Bke Carriers on 4WD

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 21:52
ThreadID: 67313 Views:3349 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Hi, I'm looking for a bike carrier to be mounted on the rear of the truck. I don't want it mounted on the towbar as that restricts the back door.

I had a look at the THULE carrier which attaches the spare tyre, I found the sloop in Square mounting a concern and it wasn't tall enough to clear the spare.

Looking for one which will stand the vibration and knocks of a long trip over dirt roads. Has to carry two bikes.

If any body has any views, it would be appreciated .

I'm also towing a Aussie Swag Camper, but prefer not to have the bikes located on thecamper.

Thanks in advance - Terry

Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 21:58

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 21:58
I am not sure but we drove round Brisbane today and saw about a dozen cars with number plates totally obscured by bikes and bike racks.

I was pretty sure that was illegal ! :-(
AnswerID: 356939

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:08

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:08
What has that got to do with the question asked?
FollowupID: 625022

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:55

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:55
It was a polite way of saying

Make sure your number plate can be seen or you should cop a $150 fine and lose 2 demerit points.

FollowupID: 625035

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:32

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:32
Terry, I went through the same dilemma, where to put the bikes.

I didn't want them on the towbar.
I thought if I put them on the drawbar, they would get peppered with stones and grave.
What I came up with was to get a 4 channels made up for the wheels to stand in and screwed them to the frame of the floor of the CT.
I already had stainless steel eyelets around the perimeter of the floor of the CT for tying down a bit of firewood, so I got 4 ratchet straps to anchor the bikes to each corner of the floor.

I also got an upholsterer to make me 3 strips of Velcro on some nylon strapping like the ratchet straps. Half of the Velcro is the hooks and the other half is the felt.
The idea of these is to quickly wrap these velcro straps around the bike frames in different spots, then tighten the ratchet straps against the grip of the velcro straps.

The bikes are up out of the way of the flying stones, and I can see them through the rear vision mirror.
They are a bit too expensive to have dropping off along the road and they travel well there.
It takes about 5 minutes to put them there.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 356949

Follow Up By: Pebble - Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 23:04

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 23:04
If you ever did need them to be a bit more secure you could get a "crank holder" from Grip Sport (just bolt it down to your camper), it holds the bike securely (although it's advisable to still strap them down). Only downside is that it can scratch your crank arm, however you can overcome that by slipping some tyre tube over it.

It's a fantastically simple idea! Used for much more expensive downhill bikes usually, those guys "shuttle" up and down hills and don't want to be tying and untying their bikes all the time. So it must work well (I'm yet to buy one for my ute).

Grips Sport Crank Holders

FollowupID: 625037

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 23:23

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 23:23
Yeah, I thought along those lines Pebble, but I wanted to be able to flip the top of the CT over without having to unbolt stuff from the frame of the floor.
The floor invariably finishes up within an inch or two of the ground, so that's why I went for the channels for the wheels to sit in.
That stops them jumping around. It's a bit hard to get the bikes ratcheted down tight because of the spring forks.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 625040

Follow Up By: Pebble - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 10:14

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 10:14
Oh I see, I wasn't sure how low to the ground your floor went.

There's no real easier way than what you have done then, and I can imagine removing the straps and bikes is less than a 5 minute job.

Regarding the suspension, if you have seen some of the Thule racks ( like the roof ones that secure the bike by the tire?), I'm wondering if you could strap it down around the tire / fork arch? That would prevent compressing the suspension (I'm not sure if it would work though). Only drawback I can see is that you would hope the tire doesn't go flat!

Really if someone didn't want to take the bikes off at all (well say rarely on the trip- certainly not every day) then a roof rack on the car would probably be the best solution, but of course those aren't cheap and add to the cost an actual car roof rack too, and don't drive under any low clearance obstacles (carports etc).
FollowupID: 625085

Reply By: Pebble - Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:52

Sunday, Mar 29, 2009 at 22:52
We had ours on the front of the camper and found the same thing (stone chips, dirt etc).

I'm not sure what your ideal solution will be, but I have a place you can check out, they make some tough racks designed for heavy downhill mountain bikes, but also make some good ones for other bikes too, however I think they're all tow bar mounted. But I'm sure John would be more than happy to custom make you something if required as well. Or it might simply give you some ideas of making something yoruself as well.....

Just scroll down through the product range (check out the High Ride), they also sell qr mounts etc (I'm into my mtb's so apologies if I'm using jibberish language to you).

Grip Sport Australia

AnswerID: 356955

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 06:10

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 06:10
We put three bikes on top of our Cub Supamatic hardfloor camper using a similar system of a channel for the rear wheels and I took the front wheels off and using a bit of threaded rod through a U section bolted to the roofrack of the camper I bolted the front forks to it (like a normal axle). They never came loose on an extended outback trip which included Walkers crossing, Strezlecki track, Simpson desert, Oodnadatta track and 3k of bitumen.
AnswerID: 356975

Reply By: Benter - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 08:52

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 08:52
Thanks guys, appreciate the feedback.

Perhaps I need two solutions. The top of trailer for moving the bikes arounds the country and to keep them out of the dust and some sort of towbar / spare type carrier that I can transport them when I don't want o shift the camper.

I'm a little reluctant to put them on the camper as I love the idea of the camp being ready pretty much as soon as you pullup. and not having to unload anything is a bonus.

Again thanks for the feedback.

Terry
AnswerID: 356990

Reply By: aka - Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 08:54

Monday, Mar 30, 2009 at 08:54
Mate l went with last year made one out of a bike carrier cut the bottom of and welded the right diameter pipe to it and mounted it on the caravan jockey wheel when driving it worked well
AnswerID: 356991

Reply By: Member - Jeff C (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 02:40

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 02:40
G'day
I just bought a Thule 4 bike carrier for the back of a Pajero. It clears the spare and folds down (a bit heavy with the bikes still on though) enough to fully open the rear door.

Jeff
AnswerID: 358112

Reply By: Benter - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 06:36

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 06:36
Jeff, do you happen to have the model number of the Thiule carrier you bought.

Thank you
AnswerID: 358271