A new threat to 4WD owners

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:16
ThreadID: 64924 Views:5241 Replies:25 FollowUps:56
Yesterday I decided to pick up groceries for SWMBO on the way back from a job.
So there I am outside of Coles loading groceries into the back of the Disco 3 when I get abused by a Toyota Owner.

No, not a Cruiser owner (I'm used to getting a lot of info from them as to how poor my choice of 4 Wheel drive is) but rather a Prius owner.

He approached me with.... "So where do you get off driving around in a car like that and ruining the planet?" I was a bit stunned to be honest and looked at him and said.. "So, do you walk everywhere?"

"No" was the reply, "I drive that Toyota Prius over there!"

"Fabulous," says I. "I've been waiting to meet a Prius owner and give them the news about their car. Do you know that the cradle to grave green house emissions from your car are equal to A Disco 3, or a Hummer etc? Do you know the nickel mine in Canada where the nickel for your batteries comes from is an environmental disaster area... NASA test their Mars Rovers there."

I started to tell him about how the nickel is processed etc and he didn't want to hear. Told me I was a typical 4 wheel drive owner and a climate change denier etc etc.

I told him that the planet has been cooling these past few years and he went nutso!!!

It seems to me that global warming is the new religion.. of the left! We have all sinned against the earth and must repent! God I'm glad I'll be dead in 30 years!

Mark T

P.S. If you see a white Prius driving around Ascot/Hamilton/Clayfield in Brisbane by a driver with a little goatee beard.. take care. You could be his next victim if you choose to drive a 4 wheel drive.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:23

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:23
Recently on Top Gear they referred to exactly the same thing and said that it is worse to make the batteries than run a normal car.
Maybe if I see him he may be a victim of a bullbar up his gunga.

Beware of drivers with goatees and wearing a hat.

Discos would be good in Hamilton I guess

ROFL
AnswerID: 343242

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:28

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:28
"Discos would be good in Hamilton I guess "

Discos are good anywhere :-)

Actually Hamilton is a Mecca for Audi Q8 things. Great to dive.. on the highway!

MT

FollowupID: 611065

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:35

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:35
I think it is a Q7 actually
FollowupID: 611096

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 00:55

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 00:55
Q8 is in the middle east where the oil comes from
FollowupID: 611167

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:52

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:52
Hamilton

I was wondering on your use of the word "gunga".

In the top end of the NT it is a name for cannabis

I am still trying to figure out why you would put a bullbar up his cannabis.

Cannabis use could be the reason for his behaviour.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 611187

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 15:03

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 15:03
Its a Kiwi expression referring to the place where would apply a good boot to. Like up the A****.

FollowupID: 611261

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:07

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:07
Hey,

Go easy on the goatees... LOL

Ross.
FollowupID: 611325

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:33

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:33
Just keep those wankers up in Queensland please.

AnswerID: 343244

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:51

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:51
Hey Gramps

The little Gnome with the Goatie Beard might have been a southern
immigrant lol lol.
FollowupID: 611068

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:01

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:01
Daza,

You could be right, he could be from one of our inner city sheltered workshop type suburbs like Leichhardt.

FollowupID: 611070

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:06

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:06
Or worse still, from Marrickville, breed heaps of them there.

FollowupID: 611071

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:15

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:15
Gramps,
Driven through Glebe recently. Had a Nanna a cost me with the same rhetoric. Just sat there saying yes Madam yes Madam.

Drove six feet and a young fella came up to me exposing the same.

We had a discussion which did not meet with an amicable parting.

Punched him in the head and felt a lot better.

FollowupID: 611088

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:24

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:24
Blue one,

Your experiences at beautiful downtown Glebe reminded me of an erudite publication I used to read in my wild left wing days, Direct Action. What a disgraceful rag that was LOL

FollowupID: 611093

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:39

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:39
Gramps,
No worries with the brothers just can't stand the wowsers.

FollowupID: 611100

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:45
G'day Blue one

Isn't english a wonderful language? I don't want to lower the tone of an erdudite discussion but if a young fella in Sydney came anywhere near me exposing six feet I think I'd run a mile. LOL

avvagoodone
FollowupID: 611101

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:07
Very good John, that was a cracker

Espousing

I stand corrected.

FollowupID: 611107

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:34

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:34
Mark , I have been victim to these types for years, I drive a 5" lifted cruiser and a 20 foot caddy with a 8.2 litre lol . I found trying to justify your self does not work, tell him how love to polute and that you only use your car to do shopping lol . Waching them freek is better for the sole .

As I said before , I have a black 100 with a five inch lift , 35's and all the reg goodies . The one that makes me laugh is ... Do you go off road ????

I always answer , off road ... no way , might scratch my car lol .. so the next question comes ..... why dop you have a winch ??? I always answer , to move people out of my way ....

boy do I get there blood to boil lol
AnswerID: 343245

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:55

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:55
I'd have drawn their attention to your baby harpseal seat covers (love that white fur), you Uranium 253 hubcaps (it glows in the dark), your whale skin tonnaux cover (so resiliant and flexible) and the fact that you only use biodiesel made from rendered whale blubber and left it at that.

FollowupID: 611069

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:37

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:37
Mick,
Do you drive really slow in the ultra fast lane, while people behind you are going insane ? Your an rsole !
Willie
FollowupID: 611098

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:52
Bro,

ROFLMAO have you had a bad day ?

FollowupID: 611103

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:30

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:30
No Bro Al, I had a good one considering the market crapped itself again.

It's a song by Dennis Leary that Mick has drawn from - "I'm an rsole". Check it out on iTunes.

Bro Willie.

FollowupID: 611141

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:58

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:58
Bro,

Phewwww ! You had me worried there for a moment. I thought the market shenanigans had finally gotten to ya.

FollowupID: 611145

Reply By: olddigger - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:41
Hey! I'm in the early stages of joining the world of 4WD owners (in that I have yet to choose just what make/model I want).
I didn't realise that when the happy day arrives, I'll meet lots of new people in supermarket carparks and have interesting convrsations with pious pricks!
As the man said in Apocalypse Now: "God, I love the smell of napalm in the morning."
AnswerID: 343246

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:56

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:56
Well make sure you don't buy a Discovery. You'll have Prius owners giving you shyte as well.

Louie
FollowupID: 611104

Reply By: hotfishez - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:07

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:07
this is definatley not the first time the prius owner has "stepped up", are they the new "Volvo driver"
AnswerID: 343250

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:28

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:28
I thought volvos were safe, I was once told if you crash into a Prius call Hazchem cause of the toxicity of the battery bank.

Also, put a prius on a highway and you get corolla economy. My Toyota Echo cost half the price of a Prius and gets 5.7L/100km on the highway, if a Prius has a go at my hilux I'll take him to town on facts and tell him to put his head inside a plastic bag and put it on the tailpipe of his prius and at the same time I'll do the same on my diesel Hilux, I'll then tell him I'll see him in hell but he'd have to wait another 40yrs for me.
FollowupID: 611116

Reply By: scottyboy - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:30

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:30
I can't stand when people make your business theirs with total ignorance.

You guys need to check out Adams Sandlers latest movie Bedtime Stories. His potential girlfriend (before they new each other) starts hacking into him because his big old gas guzzling pickup is taking up 2 car spaces. He starts paying out on her and her Prius. She asks how does he know she owns a Prius !! He says its pretty obvious. very funny.

I am sure there a lot of goatee beard drivers with a Prius in Hamilton/Ascot!!
AnswerID: 343257

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:34

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:34
New hip name for Drought- Global Warming-
AnswerID: 343258

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:36

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:36
Maybe if someone could be so good as to collate all the facts re how environmentally UN friendly the Prius is, and also how "clean" the average diesel 4by is, just so we could shove a page of facts under their noses ( NOT up it, I know what you are thinking!!!) and leave them to it....
AnswerID: 343259

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:16

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:16
Somewhere on the internet is a listing of how good vehicles are in the recycling stakes ....

01 is best rating ... Gas guzzling planet destroying TJ jeep wrangler was from memory ... #3 and the Prius was well into the double digits ... LOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 611206

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:38

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:38
Why are some people so eager to give some one a piece of their mind? Some people really shouldn't do that, because they don't have much to start with ;-) Some people are just so angry. And some have more front than Myers. A very bitter old man I think.
AnswerID: 343260

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:52

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:52
Jon,

"A very bitter old man I think"

What makes you think he was old ? Sounds more like a mid thirties/forties tree hugger to me. The country is full of them, unfortunately. :)))

FollowupID: 611079

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:17

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:17
Het Al,
I'm thinking anyone over 40 these days, My reason for thinking this?
While we were camped at Woody Head in the first week of December, A couple of young blokes in their early 20's had pitched their tent over the top of the transpiration area. Probably cause it was nice and green. Anyway I pointed this out to them, their response was "^%$# O@@ you old &^%$. I PMSL and said," give me a break I'm only 42" Another young fella comes out of the tent and says" Man! that's old.

Ya See Al, I'm old too apparently, So please don't take offense, ;-)

FollowupID: 611089

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:21

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:21
Jon,

Hahahahahahahaha you'll be joining Footy, Willem and I in the old fossils collection soon.

FollowupID: 611092

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:35

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:35
And I'll be loving it ;)))
FollowupID: 611097

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:04

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:04
Wot's wrong with hugging trees?

Fossils? Nah we are young bucks compared to some here on the speakeasy.
FollowupID: 611105

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:12
Willem,

LOL it comes in handy when the world goes into one of those spinning fits. I've been known to hug a few trees now and then.
FollowupID: 611109

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:00

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:00
Hairs have you noticed that those who are eager to give one a piece of their mind are the ones who are LEAST ABLE TO SPARE IT due to the small size of it in the first place, which I believe is due to them giving LOTS of people a piece of their mind.

FollowupID: 611323

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 06:04

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 06:04
How right you are Bonz.

'And the only Wilderness is between a Greenies ears'

Saw that on the back of a car twenty odd years ago, and it
still rings true.

FollowupID: 611345

Reply By: wrexed03 - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:47

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:47
I would have smacked hiim in the mouth and and squashed his Prius with my 4wd im sure with my lift kit i should be able to get those front tyres turning on his bonnet.
The look on his face would be priceless.

AnswerID: 343264

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:07

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:07
LOL that is so funny - some people are SO judgemental

Caz
FollowupID: 611084

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:16
Damn your bad....I would have just keyed his car after he went into the shops all proud of his achievement of saving the planet
FollowupID: 611111

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 23:01

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 23:01
No wonder 4WDs have a bad reputation!
FollowupID: 611147

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:24

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:24
Remember when we young enough to know everything?
AnswerID: 343272

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:28

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:28
Did you ask him if he's arrogant enough to abuse people whenever they're eating meat ?

It's a scientifically accepted fact that the greenhouse gasses (methane) emitted by all the cattle and sheep in Australia actually exceeds the damage caused by greenhouse gasses from ALL forms of road transport in Australia.

Did you ask him if he abuses every Commodore driver he sees ?

According to the Government Greenguide, the Pajero Diesel Auto has the same fuel economy as a Commodore. I got 9.1 L/100km Sydney to Pennant Hills travelling at the speed limit with 4 adults plus luggage.

Arrogant fools like that alienate people against support for the environment, rather than getting them on side.
AnswerID: 343274

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:37

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:37
Ferntree Gully to Avoca and back - 7.43l/100 in an ML Triton DiD...

You throw figures like that around and they call you a lying 'bleep'...

FollowupID: 611099

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:40

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:40

Good point..someone asked my recently why I drove around in a gas guzzling contraption...well I'll give him the contraption bit, but I asked him what the actual fuel consumption of my vehicle was. He looked blankly at me, I put him out of his misery and told him if he wants to debate fuel consumption at least know what it is first.....end of conversation!
FollowupID: 611214

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 18:45

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 18:45
Oh dear! I think I've already exceeded my methane quota for today. Must cut back on the broccoli & baked beans:)
FollowupID: 611302

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:44

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 20:44
When I was 18 my old man was an absolute dill. You would not believe how much he had learnt by the time I got to be 38.

Not everyone in Clayfield/Ascot/Hamilton is like our Prius driving idiot but thase that aren't are sure outnumbered.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 343283

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:23

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:23
Well... the guy in the Prius was an "old fart" by my standard... I'm 55 and I reckon he was about 65.....

Ascot/Hamilton/Clayfield is full of 4 wheel drives from all makes.

Toyotas/Pajeros/Lexus and a lot of Land Rover Disco 3s and Rangie Sports.

Mine sees a fair bit of off road work.. but it doesn't have bull bars etc... apart from different tyres it looks standard.

However.. my in laws questioned us having a 4wd over a standard car. They are into all that save the planet stuff.

We use the D3 for both of our business applications. These days I am a pro photographer and it carries all my gear and my wife takes care of ladies who have had breast cancer. She supplies breast prostheses and runs "clinics" in the rural areas of Queensland.

Apart from say a Merc Vito van.. the D3 can carry more stock than anything else currently on the market.

Bit... it also takes my CT to Fraser etc.

I think Prius Drivers are making some sort of public statement about their commitment to mother earth!

Mark T.
FollowupID: 611112

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 07:19

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 07:19
Mark Taylor posted:
"Apart from say a Merc Vito van.. the D3 can carry more stock than anything else currently on the market.

Bit... it also takes my CT to Fraser etc."

Mark T.

Mark,
You don't need to justify yourself....... you drive a 4WD because IT'S YOUR CHOICE! Same as I do!

Brian.

PS... what industry are you in?
FollowupID: 611175

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:05

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:05
Your spot on Brian,
It is our choice.
Just like it is my choice to do other things things that help in little ways to conserve our planet and use less resources. That they will never know about and don't want to know about, because they have their own barrow to push.
When it comes to what vehicle I drive I wish they wouldn't tell me what I should or should not be driving.
Some people just need to get a life.

l
FollowupID: 611178

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:58

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:58
To Brian at the Gold Coast...

"PS... what industry are you in?"

Brian... SWMBO and I have 2 business things happening.

SWMBO owns the Spirit of Life Boutique in Brisbane. It is a shop that takes care of ladies who have had breast cancer... they supply breast prostheses and the D3 takes us to outback QLD to educate rural ladies as to the choices they have in post breast surgery products.

As for me... well I was an auto electrician and a pro photographer side by side for a long time but now I am a professional photographer only... (Australian Mining Photography).

I have an older brother who is still an auto elec.. he can fix my car!!!

So.. for us the D3 and its cavenous interior is fabulous.

What about yourself.. what do you do for the 3 meals a day and half a bed at night?

Mark T
FollowupID: 611189

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 16:53

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 16:53
Mark Taylor posted:
"SWMBO owns the Spirit of Life Boutique in Brisbane. It is a shop that takes care of ladies who have had breast cancer... they supply breast prostheses and the D3 takes us to outback QLD to educate rural ladies as to the choices they have in post breast surgery products."
Kudos to you and your good lady for providing such a service Mark!

"What about yourself.. what do you do for the 3 meals a day and half a bed at night? "

I work in commercial refrigeration and air conditioning, my reason for asking is that one of the sales team at "Australias' favourite air" in Brisbane shares your name, (also the name of the former cricketer who is the face of "Australias' favourite air".) I wondered if you might be him.

FollowupID: 611277

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:33

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 21:33
I think I may have met him somewhere ......did he look like this ???? LOL LOL

You may be able to find him here

http://priusclubqld.org
AnswerID: 343303

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:46

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 22:46
A Prius Club !!!

What a bunch of oxygen thieves !!

FollowupID: 611144

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:24

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:24
Thank you for the link. Just tried to get and have a look at what they are all about but fortunately the security system at work won't let me. I have always bagged the security system as being over zealous but maybe this time it knows what it's doing.

FollowupID: 611181

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 23:11

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 23:11
Should we start on these new energy saver globes we are supposed to replace the old type that we have in our homes....and how they too are better for the enviroment???????

wait...here it comes....lol

AnswerID: 343321

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:45

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 08:45
Ha Ha I'd have laughed in his face n said.....

"cos it annoys rude little pricks like you!, now isnt Snow White calling you"
AnswerID: 343351

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:43

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 09:43
Goodonya Mark, I love it.
AnswerID: 343359

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 10:26

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 10:26
The biggest problem facing alcoholics or 'druggies', hoping to reform, is DENIAL. Once they deal with that then they can get on with improving their lives and those of their families. No different with vehicles, any vehicle,does and will create a degree of pollution and carbon emission. The quicker those with the vehicles that are the biggest contributors acknowledge the 'problem' (and YES there are PROBLEMS and we ALL drive vehicles of one type or another) then the less arguements and disputes there will be on the subject.

A FACT: some vehicles create more pollution and carbon emissions than others. If yours is one of those why deny it. You made a choice when purchasing it so therefore you have to live with that decision. If others don't approve of YOUR choice, so what. Do you approve of theirs ?
AnswerID: 343369

Follow Up By: Nomad Liney - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:02

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:02
Welcome back DIO. I am sure we have all missed your well thought out and inspiring comments to the forum.
FollowupID: 611201

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:44

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:44
The biggest problem with this issue is tunnel vision. People are very selective in what they see or hear and then they feel their half baked arguments are god's words.

I can't see anywhere in the original past that refers to the prius as a hybrid. It's likely that the car is a standard prius. Therefore its cradle to grave emissions are A LOT lower then the D3 and the above responses are totaly irrelevent.

Looks like many people on here mouth off without getting all the fact. A bit like the prius owner.
FollowupID: 611218

Follow Up By: timglobal - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:17

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:17
DIO - What was your point? I couldn't see one.

robak - There is only a hybrid Prius. There is no non-hybrid version, if that's what you're saying.

Having driven one a fair bit, they're not that flash in any aspect. Especially off-road :)

* Which leads me to a question of more relevance to the Exploroz board:

Any comment from those with hybrid 4WD vehicles such as the Lexus RX models.

Tim
FollowupID: 611236

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:49

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:49
My appologies. It's the civic that has both versions.
FollowupID: 611247

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:54

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:54

I think the Prius/Hummer comparison has been dis-credited, but understand fully where you are coming from. It isn't like batteries or there manufacture are compatible with saving the planet....

AnswerID: 343390

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:29

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 13:29
The Problem with the Prius is that you have a small engine (petrol) and a heavy car. When you get it out on the highway at speed it really sucks fuel to keep it going along.

The Lexus hybrid SUV is interesting.

In one of the off road mags they compared it to the big Volvo SUV diesel.

On long mountain hills, the Lexus charged ahead at the start.. but as its batteries ran down, the Vovlo steamed past it. It actually used less fuel in the test if memory serves me right!

Apart from enviromental issues, hybrids appear to use less fuel in congested cities.. but not on the open road. Obviously ideal for the wide open spaces of our sunburnt country!!

Have a look at the fuel consumption figures for a Suzuki Swift... they are amazing around town... and only have one battery in them too :-)

I am waiting to be attacked by greenies for owning a Victa 2 stroke lawn mower... just love that smell of 2 stroke exhaust and fresh cut grass. Takes me back to my child hood. The Victa even has a stubby holder on it.

Imagine going down to the RSL and telling them you have a Honda Lawnmower.. theyd run you out of town!

Mark T
FollowupID: 611240

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 14:18
Hey mark,
I got rid of my two stroke Whipper Snipper, I use a liquid Whipper Snipper these days, Much better for the atmosphere. Hardly makes a noise, Just got to walk around now and push a little button.
It's called RoundUp.
Works a treat.

;-)

FollowupID: 611255

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 16:51

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 16:51
Hi Mark

One interesting point I read with respect to the manufacture of the batteries that go into a Prius is that the nickel is mined in Canada, shipped to China for manufacture into a product that can be built into the battery and then shipped to Japan to by manufactured into the battery for the Prius.

Now what is the carbon footprint of all that shipping around the world? All food for thought.

I mentioned earlier in here that someone wanted to know why I drove around in a fuel guzzling contraption (Red Defender), I'll give him the contraption bit but he didn't even know how much fuel my (beloved) Landy used. Go figure.......first rule of cross-examination is the know the answer....

Nothing wrong with everyone trying to do their bit to 'save the planet' mind you....but looks like another opportunity to bash fourbies...

FollowupID: 611276

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 17:17

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 17:17
Hey Landy... you left out one part.

Apparently the Nickel goes to Eirope first for primary processing.. and then to China etc.

I have a mate who was a photographer in the Canadian Police Force.

He visited the Nickel Mine in Canada and said it is an absolute environmental disaster.... but you never know.. some of that Nickel might go to the Uk for the Landy! :(
FollowupID: 611283

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 17:27

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 17:27
Geez, I'm a gonna if your car park mate finds me! No come to think of it, nickel would be too expensive to be put into a Landy, I'm safe :)

FollowupID: 611285

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 19:20

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 19:20
Now Mark , if you read your post carefully I suggest you are having the same approach to Gobal Warming as you Prius friend is to 4wds.

AnswerID: 343459

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:30

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:30
While I accept that fossil fuel resources are finite... I don't believe global warming is caused by CO2 emmisions.

They have increased in the past 10 years yet the planet has actually cooled despite what the TV weatherman tells us!

Mark T
FollowupID: 611329

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 09:50

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 09:50
Hi Mark

I was more putting the case that the Prius owner wouldn't listen to the huge weight of evidence that shows that cars philosophy has some serious flaws.

Similarly , the Global warming debate has been fought and won so thoroughly that even the arch conservative body the UN now accepts it.
Yet despite this some still argue the earth is flat despite the proof that extends back to the Year 1606.

FollowupID: 611369

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:55

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 22:55
Sprung !!

AnswerID: 343498

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:13

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:13
Sprung!!! Sprung you say!!

Hey my good friend.. I didn't start the conversation with the Prius driver.. he accosted me!

I am not coming out of the closet!

I have always been open with my sexuality/religion/politics/greenhouse views.

And they are... hetrosexual/none/conservative/bulldust.

I am old enough to remember that in 1973 theses experts were telling us that we would be out of precious metals and oil by 1990 and that we were entering a new ice age.

Didn't happen.. another scare like the current global warming crap.

Google Andrew Bolt's blog and check out his actual graphs on global warming etc.

My main argument is that the weather system for the past decade has not been the same as the greenhouse fanatics have predicted!

See for yourself before you order your prius!

Although if Toyota build a Prius that will tow my CT around fraser Island etc and carry $35K worth of stock in the back... I'll have a look!

CYA

MArk T
AnswerID: 343539

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:17

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:17
Mark, chill, mate, chill.

I was actually referring to my post above being sprung by the Mods. At least they left the photo !!

FollowupID: 611373

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:43

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:43
you could give him a dose of this in the way home

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYaU1v1VIAc

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 343545

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:59

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 10:59
Hi Gone Bush

I actually wasn't really arcing up... more like tongue in cheek reply.

And to Robin... I know the UN is a Global Warming organisation in their views.. but the truth is that the planet has been hotter in the middle ages and it has cooled in the past 10 years as reported by NASA satellite measurements.

Al Gore says that CO2 causes temp rises... if you check this out he is back to front.. the fact is that temperature rises precede increases in CO2.

One of the scientists who was working for the Fed Government on Green House issues was recently on the radio in Brisbane saying that there is no "finger print" to show global warming.. he said they were looking for it to prove the theory and couldn't find it.

In another 50 years.. they will look back at this and wonder what all the fuss was.

However.. fossil fuels are finite.. so we need to find alternatives.

I was thinking about having teams of unemployed people in harness to tow my Land Rover around. Would solve 2 problems of no fuel and unemployment. Back to the future!

Now I await the protests from the PC brigade :-)

CYA

Mark T
FollowupID: 611383

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 15:32

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 15:32
If he wants to tell people to stop creating CO2 needlessly, he should get in his rowboat on the local harbour/bay/river and start abusing people who are fanging around on the water just for the heck of it.
AnswerID: 343730

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 08:50

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 08:50
. . . and another one to support Diesel owners -

"THE amount of greenhouse gases pumped out by energy generation and transport fell in NSW last year, bucking the national trend.

High petrol prices and a move towards diesel helped the state lower its carbon dioxide emissions by about half a million tonnes in 2008 compared with 2007,"

Sydney Morning Herald article
AnswerID: 343819