Can a diesel run backwards?.
Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:39
stephen looking
I was talking to a mate the other day and he was talking about a diesel he saw running backwards? eg exhaust coming out of the air intake.
What would cause this to happen and is it really running backwards or is it some thing else.
Regards.......Stephen.
Reply By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:46
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:46
I have heard of this happening but never actually seen it, would be interesting.
Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:35
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:35
YES....when I was working underground we used to have these man carriers...eimco 955's and it was so funny watching "Branka" drive it up to the surface backwards after when starting it up,the engine would fire and go in reverse........didn't seem to do any harm but funny to watch.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:47
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:47
Never really thought much about how it works....But
Yes! They certainly can....My old 2H did!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:52
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:52
dont ALL yota's do that??
:-P
Follow Up By: Flash32 - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:59
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:59
Many an
old tractor could run backwards.......The Lanz Bulldog and the Field Marshall, Used to start them running backwards and then change over to running clockwise.
If you then put them in reverse gear when the engine was going backwards you would go forwards and visa versa. They used to run on sump oil or diesel. 540 rev per minute....Started them with a blowlamp under the hotbulb or with a shot gun type bullet and then the one cylinder would fire away...............
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 23:40
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 23:40
I have a 1985 Yamaha 2 stroke petrol golf cart with no gearbox. To go backwards the starter turns the motor in reverse! In theory it will go just as fast backward as forward. I have not tried that and dont intend to. It is pretty quick in forward gear. It cant happen with a 4 stroke without resulting in eventual serious damage.
In the days of crank handles, yes I am old enough to remember,you had to remember not to put your thumb over the handle. When the old engines backfired and / or started backward the handle could break your thumb or hand or anything else that got in the way.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:55
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:55
Hi Flash32,
It is possible that a 2-stroke diesel can run backwards, and both the Lanz and the Field Marshall were 2-strokes, but the Field Marshal could only be started in one direction; the proper way, by virtue of its crank handle and the one direction it could operate. Also the decompression valve would only close if the engine turned inthe correct direction. Similarly, using the explosive-charge starter could only be set up to start in the correct direction.
The ability of a 2-stroke diesel to run backwards is limited by the fuel injection being very retarded in the reverse direction.
Generally, a 2-stroke diesel would run backwards due to not starting correctly and kicking back, to then continue running backwards, albeit very inefficiently.
Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:53
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:53
The old semi diesel 2 st bulldog tractors could run either way. In fact the early models had no reverse gear, had to slow the motor right down then as it was about to stop rip the throttle out and hope it was spinning the other way to go backwards. They develped enormous torque in relation to their horsepower.
Reply By: toyotabits.com - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:53
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:53
G'day Stephen L, I had a Bulldog tractor, crank start - with the steering wheel! single cylinder, when it fired sometimes you had 3 reverses & 1 foreward, so when it started backwards you would shut the throttle off, then it would backfire, so quickly you would open the throttle a little & bingo it would be normal! I dod't think a modern diesel engine would start backwards because of the firing order, seee yaaa, aussiedingo
Follow Up By: toyotabits.com - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:57
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 21:57
ERROR! (oldtimers) a modern diesel wouldn't start backwards because of the firing order
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:12
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:12
I dont know what you call modern? But a 2H can run backwards, I know that for a fact.
Mine did.
Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:03
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:03
A diesel certainly could run backwards because I guess they don't care whether they draw air from the inlet or exhaust system. The old 2 stroke Detroit Diesels did this very
well. Having said that the 4 strokes don't run backwards all that
well and because now the oil pump is also running backwards I doubt they would run for very long, 2 or 4 stroke.
Cheers Pop
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 12:36
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 12:36
Yeah, The Kenworth K100 with 892 or 871 Detroits had an emergency button for that exact reason,If you stalled it the engine could run backwards.
Reply By: Skippype - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:05
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:05
Believe me a diesel engine will run backwards. I work on oil rigs and if, as you are drilling the drill bit gets stuck on the bottom but the string keeps turning it gets to a stage when the engine stalls. The entire string will spin backwards and, if you have a direct drive,
it will turn the engine over backwards. The engine will run for a short while blowing exhaust out through the air intakes and cleaners and try to suck fuel through the exhaust, I would imagine it would be the same as rolling backwards down a
hill with a truck in a forward gear and your foot off the clutch.
Skip
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:11
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:11
Yep ...spot on.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:32
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:32
dont drill rigs run off of hydrolic power? I havnt seen an oil rig but all other rigs ive seen dont run directly off of the motor
Follow Up By: Skippype - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:43
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:43
Some are diesel powered some diesel / electric and some are electric.
Most work over rigs are direct drive from diesel engines.
Skip
Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 12:43
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 12:43
Hi Skip, I used to me a mech on one of your rigs way back, rig 20 maybe? also with an elec here, Murray, that did some work on rig 5 with you. We are now offshore, Indonesia, good to see your still around.
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:15
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:15
The toyota H and 2H moors would run backwards if stalled in low range on a
hill as the compression hit.
Made a big mess inside the aircleaner ;-))
They had a second oil pressure switch to shut the motor down if this happened as with it running backwards the oil pump was going the wrong way and engine damage would result if it kept going without oil.l
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:20
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:20
Hi Stephen,
As Hairy has stated, the 2H Toyota 4.0 litre six will most certainly run backwards.
The phenomenom is so
well known Toyota installed a low oil pressure fuel cutout at the factory.
If the 2H runs backward it doesn't build oil pressure and will eventually sieze without oil flow.
Hence the low oil pressure cutout to shut off the fuel before any damage is done.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:29
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:29
as said the 2h certainly could which is why they had a low oil pressure cut out after 10 seconds to stop them doing just that.
the rotary pump of the 1HZ does not allow it to happen
dunno about nissans
certainly i seriosly doubt any modern or semi modern 4by would
Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 09:19
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 09:19
They have had fires underground from HJ75 engines running backwards and setting the paper air filter on fire.
The Mines Dept has a notice out requiring all 2H engines to have the device which keeps them from running backards left in place
Reply By: SteveD - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:59
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 22:59
Early CAT graders would run backwards for a while, CATERPILLAR fixed this by changing the the angle of the lobes on the camshaft and therefore changed the valve opening duration of the valves.
New engines, no way, electronic speed timing sensor would not savvy firing order.
Follow Up By: Member - desray (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:58
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:58
the diesel engine runs backwards using and burning the sump oil sucked in the breathers , electric pumps on (new engines ) speed sensors or firing order would not make any difference. The engine runs on its own oil not diesel .
Follow Up By: SteveD - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:04
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:04
A breather is exactly that, usally on tthe valve or tappet cover and external to the engine to atmosphere for the engine to breath, it can not " suck oil " and has nothing to do with the combustion chamber. A speed timing sensor has everything to do with an engine running at the right speed in the right direction. The sensor measures pulse width modulation and measures
the gap on a chopper wheel in the engine, the gaps in the wheel shows the sensor where each cyilinder is at, particularly number 1. The PWM sensor feeds this info the electronic c0ntrol module with in turn tells the injectors when to inject. A eletronic engine will not run backwards. Any engine running on its own oil is rare and could happen to any engine but only if it has run away and was in the final stages of destruction, most probably from overfueling and more than likely running in the correct direction.
........ I'm s diesel mechanic with over 20years experience with Caterpillar dealers.
Cheers SD
Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:37
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:37
stevewe had an incident underground with a 1hz running on its own oil.
the investigation showed the operator saw it was low in oil and pumped some in while he had no idea how much i heard a figure of 20l from the investigation (they had some sort of high speed pump for the oil in the UG fuel bay)
as he was driving all the oil blocked everything up and the sump pressurized forcing oil into the PCV and into the inlet which made it run faster which further presurized it --------- and you get the idea.
smoked out the whole decline and everyone had to take rufuge in the fresh air bases and refuge chambers.
i guess he panicked (
young student engineer) and didnt think to stall it
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 23:44
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009 at 23:44
Stephen,
Some are accually designed to run backwards. One of the Navys Ships HMAS Tobruk main engine can run in reverse. It has a two stage cam shaft and when reverse is selected the engine comes to a stop and hydraulic pressure shifts the position of the cam(if my memory serves me correctly) so the engine car run in reverse.
Couldnt find a link on tobruks engines sorry, maybe someone else can.
Matt
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:12
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:12
Hi Matt,
The Sulzer Marine Diesels are designed to run backwards, it's mostly the only way the ship can go astern.
The Sulzer's are 2 - Stroke so probably not the one you are looking for.
See:
Wartsila-Sulzer
Or:
Wartsila-Sulzer
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 09:17
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 09:17
Matt,
Not TOBRUK, but STALWART did have the Sulzer two stroke diesels and going astern involved stopping and restarting the diesels in reverse.
It was always an interesting ship to drive as their was a delay in going from ahead to astern while the engine shut down and re-started in the other direction. They were started pneumatically as
well which meant that you always had to watch the charge air, do it too often and too quickly and there would be a delay while air pressure caught up again. A good recipe for trouble if you weren't careful.
Reply By: Member - Chris & Sue (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:16
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:16
Slightly off topic, but does anyone remember the Lightburn Zeta made by the washing machine people? Depending on how you looked at it, it either had no or 4 reverse gears. To go backwards, you stopped the motor and started it in reverse, hence 4 speeds in either direction.
Interesting, but not one of Australia's great automotive moments.
Lightburn Zeta Link
"Ask to see a Lightburn!"
Follow Up By: Member - John W (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:42
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 00:42
The only thing I remember about the zeta was pushing it up a
hill in briso, it just would not do it by itself
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:00
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:00
Yep, might have been a success in Europe just after the war, but poorly researched market-wise here for Oz.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:11
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:11
The Lightburn Zeta was designed and built only in Australia.
Another vehicle (if you can call it that) that needed to be stopped and re started in the opposite direction for reverse was the tiny 3 wheel Messerschmidt bubble car.
As an aside, there were a number of single cylinder 2 stroke marine motors of the early to mid 1950's that could run successfully in both directions. Blaxland and Chapman Pup both spring to mind as doing that.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:27
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 01:27
Hi, Disco,
Yes, I remember the Oz-designed/made Zeta
well. As I say, cars of that ilk might have been some success in Europe just after the war, but when the Zeta was released in 1963 (I recall), you could already buy a Mini for about 50 quid more, and it was a far more sophisticated car (and better looking); ie, Lightburn didn't do their research very
well. The engine/transmission for the Zeta was imported from Europe, and I suspect it was the same as for the Gogomobile, popular a few years earlier.
I think with the Blaxland and Chapmans, in pushing the engine into reverse, the timing of the magneto was moved to allow this. And the timing for the Zeta would have had to have been similarly changed to operate efficiently.
Follow Up By: Dion - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:32
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 08:32
One of the motorised section cars we use on the Pichi Richi Railway up at
Quorn has the Zeta Lightburn engine in it. As allready described, you change direction of the engine by turning the key in the required direction.
With rails to guide the section car, you can certainly take advantage of using all four gears at WOT going in reverse.
Dion.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 13:35
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 13:35
Hi Dion,
I guess 4 reverse gears would work fine on a rail car, but a bit tricky on the road!
The old British Army Austin Champs had no low range - just a 5-speed gearbox and a forward/reverse transfer case. One could go a fast in reverse as forward. Again, a bit tricky at speed in reverse!
Gerry
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:00
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:00
Rumour has it that when the Poms decided that the Austin Champ was taken out of service, they were offered to the Italian Army as a job lot.
The Italians were very keen on them because, as Joc45 rightly said, they were as fast in retreating as they were in advancing.
The Austin Champ was a perfect example of an extremely over designed unit, extremely effective as a military vehicle but required technical expertise to service them, everything was totally waterproofed. A basic service took several hours compared to the replacement vehicles (Landrover S1 and later the S2 and 2A) half hour for the equivalent service.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:48
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 15:48
LOL! I was going to suggest that comment about the Italian army, but feared the post might get pulled by the moderator!
Yes, the Champs were grossly over-engineered. Waterproofing everywhere. Even gearbox seals were double, with a grease pack between the two seals, and a grease nipple to fill the void with grease before tackling water crossings. The 2.6L Rolls Royce engine was pretty inefficient and gave quite poor economy.
There was a radio communications version vehicle which had a special generator with a two-speed planetary gearbox to allow full generator output at engine idle. All spark leads were encased in metal braid to stop interference.
Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 04:31
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 04:31
yes they can, but only the older ones. I remember whilst I lived on King Island, and the last year I worked with the Council there.
I was on the road gang with the "2 Ikes".
This particular day Ike, the driver, rolled the old Toyota Tipper to a stop, and his foot slipped off the clutch, the truck rocked back and
forth, and the motor went into "spaz mode". The only way he could shut her off was to cut the fuel off at the pump.
Interesting stuff. !
Reply By: Ace000 - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 07:53
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 07:53
I remember a Case Dozer with a 301 cubic inch 6 Cyl. that if rolled down a
dam wall and direction changed at the wrong time would fire in reverse..You certainly knew because the oil bath aircleaner would give a gasp and blow oil all over the bonnet..The guru's of course said it couldn't happen on a 6 cylinder and on many it would not but there were certainly occasions when it would..
Reply By: Dusty & Bumpy - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:27
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 10:27
G'day AQll.
The old R6 Perkins would run backwards. We had them fitted to mining trucks in the 50's, if the driver missed the gear and it rolled backwards with a load and the clutch out off she would go. The engine would rev until it self destructed (many times it happened) speed was not limited because they were fitted with a vacuum governer, the exhaust was now the intake and the govener was not getting vacuum. Bang!
The drivers were instructed if it happened they were to run around and put their foot on the now sucking exhaust pipe. You could use your hand (if it was not hot) no harm would result - this will stop any engine.
All big ships diesels run backwards for reverse. Old McDonald big (8"
bore) single cylinder engines would run backwards - they were started by swinging on the flywheels, one bloke either side - if they started three times backwards we would leave it run all day using forward for reverse. One of my 2H engines did it once but only for a few seconds until the oil switch stopped her.
Interesting post, thanks
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 11:16
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 11:16
Yes, I had it happen to me...
early '70s, backing a (then new) DA series Toyota truck out of a very steep
farm driveway.. got it just at stall point, next thing she took off down the
hill forward in reverse gear!!
Certainly wasn't expecting that (sh@t meself for a second there;-)) but jammed me foot on the brake & stalled it before any damage was done......
I was very careful after that, to not let that engine get near the point of stalling;-))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 21:28
Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 21:28
Ed quite possible it was a h motor which others have stated can run backwards.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Mar 06, 2009 at 01:07
Friday, Mar 06, 2009 at 01:07
G'day Pete,
From memory (it was a while ago;-)), those trucks had an engine capacity around 6.5L (certainly had some get-up-and-go;-)), so not the H engine, though it would appear they must have had similar design characteristics.............
Catch ya later.. Ed C
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Mick15 - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 17:45
Wednesday, Mar 04, 2009 at 17:45
Nissan sd series diesels also will start backwards - probably most older diesels with an inline pump would - until the low oil pressure would shut the pump off - if applicable
Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 00:38
Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 00:38
I saw it happen once underground at Olympic
Dam.
Was in about 1989 or 1990.
An IT (integrated toolcarrier) nudged a parked 75 series (?) Toyota ute at the shaft plat (congested area).
The ute sprang to life and ROARED backwards. Within a few metres the aircleaner caught fire. It travelled backwards say 40ish metres until it went into a sump. It roared for a few seconds whilst in the sump and then stopped abruptly (presumably as water was sucked up the exhaust pipe).
It was all over within say 10 or 20 seconds. The plat and sump were adjacent to the u/g workshop. The guys pulled it from the sump and took it to the workshop. Later that shift they they got it running again after they drained the water from it. They did say it ran pretty rough though.......
It opened my eyes. I never parked a vehicle in gear for a while after that - just in case it got a nudge.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 23:46
Thursday, Mar 05, 2009 at 23:46
there was a mines DPT alert about the 75s willingness to run in reverse