Electronic Dictionary - yes it is on topic!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:17
ThreadID: 64198 Views:3086 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
My wife is a crossword junkie. When we travel, she carries a monster dictionary, a thesaurus and a crossword solver dictionary. All up, it must all weigh 5 or 6 KG and takes up space.

I'm thinking for Christmas I might buy her an electronic version of the lot and see if I can convince her to leave the books at home.

I don't know much about them, but have done the standard Google search.

Anyone familiar with these things and can recommend a good one. It needs to have pretty extensive data - not just a version of a pocket dictionary. Oh and needs to be English English. Not US English.

I've found Sharp, Seiko and Franklin versions that might do the job at between $150 and $200, but have no idea if any of these (or others) is any better for her needs.

Anyone with experience with these things?

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:36

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:36
Norm

It's about keeping the wife happy so it must be a good thing...

what you need is a word generator, I have one for my PDA it's called SlovoEd 3.x for PocketPC from Paragon Software.

You just start to type in the word and it builds the word and then you pick the one you need

Great for dummy's like me.. LOL

AnswerID: 339298

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:45

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:45
Cheater !
FollowupID: 606910

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 20:59

It doesn't seem to help your spelling......hahahahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 606951

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:17
You're got to use it for it to work .. LOL

all said with four litters or less :-)
FollowupID: 606954

Reply By: nomadoz - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:29

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:29
I know it is not what you are after,

The best thing have seen is the one on my old HP lap top, that came with W XP PRO installed, it included all of the very old English words witch are no longer in use, you can use as separate dictionary from the spellchecker, not like the useless spell-check of the new W XP PRO.

AnswerID: 339314

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:39

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:39
You dont need any of these books check out
http-www.oneacross.com this site has it all.
Just Google "oneacross"
AnswerID: 339315

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 07:33

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 07:33
A good web site. Not all that useful when sitting around the camp fire when traveling. But handy when at home or in civilization.
FollowupID: 606868

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:06
Norm, to my way of thinking, all this seems to defeat the whole purpose of a crossword.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 339347

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:15

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:15
I suspect you are not a cross word addict Lionel. She follows a set routine.
Go as far as possible without help
Ask me - which generally does not help much
If necessary, then use a dictionary or thesaurus (after all, for a dictionary, you generally need to know what you are looking for).
If she ever resorts to looking at the answers, that whole cross word is ditched and never finished. That happens very rarely.

95% or more of the time she gets it all out.

She is also a nut on Freecell on the laptop. Since getting her new laptop, she has played 275 games with a 100% win ratio.

Not sure if I love her because of these strange ways or despite them. Doesn't matter I guess.

Norm C
FollowupID: 606914

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:50

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:50
Only to be used when you have exhausted mind power!!
AnswerID: 339354

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:59

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:59
Gday Norm,
Not sure on your budget, but why dont you get a laptop.
You can download all the thesauruses and dictionaries you want. Keep your music, photos, maps, diaries, manuals, addresses, etc etc and plug a gps into it and run oziexplorer? ( can probably even download crosswords on wireless)
Im about to get one...instead of having a MP3,IPOD, PDA, GPS, bla bla bla,.......Just have one gadget and one thin to charge.

AnswerID: 339355

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:07

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:07
We actually carry 2 laptops Hairy. Apart from the normal uses (all the ones you mention) I aslo manage our super fund via wireless broadband and wife uses hers to design embroidery which she then does on the computerised sewing machine she now plans to carry in the van (along with several boxes of fabrics etc).

I guess you have to know Kathryn. Once she is comfortable beside the fire doing crosswords, there is no way she is moving to get the laptop out. Sit her there with a cross word book and a cup of tea and I'm left to my own devices for quite a while.

Main thing is she is happy. That keeps me happy. Since we are about to hit the road 'full time', it is even more important. $150 to $200 investment in maintaining that state is a good investment for me. Just need to make sure I make the right investment so I only do it once.

Norm C
FollowupID: 606913

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 18:24

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 18:24
HAIRY.is that the southern cross emblem??bottom of your post..
FollowupID: 606942

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:22

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:22
darrell,

It's a Victroian thing. funny thing is that you see the southern cross on alot of chicks cars.

FollowupID: 606955

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 03:33

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 03:33
MMmmm Duno mate??
I fink so.....
FollowupID: 606964

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 05:00

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 05:00
This will explain all

FollowupID: 606966

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:44

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:44
Ha. Harry

was born in Victoria. I am part of it's history , don't read a book by it's cover. LOL.

Darrell did ask the question.. do you know... LOL

Cheers Richard Kovac ;-)

darrell.QLD posted:
HAIRY.is that the southern cross emblem??bottom of your post..
FollowupID: 607063

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:18

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:18
Dont "JUDGE" a book buy its cover, I think was the saying wasnt it?
"Do I know"..... what it means?
Absolutely!!!!! People standing up for what is right, In a nut shell.

FollowupID: 607112

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 02:26

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 02:26
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 607125

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 02:53

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 02:53
I really hope it doesn't,t mean this

"The teenager's MySpace webpage lists him as a member of the white pride group Southern Cross Soldiers."

It's a sad world.

FollowupID: 607126

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 05:19

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 05:19
Hi Richard,
Read my link above about that particular flag.
It is part of our heritage, our proud heritage.
Blows me away that you have issues with some posters on this forum and that you continue to attack them with your offenisive posts.
The obvious way to go about this is to alert the moderator and by answering you in this way I know that i am breaking the rules by even mentioning this but your last post tells me more about you, as a person, than it does about the poor bugger you try to belittle. That, to me THAT is the saddest thing in this world.
The 'Southern Cross' is on our flag, by your reasoning......
what does that make us?

Still shaking my head,
Dennis
FollowupID: 607127

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:01

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:01
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 607185

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:21

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:21
you two need to read the link:ABC
I've been wondering way there is so many "Eureka Flag" and Southern Cross flags getting around. I think you will fine most people don't know about Peter and the fight against the British. They are showing it as a badge a symbol and now it is making sence it a white thing.....

And Harry what can I say, you love to turn things around me make a personal attack to you LOL get over it..

XXXXXX

FollowupID: 607202

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:13

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:13
No Richard,... I think you will find most people do know the history of the Southern Cross Flag and all about PETER.
Most people were taught history at school and by there parents.
The way it was taught to me, I understood it to be something to be proud of rather than ashamed of? Obviously your up bringing was a lot different to mine?
For you to automatically relate something like this to racism, violence and white supremacist is really pathetic and un-patriotic in my eyes.

TV footage showed violent gangs carrying the Aust. flag at the Bondi riots too....Are you now ashamed of the Australian flag and as critical of it also?
FollowupID: 607222

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:32

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:32
Sorry no mention of being ashamed of ever flag???
FollowupID: 607227

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:48

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:48
Guys can you park this line of conversation please?

FollowupID: 607307

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:07
Ah, crosswords, one of the things that has transcended time.

Brilliant mental stimulus. Keeps my 96 yo Nanna alert.

AnswerID: 339427

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:23
Ever tried sudoko !!!!!! it is very addictive?

AnswerID: 339430

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 00:08

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 00:08
Norm, get her a PDA, you can download a thesaurus and heaps of dictionaries for them, including translators and they only weigh a few hundred grams
AnswerID: 339447