LPG Gas Bottles , Can you pump from one Bottle to Another?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:17
ThreadID: 62406 Views:33517 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
I notice nowdays how hard it's getting to get smaller gas bottles re-filled and certainly you can't swap and go anything smaller than 4KG. I normally take a little 1.25KG bottle for simply running the 3 Way Fridge and was wondering if you can pump gas from a 9KG bottle across to the 1.25KG.? Also can you run 2 devices of the one bottle, eg fridge and BBQ at the same time.?

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:38

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:38
TERRAFIRMA

not sure about your 1st enquiry but you need one of these to run 2 devices,cheers.Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 329073

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 10:24

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 10:24
Thanks for the follow up, yes I now have one of these devices in my sweaty hands and also thanks for the advise on filling from one bottle to another, especially noted Mike's comments..! Not something I plan on attempting, the double adapter so to speak would achieve the same end result for me. Thks Again..
FollowupID: 596499

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:48

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:48
It will only equalise the pressure between both.

MAtt
AnswerID: 329076

Reply By: sdtash - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:35

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:35
In a remote part of OZ I have seen it done. The liquid would pass from one to the other. I would not recommend it though. Quite a potential there for a major fire.
AnswerID: 329086

Reply By: swampy460 - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:44

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:44
As said it can be done and I have a "special device" for doing it but I will not say how as the potential disaster in the wrong hands is very high. As specially in suburban back yards.

Swampy
AnswerID: 329087

Follow Up By: rooscoota - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:13

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:13
jusy what the wold needs, another selfish homosapien that would rather die with his secret than make life easier for his fellow man.

god love ya swampy

ps: i wouldnt exactly call a few gas fittings connected to faciclitate said operation a "special" device

life is good
roo
FollowupID: 596509

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:57

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 17:57
The double tap above answers one of your questions.

Yes you can decant gas from one cylinder to another.

Explore Oz "Rules Men" warning - doing so has a minor element of danger (remember "danger, risk etc"? not 'sposed to do that any more - why half the population are a bunch of wimps) attached but only if you're an idiot anyway.

Make up a hose which will connect two bottles together - don't think you can buy these but a Stanley Knife, two hose clips and a bit of copper tube will do the job.

Donor cylinder = the full one
Receiver cylinder = the empty one

With taps on both cylinders closed connect the hose between the two.

Fully open the tap on the donor cylinder and turn it upside down.
The receiver cylinder should be the normal way up.

Open the bleed screw and tap on the receiver cylinder and allow to fill until liquid gas emits from bleed screw of receiver cylinder.

Close all taps and bleed screw, remove hose - job done.

I suggest it's best if you do this outside and away from sources of ignition.

PS. If you're a smoker it probably better not to light up which waiting for the empty cylinder to fill.

PPS. All the "Rules Men" can have a go at me now - you there John? :)
AnswerID: 329090

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:57

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:57
Also helps if you make the receiver cylinder really cold first. You don't really have to undo the bleed screw if the temp is low enough. Very easy to over fill so be very careful.

Pooley
FollowupID: 596386

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:35

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:35
Every time you get a gas bottle filled at a servo or hardware store it's done exactly the way Mike describes - with big clouds of gas spraying out - and considered safe enough.

I made up a transfer hose by using a standard hose and adding appropriate adapters at each end.
FollowupID: 596417

Follow Up By: joff1 - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 10:09

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 10:09
And usually it is done at the servo by some pimply 18yo with his mind on the girl he's trying to drill.

Decanting is easy and safe when done with some care and common sense.
FollowupID: 596498

Follow Up By: rooscoota - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:15

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:15
good onya mike.
FollowupID: 596511

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:18

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:18
G'day Mike
Gee - looks like the "rules men" are away!
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 596526

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:02

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:02
If I'd realised that Moose... I'd have mentioned the main reason I do my own refilling is because my 4kg cylinder is two years out of date and the servo's won't touch it :)

FollowupID: 596560

Reply By: Dunaruna - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:32

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:32
I have also done it on occasion but I do not recommend it. It is dangerous and illegal.

The double tap is a better option but there may be a pressure issue with two appliances running simultaneously.
AnswerID: 329095

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 06:17

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 06:17
Dangerous and Illegal!!!! You sure? I only ask cos thats how we fill forklifts at work. Decanting from a large cylinder to the one on the forklift.
Regards Krakka
FollowupID: 596474

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:39

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:39
I bought a "proper" decanting hose from our local camping/heating& cooling shop a couple of years ago. I then rang my gas supplier and asked them to get me a blue-top 100lb cylinder, which I swapped for my ordinary cylinder next time I went down to collect same. I had only been using the 100lb cylinder for the home bbq anyway and I already owned 2 x 9kg cylinders and a 4kg cylinder.... Now I can safely re-fill the 3 smaller cylinders at home by myself.
FollowupID: 596534

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:48

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 18:48
I can't see an issue running two devices at once.

When I used to run a gas lantern, it sat on top of a pole which also fed gas to a stove. Therefore, two devices at once.

The built-in gas jets will enable gas to be shared between the two.

Bill.

AnswerID: 329101

Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:11
Yeah, I've done the same (lamp on a pole while BBQing). I was mainly thinking about the consumption of a 3 way fridge and a BBQ, both high gas users.
FollowupID: 596394

Reply By: aussiedingo - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:09

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:09
G'day all, you can buy an adaptor to run 2 items from 1 bottle (or more) from a lot of camping shops, the cheapest is barbeques galore for the same item about $26, if using multiple items make sure you use regulators! I use for my fridge & barby, seee ya, dingoImage Could Not Be Found
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 329105

Follow Up By: dp74 - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 13:12

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 13:12
just a question on the multiple appliances on the single bottle...

If I have a 4.5 kg bottle, and I want to run a gas burner, gas lantern, and 3 way fridge off it, (using a double adaptor straight off the bottle with one connection going to the 3-way fridge, and the 2nd connection connected to an extension pole which runs the lantern and cooker)... where do I need the regulator??should this be connected straight off the bottle? or only on the connection for the fridge?

Do I even need a regulator if just running the lantern and cooker off the single 4kg bottle?? (I've asked this question many times from different "experts" and I always seem to get a different answer)
FollowupID: 596522

Follow Up By: aussiedingo - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:39

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:39
G'day again, with the burner & the lantern they have fixed jets so you can run as many as you like, with your fridge it requires a more even, consistant flow (regulated) as a full bottle any size has a lot more pressure than one half empty or less, the regulator makes a bottle of gas go a lot further. With the double T attachment in the pic you can have 2 regulators or if you wanted more ports you could add anotherT to the first one, ideally you would have a regulator for each item! wot a sight!! If you could fit a regulator then the christmas tree of attachments would be ok, the only time you are likely to have them all on is at night, then a 9kg bottle would be best, a 4.5 would still do the same job, but only 1 bottle is required. seee ya, dingo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

FollowupID: 596585

Reply By: wheeleybin - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 07:31

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 07:31
The difference in bottles is a refiller bottle is a liquid withdrawal bottle and has a pipe internally down to the bottom but has two taps a liquid tap and a vapour tap.
An ordinary vapour bottle does not and to get the liquid out you have to invert the bottle and there is no more danger in that than getting an ordinary refill.
As Mike states only idiots have problems.
AnswerID: 329180

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 07:50

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 07:50
Ian,

Sorry Mate, I dropped out when talking to you on the bush last week and deleted your number.

Can you give me a call on 0411 874406.

FollowupID: 596478