Ball Bearing Turbo's - What's the deal?

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 14:24
ThreadID: 66695 Views:7387 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Gday All,

After advice on anyone using (Garret) Ball bearing Turbo on a diesel.

Are they worth the extra money?...Pro's and con's

I have heard a lot of conflicting reports,
some claiming It will make no difference power wise
others say it will be a much better increase over a bush turbo
have heard that they raise the EGT way to much
One would think that because a ball bearing turbo spools up faster you would achieve better low down torque but am told by a turbo supplier that it will take bottom end torque away and deliver power higher in the rev range.
These are apparently more suited to comp trucks???

I realise it would be pointless with standard exhaust and injector settings so assuming this is also done.

Any Info on ball bearing turbos greatly appreciated

Reply By: ob - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 14:39

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 14:39
Hi ingo57
While I'm not sure why having ball bearing rather than aluminium bushes would in itself affect the turbo's performance one advantage I could see is that shutting down the engine too soon may not cause the oil crystalization problem to destroy the turbo's bearings as with bushes

Cheers ob
AnswerID: 353233

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 14:42

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 14:42
Garrett tech talk
Scroll down to bottom of page.

Seems to me it's a better system but don't know about cost.
AnswerID: 353234

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 15:08

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 15:08

Got some prices over the phone last week, quite a big difference.... just to buy!

1. Garret Ball bearing High flow turbo $2850.00....still have to buy dump pipe and exhaust

2. MTQ and Denco turbo upgrades are around $3200.00 - $3500.00 This upgrade includes: Bush Turbo, 3" dump pipe and 3" exhaust system

Cheers Ingo

FollowupID: 621401

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 16:26

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 16:26
The 7 P's Prior planning and Prep prevents bleep poor performance.
Ball turbos are supposed to spin freer and allow more boost up higher due to less restriction through the turbo. Put a big one on and you wil have no bottom end, put a small one on and it will spool quick and fast plus you can run more boost if everything else is good around it...for instance, an old nissan turbo from a v6 3 litre 300zx is ball with ceramic rear wheel...they did everything to get it to boost low, whilst running a larger exhaust turbine to allow more power up high...one of these marries quite happily to a 4 litre diesel. They must run water cooling and 14 psi is max for ceramic wheel.
Something like a gt28 Garrett would do real nice....speed costs...how fast do u wanto go??
AnswerID: 353250

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 16:47

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 16:47
Andrew,

Im just "entertaining the Idea" of trading my 4.8 to same model 4.2 oil burner. "IF" I did it, It would be a massive drop in horses and I guess Im trying to convince myself I can get a 4.2 moving swiftly without loosing to much reliability. Heard good and bad reports on Ball Bearing turbos & what they can do these engines.

FollowupID: 621411

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 19:50

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 19:50
The turbo on a 4.2 is way too small for it, there are ways around it, one is to buy an Arb/Safari turbo and install that. A friend has done this and is happy with the result. Also, the intercooler is too small for the motor aswell...putting one out the front shouldnt be too much an issue. ome on here have had heaps of overheating issues with a booster 4.2....they just dont shed heat too well.
Depending on what you need the oiler for....it should tow better than the 4.8....but for power, nothing you do to the 4.2 will get it to go like the 4.8. Gas on the 4.8 is a way of reducing costs.
FollowupID: 621431

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:26

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:26
This is the turbo that made a large difference to a 4.2 t/d cruiser

http://psi-supply.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=8

FollowupID: 621439

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 21:11

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 21:11
Out of interest Andrew, I have a front mount I/Cooler supplied by Safari and with my second battery it means I needed to custom fabricate air lines to run past this battery. The supplied Safari pipes run right through where the second battery is placed on a GU.

No major issue, but still another thing to overcome with a front mount I/cooler. End up costing me about $150 (and grazed knuckles) to fit these custom s/steel pipes bent to my specs.

This was the case when I purchased the i/cooler back in 2001, so if things have changed and Safari have other alternatives now I am sorry for the mis information.

Cheers, Trevor.

FollowupID: 621451

Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 17:02

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 17:02
Run a garrett ball bearing on the 7.3 - no problems thus far!

When you shut down and walk away - you can here the turbo fan freewheeling on it's ball bearings thru the 4 inch exhaust.

You can swap out the standard fan for a wicked wheel if you want more performance - but like everything these days it costs an arm and a leg.

The standard Garrett runs 15 psi boost without problem, the wicked wheel will get you 25 psi if everything else will hold together.

Seems a waste to me, putting good Garret gear onto a Nissan......but to each his own! ;o)

AnswerID: 353256

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:47

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 20:47
Thanks for that Flywest how much boost are you running over standard and how long has it been on there.

Oh and "good Garret gear onto Nissan" Could be worse, I could look at putting Ford parts on it! lol
FollowupID: 621445

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 18:29

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 18:29
Dont know about Turbos but Ive got a Ball Bearing rat trap.

Cant find it at the moment its up a tree with the cat next door

AnswerID: 353270

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:55

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2009 at 22:55
Hi Ingo,

Try a mm to Rossco td105 . He has a Garrett tubro in his 100 and knows about stuff.

Matt

AnswerID: 353329

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 10:40

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 10:40
G'day,

I think You and Dozer have hit the nail on the head. Preparation...

1: If you set the vehicle up properly a ball bearing turbo can provide a wider range of power. Not sure that you would necessarily give "more" power than a well set up bush turbo.

2: A ball bearing won't give higher EGT's than an equivalent bush bearing ie similar size/water cooled etc....

3: Ball bearing units do spool faster than thrust bearing, hence size choice for application is pretty important (As it is for any turbo fitment). You would generally fit a slightly larger ball bearing turbo if upgrading a vehicle, you maintain factory low end boost due to the ball bearing design, and gain better top end due to higher flow characteristics form the larger turbo.

4: If the wrong size turbo is fitted, you will loose bottom end and gain top end. At the other end, a GT2555R on a big engine would give nearly full boost off idle, and be well out of breath by 2500rpm. All turbos have an 'efficiency range'. This is not specific to a ball bearing unit.

5: Both turbo styles will benefit from a larger exhaust (and dump pipe) as well as pump mods.

When I was setting mine up, the 'difference' between a bush and ball turbo was about $800. I guess this doesn't apply so much to you if you are upgrading a turbo.

Good luck,

Ross.
AnswerID: 353377

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:14

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:14
Thanks Ross

Seems like ball bearing is the way to go If replacing a turbo.
I will continue my research based on what size ball turbo would best suit before going any further.

Thanks for your advice

FollowupID: 621535

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:38

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 12:38
No prob mate.

There's lots of info out there, it just sometimes gets a bit distorted by retailers, especially if it's for very specific modifications rather than off the shelf applications.

Ross.
FollowupID: 621537

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 17:05

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2009 at 17:05
>> some claiming It will make no difference power wise
Steer clear of those 'pro's'

>> others say it will be a much better increase over a bush turbo
The correct turbo setup PROPERLY will.

>> have heard that they raise the EGT way to much
That would depend on if you have it tuned properly. Mine dropped 100 degrees across the range. I cant get mine over 450 now in the same road where it got 600 before. But it was setup by one of the best around.

>> One would think that because a ball bearing turbo spools up faster you would achieve better low down torque but am told by a turbo supplier that it will take bottom end torque away and deliver power higher in the rev range.
All depends on how its setup and the inlet/outlet housing sizes..

You can put a turbo on off a Cummins, will take all day to spool up but will go like bleep up top. You can put a turbo off a 1.1ltr and it will spool up instantly but run out before you get moving.

You need to find the right size turbo, and inlet/outlets for your purpose.

Mine increased torque ~70% and power around the same increase.

>> These are apparently more suited to comp trucks???
No.
AnswerID: 353454

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:00

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:00
Im assuming you are running a bearing turbo?

70% is a mighty Increase - that would be around 130kw at the rear wheels (roughly the same as a 4.8) what other mods have you done to be able to achieve a figure like that?
FollowupID: 621697

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:14

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:14
Correct -
130.x at wheels.
522Nm at wheels.

I have been working with Andy at Dieseltec http://www.diesel-tec.com.au/, doing some R&D on different turbos. Very interesting results were had.

I ended up with a BB Garrett. 3inch exhaust was already fitted. Pump tune/dyno tune, nothing else was done.

Anyway look at the charts, to see the power loss from going up tire sizes. VERY EYE OPENING!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is the last update which I will be updating now I've done a 1000-2000klms since the work, that I posted on outers regarding "Stage 4", to read the lot, go here. http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/phpBB2/ftopic153127-90-0-asc-.php
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Last update:
Well picked it up today - Finished... Andy had a smile, that was a great sign!!! Actually the car was ready Tuesday, but I offered for him to keep it for a few days to try things, and drive around to make sure he was happy with it (Actually I couldnt get there until today )

In the end it turned out that Stage 3 didn't happen, and I ended up with stage 4 - a nice shiney new Garrett Andy has worked with these before, and knows them well.

:End Result:

265 AT's: 386 Ftlb (522.75Nm)
265 AT's: 130rwkw@102kph

285 MTRs: 312 Ftlb (422.54Nm)
285 MTRs: 111rwkw@108kph
Figures converted from Ftlb using
http://www.mr2ownersclub.com/converter.htm

Now I always realised there would be a bit of difference in power and torque from 31's to 33's, but didn't realise how much you lose with going up 2inches in tire size!

Anyway, onto driving it..

So far I have only driven it 60 odd klms home from Lilydale Via Eastlink with a few dozen traffic lights in the middie then freeway. Stop starting, you notice the difference. It actually goes! It is Soooooooo SMOOOoooth . No squealing, no oil leaks, and feels great!

Very nice even power Delivery from standing up to 100 with no flat spots, and power delivery comes in from low down.

EGT's are down ~100-150 degrees over the Housing 2

Car goes back to Andy after 1000klms for checking fittings and general once over. Thats service !!

To Andy and his team, thanks for your time, and work with this.. Good to deal with someone that tells you how it is upfront instead of stringing you along with drivel, lies and bull bleep .. That makes a change!

It is a shame that the first 2 didn't work out more for his sake than mine as Andy and his team put a bleep load of time and effort into this project. But thats what R&D is all about isnt it, not everything you try will work.

There ya have it... Now, how to get 130rw with the 285s
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FollowupID: 621718

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:15

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:15
That is a pretty big drop in regards to tyre sizes...Thanks for the info and the other link, I will be interested to know what your consumption comes in at, as the old saying goes more power = more fuel.

Ingo
FollowupID: 621768

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:04

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 20:04
Fuel hasnt changed that much :) Actually the first tank full was chitloads better than the previous turbo that was on there, by a LOOoooonnnnnnnnnng way...

The best thing is the EGT's have dropped 100 degrees.. Extremely happy with that!
FollowupID: 621822

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 04:15

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 04:15
Hy Truckie you amaze me are you not just a truck drive as per your handle.. (LOL) how do you know all this stuff, Been going to school or something? or just relying on what other people say..

It's a pity....
FollowupID: 622212