thanks Wayne & Sally, The low temperature of 145 is more usable as you could do some slow cooking with that (ie roasts at 160). Appreciate your checking this. I see what you mean about the packing box being larger than the actual size.

Sally
FollowupID: 626333

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 18:41

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 18:41
Sally,
Pleased to be able to assist.

FWIW, we do have two of the folding coleman ovens and they are flat to pack ............ we found them to be a little fiddly to set up and cook in, though like everything ......... others may get on fine with them. As indicated in the linked post, (my) Sally wanted a lttle more versatility when cooking on the road and we can't use that space in the back for our fridges ....... the 110 Waeco is too big, the 15 litre Engel is too small ........... the oven was just right.
Fuel money is a little short on at the moment so there has been no oportunity to test it out on a track somewhere with a roast.

We're sure that you will make the most of whatever set-up you finally decide on and we look forward to seeing you out and about sometime.

Wayne & Sally.

FollowupID: 626343

Reply By: Garbutt - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:20

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:20
We use a 20 gallon drum with top cut off and fashioned into a lid, couple of bits of flat steel for a camp oven to sit on, and a slot in the bottom to take a gas ring burner. We cook terrific roasts etc in this when we cannot have a fire. Most campers already have a gas burner and bedourie or iron camp oven, just need the drum. It's bulky to carry but in the trailer with stuff packed in and around it not too bad. I can post a photo if required.
AnswerID: 358185

Follow Up By: Sallym - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:42

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 14:42
This is a great idea Garbutt, would be just the right size. Have had a bbq out of one of these drums, but was cut out on the side not the top. Used to have a big drum for an incinerator which was excellent. I had not thought of this so thank you for taking the time to post this. Very practical.
Sally
FollowupID: 626306