Diesel fuel economy

Submitted: Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 09:29
ThreadID: 6038 Views:2011 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
Nissan Patrol GQ or Landcruiser 80 diesels......with or without turbos.....
Could i have a little feedback on litres per 100km under normal conditions. Say, 90-100kmh open road not towing and around town.....

Regards......_____________________________________________

Reply By: ChrisB - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:49

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:49
Voxson,

My 100 series indirect injection (non-turbo) averages 12.6l per 100 kms.

ChrisB
AnswerID: 25280

Reply By: Tony - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:52

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:52
4.2 Nissan with Turbo and I/C, at the speeds you mention (90 - 100k) the best ever was 9.95lt per 100k. It was a pain to drive at that speed but I to wanted to see what it would do if you really tried.

My normal keeping to the speed limit ranges from 11.5 to 12.7lt per 100, and the odd time get 10.26.

I keep a log of every fill for tax purpose so i know what fuel is going through the vehicle. And run 267.75.16's
AnswerID: 25281

Reply By: CHRIS - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:53

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:53
I have a 60 series after market turbo diesel, it does 12 - 15 ltr 100 depending on speed.
AnswerID: 25282

Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:57

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 10:57
I have a 91 LC 80 series with an aftermarket turbo and I average around the 14L per 100 km mark.

Karl
AnswerID: 25283

Reply By: pathfinder - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:49

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:49
for comparison...Tdi200 (1993 2.5TD) Disco - 10l/100km @ 120kph (9l/100km @100kph). According to Pink Roadhouse, this model also holds economy record for Simpson crossing (not sure of route) @ 85 litres which (almost) negates the need to carry jerries...
AnswerID: 25289

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:54

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:54
When I owned it, my old GQ returned about 11L/100k around the city (unladen), and about 10-11L/100k in the country, cruising around 100-110. Best ever was 9L/100k, driven very lightly when running it in (90km/h, never saw that again).
Fully laden with a roof rack is a different story, and it used to give about 12-13L/100k at 100k.
My GU TD42T is a bit worse.
Gerry
AnswerID: 25290

Reply By: rads - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:59

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 11:59
100 series cruiser non turbo, auto, with 285/75-18 cooper st. Average 13.5L/100km
AnswerID: 25292

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 12:37

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 12:37
Mine as soon as I got the Turbo it got nasty.

I dont want to know.
AnswerID: 25295

Follow Up By: Andrew - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:35

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:35
Truckster

Are you saying your economy got worse after installing the turbo???

I always thought they were suppose to improve things!

Just wondering.

FollowupID: 17146

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 21:32

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 21:32
got lots worse, and mate with same turbo and model as mine found the same, and actually lots with turbos find they use more.

ONe reason is that you use the power more, cause you actually HAVE some now!!!
FollowupID: 17152

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 12:55

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 12:55
Thanks guys..The reason i ask is that i just got an average of 21litres per 100kms @ 100kmh.( petrol/gas )..with no LPG suppliers on my recent trip to the cape...
I found it to be a pain for getting any distance without relying on 3 jerries and the huge fuel bill....
And then there is the unreliablity factor in water crossing which caught me unawares......

Regards......_____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 14:39

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 14:39
Hi Voxon,

I have a 1990 80 series Duel Fuel, and I always average at least 21 litres per 100 kms @100kmh. I am currently planning to cross the Simpson in Sept and am finding it a real pain to try and estimate the amount of extra fuel I am going to have to carry. The fuel tank only holds 90 litres, and the gas 85 litres so I will have to carry more than I would like. It certainly is the only negative I have in regards to my vehicle.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 17123

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 14:43

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 14:43
Scrap the LPG system if your going to do long trips.

Fit a Longrage tank and an Aux tank which should give you 200ltrs at least.

Saves carrying so many Jerrys.

But remember with the extra weight of the Jerrys, you will need MORE fuel again.
FollowupID: 17124

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 16:32

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 16:32
I agree Truckster, but unfortunately the LPG is cheaper for my 70km daily trips to work and back each week.

I am seriously considering changing over my current 90 litre tank with a larger one, but unfortunatley tyres come first and another $1000 for a new tank installed is not in the budget.

CheersJust Do It!

FollowupID: 17131

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 17:53

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 17:53
Glenn.
long range takn in Melb Nissan club mag for $500 at the moment. Brown Davis 146ltr
FollowupID: 17138

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:24

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:24
Hi Truckster,

Who is selling them @ that price?

Do you have contact details?

Do you have to be a member to recieve it @ such a low price?

Is that for replacement of primary tank or auxillary tank?

Appreciate your info.

CheersJust Do It!

FollowupID: 17142

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 21:33
second hand unit from a club member.

I'll get a number when I get home, Im at a mates place at moment fixing his network..

:-)~
FollowupID: 17153

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 23:18

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 23:18
gloenn.
the ad is in the nissan club magazine.

Wayne is the dude

0418 42 82 69

Selling lots of stuff too...
FollowupID: 17154

Reply By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:03

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 19:03
15.5 litres per 100 KM averaged for last 3 years in my 96 non turbo 4.2 diesel.
Never at 100 km/h though (110-120) and with air con running 24/7.
Better around town than open road but that's due to long trips being fully laden.
Hope this helpsso many places, so little time !!!
AnswerID: 25315

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 20:34

Friday, Jul 18, 2003 at 20:34
Voxson,

Tojo '97 80 series Multi valve turbo - Worst: 16.6Km/100, cruising quickly. Average: 14 km/100. Best: 10 km/100

Tojo 2002 79 series ute - 14.2 km/100 - average over 5856kms in May, 03. Mainly on station roads, and couple of trips to town.

Can't beat a greasy diesel!!!

AnswerID: 25323

Reply By: xr500 - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 12:59

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 12:59
voxson
I have a mazda bravo 2.6 ltr petrol that has a dry weight of 1550k.
with a long range tank and f/glass canopy, loaded for a trip must weigh 2200kgs
returns 14.4/100km @ 110kph.(port augusta to adelaide )
I find it a little bit hard to believe some of these calculations when some of these vehicles weigh 2200kgs before they are loadad for a trip and they get better economy.
AnswerID: 25345

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 22:22

Saturday, Jul 19, 2003 at 22:22
Keep in mind xr500 that they are quoting diesels......._____________________________________________

Reply By: Member - Alpaca (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:13

Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:13
G'day Voxon,
On your picky you previously stated you were leaving on the 7th of July and your back already. You must have flown.Just returned from 7 weeks up there and didn't think we dragged our heelsAlpaca
AnswerID: 25549

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:55

Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:55
Our trip was a great experience and we went all the way to the tip and back but we had quite a few problems which did hamper our trip a little...
My mate (broke his cargo barrier, broke his windscreen, cracked his head, ruptured his fuel tank, hit a roo, lost his headlights).................

My problems (snorkel bolts broke from the guard, section of exhaust broke off, ruptured fuel tank, ruptured lpg tank, hit a 6ft roo, hit a bull (30kmh)...

We prepared for this trip for 1year but yet the elements still reached out and touched us.... We were being as careful as possable also,,,, if we had not have prepared so well we could have been in more trouble.. We all ended up coming home in my car....._____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:56

Monday, Jul 21, 2003 at 22:56
see my picture................._____________________________________________