Submitted: Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:57
ThreadID: 66188 Views:2418 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
could anyone help with any info re this type of vehicle

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:52

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:52

Fred - This was mine. A great car but I brought it with 75k on the clock and sold it with 150k. Never missed a beat. Good all round car, heavy on fuel if you put the foot down or tow. I have heard people say on this Forum that 280k would be the life of the motor. So that may be the only drawback. Get it checked out by a professional and take it from there. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 350418

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:25

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:25
G'day Fred, you wont hear anything bad about Jacks from me, but mine is a 2000 3.5L auto with 110k now, purchased with 87k on it 3 years ago for $14k. I think the 96 had a smaller 3.2 donk.
With those k's it would need to be cheap as there are good sub 100k jobs around for around $10k. One on Ebay recently..99
model, 75k went for $8k...seemed a genuine jobby too. They
have a rep for being thirsty but I get 15L/100 towing a C/t & around 13L/100 not towing, but I stress that is driven gently,
not over 100kph. No problems with mine, big, strong, plenty of
room, tows fine, power there if you want it. Best value low K
4WD on the market, I reckon, if you can find the right one.
$20k wont buy mine, only used as a holiday car though & excels
at the job...cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 350424

Reply By: fred pace - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:32

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:32
$4990 perfect inside
AnswerID: 350428

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:55

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:55
G'day Fred, a quick look at Ebay shows a 99 Man 3.5 with 180k
for $7k..at a dealers. I think 100k less for $2k more is a good deal.
Should get it for $500 less anyway. But if you spend $5k on a
really good body & have to repower you still get a good truck for
not huge bucks. Have a good look around...Ebay generally over
the odds this week. Check Carpoint & Trading Post. You will find
a gem if patient....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 618741

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:51

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:51
Wise advice from Baz their Fred, we just sold our 93 Paj with 98000ks for $7400.00 which is a lot for an NH, but the buyer will get 100000ks with very little trouble, cheaper to pay a bit more and get a good one.
FollowupID: 618762

Reply By: fred pace - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:34

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:34
asking price $4990 perfect inside
AnswerID: 350430

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:52

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:52
I have head the 3.2s if very well serviced are good for 400000ks plus, get a compression test done and check for service history, if no history walk, their are heaps of good one arround for arround $10000.
By the time you overhaul the motor and gearbox this one could cost you $12000.
But yes they are good thing if well serviced, also I have seen low k 96 Jacks for $7000.00
From 2 Jack Pete LOL
AnswerID: 350435