Gas refills by weight - Sunshine Coast

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:41
ThreadID: 64646 Views:6295 Replies:10 FollowUps:9

Earlier in the year when travelling, we went to Home hardware in Broome where they refill gas bottles by weight, which I found to be a great idea as you only pay for what you need, as opposed to the swap and go bottles which are never full when you get them anyway. I was wondering if anyone that lives on or near the Sunshine Coast is aware of anywhere that may do the same?

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:04

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:04
Sad isn't it, that we have so quickly accepted being charged $12 to $15 more for the gas just for the "advantage" of "swap'n'go".

Saves the retailer the labour costs, and we are paying for it.

I will continue to do my best to avoid such a ripoff, but I can't see my chances lasting long.

Next we will have fuel cells for the car that save us the time to fill the tank, and cost $200 to swap over for 70 litres equivalent... How would you like that?

Waza, I can't help you, the Stratco group (SA) were doing it by weight in November, but that may have changed by now - I haven't checked.

Ken
AnswerID: 341821

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:14

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:14
I always get mine refilled at Barbeques Galore.
I receive a free fill every third bottle.

AnswerID: 341825

Follow Up By: gke - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:23

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:23
Hi, I get partial refills at Nambour Disposals done by weight. Cheers,Graham.

FollowupID: 609487

Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:07
Sandman,
How does the free third bottle system work?
What is the cost of a 8.8Kg refill? $25?

FollowupID: 609561

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:17

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:17
Hi Waza and Wend
A lot of servos still have refill gas cylinders. Some only like you to fill up during said times so they have the guy with the proper certificate do the filling. Also if you have any specific gas shops where you buy bbqs, stoves and heating quite often have gas refilling services. Our local BCF and Kangaroo Tent City do refills too. Hope this helps a bit.
Cheers, Sally.
AnswerID: 341826

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:43

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:43
I think the problem with the 'buy by weight' setup is that the retailers scales have to be checked every so often for accuracy so that you get what you pay for.
I assume that costs the retailer some $$$, so it's easier for them to just change over. Not sure that they worry about how much that costs us though.

The best way as far as I can see, is have two bottles and run one right out and then fill up the empty one at your own convenience.
I have two bottles on the CT and also two at home, and go to a place where they fill them up while I wait. That way at least you get what you pay for.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 341836

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:05

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:05
Gooday,
Yes I avoid Swap & Go like the plague ,pure gouging.
Pity wee didn't do like the Kiwis & vote with our feet when they started the swap thing , they wouldn't wear it. All Fuel Staions I used when over there last year had proper electronic scales that shut off when the bottle reached its filled weight & thats what you paid for.

Boroma 604.
AnswerID: 341839

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:06

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:06
The time will come when you have to swap your bottle and no refilling at servos. Reasons llike safety and the fact that the gas is going into the atmosphere from the vent relief, cannot be reclaimed will be the main ones.. Enjoy the cheaper refill your own bottle prices while you can. It will be here sooner rather than later. Michael

AnswerID: 341840

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:50

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:50
When refillable LPG bottles first became available, they were ALWAYS weighed before filling. That's how the stuff was sold. By weight NOT guesswork.
AnswerID: 341842

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:00

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:00
DIO!!!!!
I cant believe it....................
I agree with you!!!!!
FollowupID: 609505

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:37

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:37
Were they?

I was refilling gas bottles 41 years ago, never saw a 9kg bottle in those days, and they were never weighed.

We looked down the list, compared your bottle to the pretty picture on the card, then charged you the printed price. Never once had an objection, I think most people in those days ran their small bottles until they were empty.

FollowupID: 609527

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:50

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:50
Dont know about 41 years ago, but around 20-30 years ago my Old man owned an outdoor centre/camping shop and we filled bottles of all sizes, they all had to be weighed unless obviously empty and charged by the kilo.
It was law from what I remember.
FollowupID: 609528

Follow Up By: handy - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:17

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:17
i laughed at your first post and secondly what do you know about laws?? lol
FollowupID: 609532

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:26

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:26
The poor sod in the servo hasn't got time for filling gas bottles. By the time they've made your cappucino, sandwich (toasted or fresh), heated up your pie do you want sauce with that), recharged the kids mobile phone, found the key for the dunny (the one with the reeeaaallllyyyy big key ring that they still can't find), unlocked the ice fridge, swiped your credit card sixteen times becuse the magnetic strip is damaged then had to key it in manually they need a lie down and a Bex.
No time for gas bottles any more.
AnswerID: 341845

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:31

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:31
Hahahahaha finally somebody who knows the real story.

FollowupID: 609536

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:52

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:52
I bought a swap and go about two months ago. I turned the tap on and could not turn it off. The seal around shaft blew and the whole nine kilos escaped into the atmosphere. We use two nine kilo bottles for house gas and two others bbq and camper. I've gone back to my own bottles then I'll know if they have been misused.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 341869

Follow Up By: dedabato (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:05
Pinko,
All "swap'n'go" bottles are only 8 kg. At least your own are 9 kg and cheeper to refill. As you said - "I'll know if they have been misused".
dedabato
FollowupID: 609560

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:45

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:45
Pinko,

Had the same thing happen around the same time.
FollowupID: 609575

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 17:48

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 17:48
I will not support "stop & go" they are a real rip off in my opinion.i believe all Bunnings hardware do refills as does BCF & both usually much cheaper than the local servo.
From these posts & personal knowledge it seems that apart from a nice coat of paint these bottles do not get a thorough inspection before refilling.
The incident of leaking /faulty valves seems to be common , my son inlaw has had 2bottles in the last 12 months out of about 6 used. Valve problem rarely just suddenly happen.
The potential for a serious accident such as fire or explosion is frightening. I believe that all such incidents should be reported to the relevent authorities.ie gas inspector / workplace health & safetyinyour state
AnswerID: 341994