Caravan air conditoning

I am thinking of installing an Aircommand `Ibis` roof top air conditioning unit to out 16ft Future System van, does anyone have any experience with Aircommand? I would appreciate any comments.
Peter & Gwen

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:21

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:21
Have a look at this on the caravan forum, another option.link
AnswerID: 334402

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:27

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:27
Thanks wazzaaa. thats what I was trying to say

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 602157

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:32

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:32
Yes some will say the vibration will kill these but they have been on vans for years and a lot cheaper and better units than the roof top units.
FollowupID: 602159

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:23

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:23
Also this

link
FollowupID: 602189

Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:24

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:24
Hi Peter and Gwen, not having a roof top A/C, but from talk it is not the best way to go, weight etc etc. But there is ways to put and A/C in your van and probably a lot cheaper. Buy a split system A/C from your local aircon dealer, have the A/C put on your a frame and plumb the head unit into your van. Now you can have the unit on the back of your van, like where the spare wheel goes. Ask on one of the caravan sites and I am sure you will get many reply's about the split systems.

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 334403

Reply By: hazo - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:49

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:49
We had the Ibis A/c on our new van, worst decision we have ever made.
It is so noisy that we have to turn it off at night and resort to a small table fan!
I know all rooftop a/cs can be a bit noisy but this one is a joke.
As the compressor builds up pressure it drones and the noise when it cuts back in is like a big thump on the roof!
When it dies ,which more than likely wont be that long! I will retro fit an inverter domestic unit and be done with the thing.
There is a guy on the caravanners forum that has a small inverter domestic unit on a Future sytem van and it uses so little power he can run it from his batteries and solar system on low! (via a 12v 240v inverter) or easily from a 1kv Yamaha genny, try that with an Ibis!

AnswerID: 334416

Reply By: Angler - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:50

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:50
Installation of a fairly standard roof air or aircommand split will set you back about $2500.00, possibly up to $2800.00.
Install a small split room A/C and this will set you back about $400.00 plus install.and it will work better and much quieter. Roof air is very noisy, much noisier than the aircommand split.
If the roof model is on a poptop then install may be extra. And much harder to push up. 40 plus Kg extra.
AnswerID: 334417

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:11

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:11
Hi Peter/Gwen - I would agree with teh split system suggestuion.

We have the Dometec roof mount, and the pipes of the evaporator unit have cracked on 2 occasions.
The first time cost me $1,200. This time, it started to look like a similar bill, as the evaporator itself cost $600 - so I am having a friend looking at an alternate solution. (nb new cost is aprox $2000)

Anyway - I have noticed small split systems cost around $400 - complete. At that price you could afford 5 complete failures of the split system.

I know many vaners who have gone this way...........Keith.
AnswerID: 334423

Reply By: apwaddo - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:19

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:19
GWezza - be aware that whilst many claim to have fitted household invertor split systems there is not one single caravan manufacturer (well to my knowledge!) that will even reccomend , let alone fit one, to a new van.
Does that tell you anything?
I have a roof top air- con on my van - (dometic) and yes it is noisier than invertor type, but do you really need an air con going all night?? Even the invertor type would annoy the bleep out of anyone in close proximity as the noise they produce is external to the van.
AnswerID: 334438

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 16:45

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 16:45
Evernew have fitted domestic split systems.

Most manufacturers/dealers won't fit them because their profit is a mark up on their buying price. 40% mark up on $2000 is $800 as against $200 on a purchase price of $500.

Now I still reckon that the small inverter systems are much quieter than your traditional caravan units. Nothing could be noisier than being stuck in a park beside someone running a rotten Heron or Dometic Unit, they too make their noise "extern" to the van.

Small domestic units are being fitted in more and more caravans, not to mention boats, including sea going trawlers and heavy transport vehicles.

Yes! It's a relatively new concept, however there are many benefits available to those who are prepared to look outside the square.

I have every intention of fitting a small domestic unit to the van I intend buying. Much cheaper to buy, cheaper to run, quieter, much more efficient, particularly on the heat cycle. The added bonus is that you can run the units on small Honda or Yamaha generator should you wish to free camp.

FollowupID: 602282

Follow Up By: DesF - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:33

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:33
Hi , My mate has a "Carrier" split level air con on his 16ft pop top van . he mounted it on the back where the spare was, and plumbed it into the cupboards on the r/h side . lost 2 doors of storage, works a treat and is very quiet, cant hear it inside and even camped next site have no complaints, I have a Jayco eagle wind up , and even with canvas walls no a problem.
Has been on 4 years and he has been to WA etc and no problems.
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 602297

Follow Up By: hazo - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:02

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:02
Aussiewide vans and I believe Trailstar are now offering the option of an Inverter split domestic unit.
FollowupID: 602422

Reply By: Cupie - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:46

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:46
Hi ..

I have had an Air command Wren roof top on my Jayco since 1999 & it works well. The only problems were DIY fixes - internal fan air guide came loose & mounts on the external fan deteriorated & were replaced by home made ones.

As to noise .. Yes it is a little noisy but just like at home we turn off aircon while sleeping as much as in consideration of neighbours as anything else & we use a small personal fan in the van & ceiling fans at home .. if necessary.

Assuming it is a full van & not pop top a good manufacturer like Future Systems has probably installed the essential H frame & wiring during manufacture. Otherwise the install job will be far more complex & expensive. For pop tops a split system might be better, but then space might be an issue on a 16' van.

I have no experience with using domestic units on vans but would tend to agree with a previous post & would talk to lots of others who have, before taking that track.

Whatever you decide .. make sure that the final job does not detract from the resale value of the unit .. A Future System (quality) van deserves a professional job .. in my view.

cheers .. & good luck .. Graham
AnswerID: 334470

Follow Up By: gwezza - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:40

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:40
Graham, Thanks for your comments. We were at the Batemans Bay Caravan SHow and looked at the Dometic roof top, when another supplier suggested the Aircommand Ibis and then another the Coleman. So it all becomes very confusing.
FollowupID: 602262

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 16:56

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 16:56
Hi Cupie,

The "Future Systems" referred to in the previous post is actually a forum name.
Yes "Future Systems" does own a Future Systems van, however he installed a domestic split system to his own van and has not only installed may others but has been an invaluable source of information to others on the caravanners forum. Domestic split systems are really taking off with "those in the know".

FollowupID: 602286

Follow Up By: Cupie - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:08

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:08
G'day Ian ..

I looked at the original post & assumed that the originator was talking about a Future Systems 16ft van. Didn't look at any of the links.

Apologies for any error. The internet/Email is a terrible medium for communicating effectively.

cheers .. G
FollowupID: 602346

Follow Up By: Cupie - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:11

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:11
PS to Ian ..

Just had a look at the link & can understand why U said what U said ..

G
FollowupID: 602348

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:53

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:53
I fitted a fully ducted reverse cycle climaster (dometic) under seat unit to my van, from memory about 2.5k.

Its purpose built, ran hoses thru cupboards so lost a bit of space but nothing major.

We find it great, heats a beauty too, runs from genny, not too noisy.

My only winge would be that if the fan would cut out n in with the compressor would be better, fan runs all time unit on, but could prob retro with a relay.

Also its never noticed on sites so dont cop the unnecessary extra a/c charges now going round.
AnswerID: 334472